Recommend me a camera

Byfrost

Reaction score
Hi all

I'm a total newbie in photography, and I'm currently looking for a camera to potentially start this hobby.

I'm trying to read as much as possible in the meantime.

My budget is around $1k, but lower will be great. I've been watching YouTube recommendations and I listed down a few:

1) FujiFlim XF10
2) FujiFlim XT100
3) Canon EOS M50
4) Ricoh GR3 (coming out soon),

Here are my requirements:

1) APS-C Sensor size.

1) Pocket-able size (I know, options 2 and 3 are not), but would be good for travelling.

2) General "All in one" camera that can be used in all situations, a "balanced" camera. I know, most would say "there is no such thing as an all in one camera or lens". But for a beginner who wants to shoot random stuff, what do you recommend? I like to take photos of landscape, animals, scenery, "street photography", plants etc

3) Should I invest more in a camera with interchangeable lens, or should i get a camera that has a fixed lens?

What if I buy the fixed lens point and shoot, and I want to change lens in future to further my photography hobby? What If I spend more and get a camera with interchangeable lens, and end up sticking to the same kit lens forever? Any experts here to chime in their opinions?

hacktic

High Supremacy Member
Reaction score
cant speak for those 4 models becos i've never used them and only been a canon/sony fanboy
closest was to a canon M because i had invested in canon EF/EFS lens for my DSLR and would just need an M adaptor but i took another plunge and went for sony.

since you are a total noob, selecting the system is pretty important because u will probably be invested in the lens as well.

you basically answered your own question in buying fixed lens and what not so....yea
if you are still undecided, why not loan from a friend or buy 2nd hand.
if one month later and you find yourself not loving photography, you can return or resell it.

chiaRH

Reaction score