Traditional degree route not a must before going out to work: Lawrence Wong

Tony.Manero

Recently few news about happy to be hawker, phv driver, food deliverers. Such jobs don't need degree one hor. :vijayadmin:

puppey

What u talking sia. I see so many managers booses and directors with no formal education.

Really is talking to a ginna, are you even for real?

lol calling ginna ..
'many managers bosses directors without formal education' ROFL what type of business ?
are you a boss now since you bashed getting a degree ? :s13::s13::s13:
if you're doing very well without degree, good for you as many are not as lucky .In sinkie , non degrees generally not doing as well as degree...its reality :)

zeroman

don't need degree, but need lifelong learning WSQ certificates. we build so many universities for who, foreign students?

King.Koopa

Say no need degree. But no degree take home pay only 2k. How to start family and buy house like that :(

Itsnotfunny

Try apply for superscale civil service role and tell them u have entrepreneur experience running a company but no degree. See if they take u.

Angmoh_TuaKi

I think LW must be delegated to take hit lah. I think he must be out of the PM race alr. Now PAP using him to be their meat shield to face the music from public.

gamerx

yes that's y I say might be a solution...

there is simply no way to remove this mindset.

Subsidize professional trainings only for non-degree holders, or otherwise rebate the employers for hiring a non-degree holder for jobs that really do not require one.

Aneosx

"bluecutie wrote:
What u talking sia. I see so many managers booses and directors with no formal education.

Really is talking to a ginna, are you even for real?"

This might work when singapore is still at a developing stage a.k.a 30-40 yrs ago. If u today no formal education, for example O lv, how are you going to rise until become operations director? HR director? or even Sales director? the percentage of success is jus soo low. even lower than the 3 sigma percentage.

puppey

"bluecutie wrote:

Really is talking to a ginna, are you even for real?"

This might work when singapore is still at a developing stage a.k.a 30-40 yrs ago. If u today no formal education, for example O lv, how are you going to rise until become operations director? HR director? or even Sales director? the percentage of success is jus soo low. even lower than the 3 sigma percentage.

he talk cock sing song then delete the post ? :s13::s13:
he's still living in industrial age :eek:
update yourself, socialisie more

Aneosx

Subsidize professional trainings only for non-degree holders, or otherwise rebate the employers for hiring a non-degree holder for jobs that really do not require one.

i guess that is why we have the SGUP programs now.

Aneosx

he talk cock sing song then delete the post ? :s13::s13:
he's still living in industrial age :eek:
update yourself, socialisie more

yes now we are at the developed country status now. there is simple v v v low chance of success without a formal education.

Medicated Oil

I think LW must be delegated to take hit lah. I think he must be out of the PM race alr. Now PAP using him to be their meat shield to face the music from public.

Most probably tell him to be black face to do all the sai things that no one want to do and the boss will come out and take credits when the sai things become gold.
If that is the case, he can also tell his kids to quit studying at poly or JC.

drkcynic

Lai liao lai liao!!! Find me a PAP MP without degree first.

gamerx

i guess that is why we have the SGUP programs now.

No, that's more for mid career job switch. Certain professions have their own specialized trainings or industry certifications. Degree or not do not really matter, but these trainings/certification do. Govt can offer to subsidize the training and certifications for non-degree holders to incentivize people.

Kind of equitable as well, since students at local unis receive subsidies that others do not.

Ohayo!

Govt tell you all schools are good school, but ownself send their own children to top schools.
Govt tell you no need degree, but ownself send their own children to unis.
Govt tell you be hawker is good, but ownself become white collar workers.
Govt tell you no need mask, but actual reason cos they scare no enuf. xia suay.
Govt tell you no need hoard eggs, but Amy Khor spotted with 2 trays from "farmer friend"
Govt tell you minimum wage is no good, but ownself pay themselves millions no enuf.
"I had some ground to believe that my family would not suffer a drastic change in the standard of living even though I experienced a drop in my income. So it is with this recent pay cut."

Looks like a bunch of hypocrites to me.

Angmoh_TuaKi

Govt tell you all schools are good school, but ownself send their own children to top schools.
Govt tell you no need degree, but ownself send their own children to unis.
Govt tell you be hawker is good, but ownself become white collar workers.
Govt tell you no need mask, but actual reason cos they scare no enuf. xia suay.
Govt tell you no need hoard eggs, but Amy Khor spotted with 2 trays from "farmer friend"
Govt tell you minimum wage is no good, but ownself pay themselves millions no enuf.
"I had some ground to believe that my family would not suffer a drastic change in the standard of living even though I experienced a drop in my income. So it is with this recent pay cut."

Looks like a bunch of hypocrites to me.

:s12::s12::s12:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.