HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Transfer from Presales Consultant to Test Engineer, should I go for the internal transfer?

Like Tree18Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 14-02-2019, 09:48 PM   #1

Transfer from Presales Consultant to Test Engineer, should I go for the internal transfer?

Hi seefu, I'm in the dilemma, the Manager from R&D spoken to me today, because my friend told him that I'm interested to learn coding
I'm currently a Presales consultant for an ERP solution, I feel that consultant role is unstable, one day later might get wipe out by AI/ chatbot, so learn technical coding automation is the key to sustain a life in future. My friend told me that Test Engineer doesn't do coding, but they are very near to Developer, and might get a chance to transfer to Developer role if I learnt the coding. But I have very little skill in development, I know very little about code

Key accountabilities and decision ownership:
• Demonstrate a level of understanding of the system under test and gain an understanding of how customers use the products under test.
• Create and track to accurate and timely test estimates for projects
• Collaborate with the delivery team to create source documents used for testing artefacts and create and maintain test artefacts that maximise the efficiency of the test phase, cover all requirements and allow for timely delivery of products and/or components to our customers
• Execute different testing approaches within each defined stage of development and keep up to date with advances in the discipline, e.g. rapid, risk based, exploratory, regression, security, usability etc.
• Have an awareness of the test automation framework and as a result create, execute and maintain efficient and effective test automation scripts
• Take accountability for all test related activities within a test phase, accurately record and communicate risks and issues found during test phases and produce effective test metrics for the Test Team Lead