NTU/NUS/SMU 2017-2018 Intake - Part 2

xescar

So what do you intend to do? If your appeal to Biz got rejected, will you accept other courses or retake As?

What is the first thing you would think about if u fail to get into Biz this yr?

I've accepted NTU Mathematical Sciences already and would probably go there if my appeal does get rejected. Retaking As has been on my mind as a last resort and I'm still considering if I should having approximately slightly more than 150 days it is definitely a tough decision. However, if I do intend to retake As I believe I would have the determination to pull through it and try my best and see how it goes from there.

The first thing I would think about if I fail to get into Biz this year would definitely be whats the second best option which would help me to head towards what I'd be interested to do which would be banking and finance and business analytics, which according to the course curriculum is covered in Mathematical Sciences though not as in depth as business itself.

[EDIT] Also for those who are talking about the possibility of people missing the IGP grade to get into business, I myself feel it is possible as I've checked w my school teachers as per the national standard this year it has dropped quite a fair bit as compared to the previous years, hence I'm trying my best to get into this course.

LEEJIYOUNG

Wow very impressed with you learning multi-languages. You can travel to countries and speak with the locals as well as able to read articles, books as well as watch videos without subs. Very envious.. Can you speak Korean too, since your username is a korean name?

I learnt a bit of Korean, only enough to say this is a table and stuffs like that. Realised that German would probably be more fun and lucrative here in SG at least so I signed up for it^^ First,I need my degree though

razorlala

you are comparing a normal working adult with successful entrepreneurs. how many % are these 'successful entrepreneurs'? you so confident you this small % ar?
these ppl just got a bunch of good luck. hardwork is hardly relevant here, cause there are ppl that work harder than them but still sh!t.

1k a month? unless you are planning to stay with your parents and not get married, good luck with that.
and ya, keep dreaming hor. leave the computer on and earn 1.2k a month. you got some special lobang ar? :s13:

and rly la, buay kan is buay kan 1. repeating the exact same content for one whole year, doing nothing else, and still come out like sai. what makes you think such a person has the capability for graduates school? dont say dog eye see ppl low la hor, this 1 is chi xin wang xiang. 1 needs to know their limits. say until got fire got dragon, simi prelim is A student, a lvl come out C, somemore twice(?). noone cares how good you are previously. ppl only care about the results.
also, if one sibeh satki like the flash liddat can see the future, and she sees herself as a masters/phd student in NTU, do note that first class hons from SIM also get to join NTU graduates school.

dont care wat hons ppl get. it is for a fact that arts degree graduates have the lowest % of being employed, making arts degrees the most useless course for employment.

well i am ok with $1k/month, so long i have enough for food and bills but i do think thinking ahead and working hard are both good skills to have if you intend to fill a niche in the market, which is what most successful entrepreneur have. honestly, if you were to choose between working for $3-4k/month and work from 9-5pm, letting the computer runs itself and earn $1.2k/month with almost 0 effort, i think i would take the second option as a more viable option

if people want to do what they do, earning less or more is up to them.. money isn't the only factor to determine what you want to do. And besides, if she thinks going to NTU she can get more/different resources to further her studies compared to other unis,nothing wrong with that...

then again, it's true that gov sector only hires 2nd upper hons and above from recognized unis,gov sector work usually prioritize work life balance,so almost 0 OT and go home on time. Private sector doesn't care as much but they don't pay for OT. Employment rate may not be reflective of people with different hons.

razorlala

But razorlala mentioned that getting a Arts and social sci degree in local or private degree makes not much of a difference? Is it true for this course, since there is no particular expertise or skills the students have been equipped?

obviously there's a difference between the degrees if they are obtained from different unis, why do you think timeshighereducation and qs university rankings exist... it's just that smaller firms don't have the luxury to carefully pick who they are hiring so to them their expectations aren't high

my point is simple. for example, when there are no companies wanting to hire a bachelor in psychology, the chance of employment with said degree is 0.

so no matter which uni you graduate from, a top ranked uni doesnt fare better than a lower ranked one, considering that multiples of 0 is still 0.

understand?

these ppl would then have to end up looking for a completely unrelated job, which effectively renders their degree useless. well, other than impressing employers that you spent 4years studying for a degree that no employer is looking for.

L0sts0ul234

With AA for PW and H1 is 75 maximum for BBC/E(GP)

Oh yes my bad! I think you can just give it a try (no harm appealing anyways). But have you gotten an interview yet? Since you asked about interviews and written test

xescar

Oh yes my bad! I think you can just give it a try (no harm appealing anyways). But have you gotten an interview yet? Since you asked about interviews and written test

Yep! I have been given the opportunity for an interview which got me really excited and ya there is no harm trying right! That's why I was wondering if anyone who has gone through this phase could help me out it would mean a lot :)

firezero10

I've accepted NTU Mathematical Sciences already and would probably go there if my appeal does get rejected. Retaking As has been on my mind as a last resort and I'm still considering if I should having approximately slightly more than 150 days it is definitely a tough decision. However, if I do intend to retake As I believe I would have the determination to pull through it and try my best and see how it goes from there.

The first thing I would think about if I fail to get into Biz this year would definitely be whats the second best option which would help me to head towards what I'd be interested to do which would be banking and finance and business analytics, which according to the course curriculum is covered in Mathematical Sciences though not as in depth as business itself.

[EDIT] Also for those who are talking about the possibility of people missing the IGP grade to get into business, I myself feel it is possible as I've checked w my school teachers as per the national standard this year it has dropped quite a fair bit as compared to the previous years, hence I'm trying my best to get into this course.

Currently in NTU Mathematical Sciences Yr 1( or yr 2 when the break ends). Taking minor in finance as well as getting in the business analytic track. Actually I had a very similar A level result with GP S lol. Didn't have any "dream" course so I just chose the one that I had some interest and could get in easily. Couldn't comment much about my current course now though since year 1 is just the basic stuff.

LEEJIYOUNG

Yep! I have been given the opportunity for an interview which got me really excited and ya there is no harm trying right! That's why I was wondering if anyone who has gone through this phase could help me out it would mean a lot :)

Not sure if related but I went for ntu's linguistic course's interview.they asked me why ntu linguistic? And future goals

xescar

Currently in NTU Mathematical Sciences Yr 1( or yr 2 when the break ends). Taking minor in finance as well as getting in the business analytic track. Actually I had a very similar A level result with GP S lol. Didn't have any "dream" course so I just chose the one that I had some interest and could get in easily. Couldn't comment much about my current course now though since year 1 is just the basic stuff.

Could you PM me or anything regarding your thoughts/if you know anything about this course in comparison to business in terms of curriculum and job prospects or even what the course is like would definitely help me a lot in making a more rationale decision.

cocobeans25

you are comparing a normal working adult with successful entrepreneurs. how many % are these 'successful entrepreneurs'? you so confident you this small % ar?
these ppl just got a bunch of good luck. hardwork is hardly relevant here, cause there are ppl that work harder than them but still sh!t.

1k a month? unless you are planning to stay with your parents and not get married, good luck with that.
and ya, keep dreaming hor. leave the computer on and earn 1.2k a month. you got some special lobang ar? :s13:

and rly la, buay kan is buay kan 1. repeating the exact same content for one whole year, doing nothing else, and still come out like sai. what makes you think such a person has the capability for graduates school? dont say dog eye see ppl low la hor, this 1 is chi xin wang xiang. 1 needs to know their limits. say until got fire got dragon, simi prelim is A student, a lvl come out C, somemore twice(?). noone cares how good you are previously. ppl only care about the results.
also, if one sibeh satki like the flash liddat can see the future, and she sees herself as a masters/phd student in NTU, do note that first class hons from SIM also get to join NTU graduates school.

dont care wat hons ppl get. it is for a fact that arts degree graduates have the lowest % of being employed, making arts degrees the most useless course for employment.

As mentioned by the moderator, please refrain from using the lingo and bringing in the culture from EDMW. Many of your statements and words are incomprehensible, they are probably some dialects or slangs, which I totally don't understand..

If you would like to provide your arguments, do it with gramatically correct, comprehensible, proper English statements, instead of adding some dialects or slangs in it. You may do so in EDMW and join them. If you post it here, it only makes your statements flawed and useless, and feel like you are some "uncivilised" and "low class" personnels, attempting to swear some crude words..

beta93

my point is simple. for example, when there are no companies wanting to hire a bachelor in psychology, the chance of employment with said degree is 0.

so no matter which uni you graduate from, a top ranked uni doesnt fare better than a lower ranked one, considering that multiples of 0 is still 0.

understand?

these ppl would then have to end up looking for a completely unrelated job, which effectively renders their degree useless. well, other than impressing employers that you spent 4years studying for a degree that no employer is looking for.

except that it isn't 0, but 50+ % , and you really think with any degree you can easily get an unrelated job lol.... it's like saying you can work in an IT security firm with a SMU law degree lmao...

yea maybe how she did her As isn't ideal, you can bash on that, but judging a person by their career...? top 90 percentile students are mostly all As though, if they go by what you say, i think the arts department in unis can shut down

maybe you can work in a unrelated field compared to your degree, provided you did some self employed stuff in that particular field first and has results to show for you

like i said, uni rankings are for real, even for unpopular degrees,and hons obviously matter lol..... like please if given a choice, you think the company would hire a non hons or hons holder

razorlala

As mentioned by the moderator, please refrain from using the lingo and bringing in the culture from EDMW. Many of your statements and words are incomprehensible, they are probably some dialects or slangs, which I totally don't understand..

If you would like to provide your arguments, do it with proper English statements, instead of adding some dialects or slangs in it. You may do so in EDMW and join them. If you posts it here, it only makes your statements flawed and useless, and feel like you are some "uncivilised" and "low class" personnels.

im using very basic singlish. i believe im still on topic considering its about diff degrees and their use in ur career.

except that it isn't 0, but 50+ % , and you really think with any degree you can easily get an unrelated job lol.... it's like saying you can work in an IT security firm with a SMU law degree lmao...

yea maybe how she did her As isn't ideal, you can bash on that, but judging a person by their career...? top 90 percentile students are mostly all As though, if they go by what you say, i think the arts department in unis can shut down

maybe you can work in a unrelated field compared to your degree, provided you did some self employed stuff in that particular field first and has results to show for you

like i said, uni rankings are for real, even for unpopular degrees,and hons obviously matter lol..... like please if given a choice, you think the company would hire a non hons or hons holder

i said get AN unrelated job. not ANY unrelated job of their liking. also, IT security is very closely related to law. esp when it concerns with money, privacy, etc. a lawyer is necessary to properly handle many cases. your ignorance is showing.

im not bashing anybody. im just saying one needs to be realistic. also, arts faculty is always the largest. simply cause there are many ppl that just die also want a degree from a prestigious school, usefulness of said degree is secondary. also, arts courses are the easiest to conduct, and these students pay the same sch fee(or almost similar, just incase u nitpick little details like these).

my 0 is not 0 for employment chance. its 0 for getting a job that REQUIRES said degree.
hons and uni rankings for a useless degree only matter for the top. cause only those ppl get to work in their field since there is almost close to no demand. the others, its all the same. and incase you are still dense, examples of such unrelated fields among these ppl with said degree includes but not limited to, insurance, credit card, promoter, etc.

yuxdzx

understand?

If I was an employer looking to hire a degree-holder from any rubbish course. I'll definitely look at school name. What else?

Anyway its not your life choices. Why care whether she will get a job or not?!?

cocobeans25

im using very basic singlish. i believe im still on topic considering its about diff degrees and their use in ur career.

If you feel that you are right and sound in your arguments, do it in a professional manner. Why use those lingos or dialects, makes others feel you are so uncivilised.. Your arguments are largely right and mostly convincing from your previous posts until this post, where you start to use some crude words or singlish, makes it so ugly on you.

scholar88

understand?

This point completely make sense. I can say most of them end up looking for a completely unrelated job due to them unable to find suitable jobs related to their course. As seen in the survey, arts and social sci with such low employability rate, they have to switch to a unrelated job, quite a fact.

What he say about psychology, for instance you would like to be a school counsellor, prison counsellor, or some gambling counsellor, I dont really think they will look at which uni u are from, since there is only 1 slot for school counsellor per school or 1 slot needed for each welfare organisations and yet there are so many graduates from psychology?

eddief4

Enough derailment of the thread. This is for uni admissions discussion.

firezero10

Could you PM me or anything regarding your thoughts/if you know anything about this course in comparison to business in terms of curriculum and job prospects or even what the course is like would definitely help me a lot in making a more rationale decision.

Curriculum wise, just check the school pages to find the different modules taken by both course. For BA from math sci side, we would take 1 year of common math modules before going into specialisation which includes modules from math, business and computing schools. This is why I am unable to comment much since I have not started my specialisation track yet lol. As for jobs wise, I don't have any ideas except seeing some successful alumni and their stories and the graduate employment survey(80+% employment rate with about 3.3k mean pay iirc). Tbh, I can't really trust these until I step out to find job myself.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.