HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Advice Needed: 3 Weeks In Winter Eastern Europe

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 27-10-2019, 12:44 PM   #1

Advice Needed: 3 Weeks In Winter Eastern Europe

Dear bros and sis,

Need advice as this is my first time visiting eastern europe in December. Furthermore, I am the only guy travelling with 3 ladies, so safety is of utmost importance to me.

Vienna, Austria— 3 nights
Hallstatt, Austria— 2 nights
Salzburg, Austria— 2 nights
Prague, Czech Republic— 4 nights
Budapest, Hungary— 3 nights
Vienna, Austria— 1 night

This is the plan that I had drafted using inspirock.

Here are my questions for your kind advice:
1) Is it safe to drive in Europe during winter? Or should we take the public transport? All 4 of us have driving licenses and I can apply for international driving permits for all. My reason for suggesting self-drive is due to the luggages that we will be carrying. Having a car will reduce the stress of carrying the luggages to the train or bus stations.

2) If we do take the public transport, how do we go about booking the trains and buses?

3) Any advice on the above plan? Our initial plan is to visit Vienna, Budapest and Prague. But I read online and found Hallstatt and Salzburg quite nice places to visit after reading some travel blogs.

4) For payment, is Euro the universal currency that can be used in all the above places? I assume credit cards can be accepted as well?

5) Is staying in airbnb ok? Or is it better to stay in hotels? So far, I've stayed in airbnb for places like korea, japan, thailand, australia, london, and the experiences have been wonderful.

6) Any advice on safety, other than always being vigilant, not to be too loud and flashy, beware of pickpockets, not to return late to our accommodation?

Thank you all for your kind advice! Happy holiday in advance!
superio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2019, 04:00 PM   #2
Master Member