Guys! You all got DIY clean your aircon blower ?

KnightDroid

Problem is that most people who PMed me quite hesitant in using 3rd party, even though MRC's service is great and can whatsapp etc (dont talk about those hardcore ones like 86of or princess).
For eg the Karcher VP 180S variojet 360, get from TB....just $25 nia. But people cannot buy.
Hardware specialist not selling locally on qoo10 already.

Else 6kg = 15 and additional 1kg step up is just $2, ok for sensitive goods as well, is pretty decent.

That's why even though there is a dedicated evaporator coil cleaner (Comstar coil safe) available at an ok cost, most times this just exists and looks good on paper.
And of coz some are our Malay/Indian brothers, or those jiak kantang, who can't exactly buy from Taobao even if they can help it.

That's why i'd need to recommend pax to use Ajax/mr muscle/supersteam, coz can get from NTUC or qoo10. Not coz i am "itchy hand".

power tools has developed and establish market since we started.

no, u and me are hand itchy pple...lol.

time has advanced, Jimmy JW series not alone, there are others...brandless i call them. All can do the same as Karcher VP 180S and jimmy cordlessly, still be able hose up from tap and bucket.

we'd grow as a community, things likely to be different down the road.

(/≧▽≦)/~┴┴ 谁想跟上来?

WussRedXLi

power tools has developed and establish market since we started.

no, u and me are hand itchy pple...lol.

time has advanced, Jimmy JW series not alone, there are others...brandless i call them. All can do the same as Karcher VP 180S and jimmy cordlessly, still be able hose up from tap and bucket.

we'd grow as a community, things likely to be different down the road.

(/≧▽≦)/~┴┴ 谁想跟上来?

Talking about the VP 180S/Jummy JW, there is this thing available on aliexpress, relatively cheap too at 17 bux.

This might be useful for those living at a condo, with 3.2m ceilings, so the reach with the Karcher variojet nozzle + Karcher lance might be a bit short unless you use a 6-step/tier ladder and stand right at the top ie rather dangerous. Usually i'd stand on the second last step so that my legs/hands have something to lever against for better stability.
And it is also after all a 120 deg bend there, so even if your hands just can reach till the bottom of the FCU, it is fine and the angle adaptation takes care of hitting the back coil as close to 90 deg as possible.

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/400...668#1000022185#1000066058#0_668#3468#15607#47

H516ea1910e58401f98ff9dda0dc25f4f4.jpg

Hcfbeaa2366224f4db5053c5629607e3c4.jpg

Heb2346e95cbe46dfa5431bee2bdd2da5O.jpg

Use the 40 deg tip here, better coz the power spread is wider so less power density per unit distance compared to 25 and 15 deg.
$5.50 only for a set of 5 pieces.

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/330...earchweb0_0,searchweb201602_,searchweb201603_

HTB1nWumdoCF3KVjSZJnq6znHFXaI.jpg

WussRedXLi

BTW was discussing this on PM with 1 bro, one tip to share :

To avoid clogging up the coil with full of water and needing to pull out the blower to clear that, try to end your cleaning session with a final quick blast of water at full pressure into the coil from the outside in. Blast it from 10 inches away, low volume but high velocity water mist.

It's like those bangla doing pressure washing of the floor, they do not need to use a squeegee or something to clear the floor of water. The high velocity water spray automatically clears any water build up.

Coz sometimes when i end the cleaning session after washing the blower or the plastics behind the water, the water would bounce up and spray/push water from the insides of the coil towards the external side of the coil at low velocity, that is what clogs up the coil with water and you might then need to use a blower to clear out the coil, or just switch on the FCU in fan mode for a couple of hours to clear it.

I actually have a blower (for balloons) but it's very rare for me to need to use it, only when i made a mistake by not ending with a blast of water at the external surface of the coil. But usually also too lazy, just switch it on in fan mode for an hour or 2.

KnightDroid

Oh yeah......also do not try to get Evaporative coil cleaners from Ebay, from USA.

I have tried, Nu-calgon and Hydrobalance. Twice also stopped at US customs after going through USA land to an international processing facility.

Heng I used Paypal. Refunded. :o

by air or by sea?

yuri2

Talking about the VP 180S/Jummy JW, there is this thing available on aliexpress, relatively cheap too at 17 bux.

This might be useful for those living at a condo, with 3.2m ceilings, so the reach with the Karcher variojet nozzle + Karcher lance might be a bit short unless you use a 6-step/tier ladder and stand right at the top ie rather dangerous. Usually i'd stand on the second last step so that my legs/hands have something to lever against for better stability.
And it is also after all a 120 deg bend there, so even if your hands just can reach till the bottom of the FCU, it is fine and the angle adaptation takes care of hitting the back coil as close to 90 deg as possible.

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/400...668#1000022185#1000066058#0_668#3468#15607#47

Use the 40 deg tip here, better coz the power spread is wider so less power density per unit distance compared to 25 and 15 deg.

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/330...earchweb0_0,searchweb201602_,searchweb201603_

I have this hand sprayer, the nozzle can tilt upwards or downwards.

61N6wPD4w9L._AC_SL1500_.jpg

WussRedXLi

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lb4IPi2hZwk&feature=youtu.be

Found this video to remove fan blower of Daikin smile aircon

If anyone know how to remove the coils or drain pan please share the video ..

Thanks !

Yeah......relatively difficult to remove for normal typical DIYers, i can see many potential-to-screw-up points to be made by DIYers. Installing it back might even be tougher.

For the time taken to remove/install the Daikin blower + the condensate tray pan, i think would have finished blasting 1 x FCU already, with the same degree of cleanliness ie 99.5% clean. :s13:

According to my neighbour, there is still a relatively long waiting time for aircon servicing, for the more popular vendors. Coz lack of manpower to clear the backlog. No thanks to the weather as well, non-COVID/** years already need to wait weeks liao....not to mention this damned year. :s13:

Of coz if don't mind freelancing banglas, sure got lah.

WussRedXLi

I have this hand sprayer, the nozzle can tilt upwards or downwards.

61N6wPD4w9L._AC_SL1500_.jpg

Wow.......this is indeed a more elegant solution than my soya sauce/sesami oil bottle with lots of holes at the cap for applying the coil cleaner to the back coil.

Can share the link? I might get one, coz my pump sprayer also from TB type (very funny type, it is supposed to be screwed to 500ml or 1.5L PET bottles and pressurize them.

KnightDroid

1 stick multiple heads. no need change stick by stick. click! change head done.

yuri2

Wow.......this is indeed a more elegant solution than my soya sauce/sesami oil bottle with lots of holes at the cap for applying the coil cleaner to the back coil.

Can share the link? I might get one, coz my pump sprayer also from TB type (very funny type, it is supposed to be screwed to 500ml or 1.5L PET bottles and pressurize them.

I bought it in 2015 at amazon.com for $32 , but now the price has risen, so maybe wait at camelcamelcamel. :s13:

Now it's available at amazon.sg
https://www.amazon.sg/419-2-Liter-One-Hand-Pressure-Ergonomic/dp/B002HJGVN2/

KnightDroid

wrx, can u tb search jimmy accessories, should be compatible so u can use less of changing heads.

jimmy u search, later on, the system will suggest other jummy like power tools.

In one year or two, we will see more AI related products starting from cybercar, automated driving car. Technology will be so fast that Singapore can be left behind. Robotics starting to hit market as well. This time round, china products going to take the lead. mental prep in advance, we see how to integrate later.

KeytoFreedom

thinking of getting the spray type canister made in Japan for only around $15...does this help to prevent mold and clean the fan coil?

KnightDroid

thinking of getting the spray type canister made in Japan for only around $15...does this help to prevent mold and clean the fan coil?

i use pressure can at the moment. 3L. Mold is environment issue, humidity builds up. Depends how long how tough, the psi in the can is strong, but might not be suffice to clean off tough ones.

Still, no harm trying, but i suggest u use a bleach to loosen them first before using the can.

be upgrading jimmy definitely, problem is when only. Situation pretty volatile now, i might wanna tighten my coffer for the time being.

WussRedXLi

wrx, can u tb search jimmy accessories, should be compatible so u can use less of changing heads.

jimmy u search, later on, the system will suggest other jummy like power tools.

In one year or two, we will see more AI related products starting from cybercar, automated driving car. Technology will be so fast that Singapore can be left behind. Robotics starting to hit market as well. This time round, china products going to take the lead. mental prep in advance, we see how to integrate later.

Unfortunately nope....these portable car pressure washers are not compatible with the true pressure washers stuffs running on AC.

Actually > a year ago in 2019 i have already posted a fair bit these car portable pressure washers. Lately i have done a search to update myself, so far still no 90 deg wand option. Maybe in the future they might come up with one?

Nobody has done what Karcher is able to do, a 360 deg rotating and variable pressure nozzle. Bosch has got a 360 deg rotating head, but no variable pressure

Actually the number 1 thing or requirement is not really the ease of changing of heads.

The number 1 thing / requirement that is useful is the 90 deg nozzle, so that the tool can prove useful in doing a full clean including the back coil.
I mean of coz i can do a blower+condensate pan pull if i really want to (but i don't wanna do as much as possible), the majority of pax don't wanna do that.

Those who PMed me or posted online in this thread who are interested in using this method (high pressure water) also want this 90 deg capability.
The last check (back in 2019) i did on the number of pax doing pressure washers or 12V pump systems, i counted around 120 pax, quite a fair number of pax.

KnightDroid

Unfortunately nope....these portable car pressure washers are not compatible with the true pressure washers stuffs running on AC.

Actually > a year ago in 2019 i have already posted a fair bit these car portable pressure washers. Lately i have done a search to update myself, so far still no 90 deg wand option. Maybe in the future they might come up with one?

Nobody has done what Karcher is able to do, a 360 deg rotating and variable pressure nozzle. Bosch has got a 360 deg rotating head, but no variable pressure

Actually the number 1 thing or requirement is not really the ease of changing of heads.

The number 1 thing / requirement that is useful is the 90 deg nozzle, so that the tool can prove useful in doing a full clean including the back coil.
I mean of coz i can do a blower+condensate pan pull if i really want to (but i don't wanna do as much as possible), the majority of pax don't wanna do that.

Those who PMed me or posted online in this thread who are interested in using this method (high pressure water) also want this 90 deg capability.
The last check (back in 2019) i did on the number of pax doing pressure washers or 12V pump systems, i counted around 120 pax, quite a fair number of pax.

ic, ur concern is with the 90 degree one, so can find a long thingy and bend urself using a blow torch?

havent try right? wear thick gloves.

WussRedXLi

If coupled with a good cleaner, shd have some positive results. After all i have tried a "slow" water flosser before as well.

BTW, try not to overpump / overpressure these things. Coz there might be a tendency to try to extract the highest pressure for aircon FCU washing, coz wanna blast ma. No free lunch in this world, there is a limit and risk, after all it's HDPE.

The container can burst. Happened to me, and took out my finger (fractured).
And it wasn't a brandless MIC taobao thing, i bought a branded one from Self-fix that costed 40 over bucks that is very well built.

Don't trust that it is made in Japan, $15 not cheap, so can pump ah pump.

Just a quick warning lah....dont be like me.

KnightDroid

If coupled with a good cleaner, shd have some positive results. After all i have tried a "slow" water flosser before as well.

BTW, try not to overpump / overpressure these things. Coz there might be a tendency to try to extract the highest pressure for aircon FCU washing, coz wanna blast ma. No free lunch in this world, there is a limit and risk, after all it's HDPE.

The container can burst. Happened to me, and took out my finger (fractured).
And it wasn't a brandless MIC taobao thing, i bought a branded one from Self-fix that costed 40 over bucks that is very well built.

Don't trust that it is made in Japan, $15 not cheap, so can pump ah pump.

Just a quick warning lah....dont be like me.

lol, i dun trust in words too. youtuber already pointed out made in germany actually is mic.

i am with wrx on this one.

WussRedXLi

ic, ur concern is with the 90 degree one, so can find a long thingy and bend urself using a blow torch?

havent try right? wear thick gloves.

Long time tried before already but with the 12V system, with my butane torch. Cannot, 1st thing it won't really bend that easily (the material), secondly even if you force it, the internal diameter cannot maintain.

I was trying to bend my 20-30 deg wands, then i found the 90 deg version on Taobao (pretty rare, not many pax selling). Those stuff are used for agriculture in China.

Then second try i got the 90 deg wand but it was a good 50cm long, so there is this kickback recoil moment coz it is too long, a shorter 10cm long 90 deg wand would be nice but the TB sellers all said no have.
So i tried really hard the second time, end up internal diameter shrink, not much water come out.

Don't bother, it's more trouble than its worth.

And with a > 1000 PSI pressure washer pump system, don't play......if there is any weak spot, the consequence might be deadly. You can youtube search for the videos. A single small hole that erupts suddenly can easily injure the user coz it'd be like a 0 deg nozzle and at very low flowrate but very high pressure. Something like a laser.

WussRedXLi

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.