The Contact Lenses Thread

deathman91

Gonna schedule an appointment for contact lens fitting again with Ngee Ann Optometry Centre. They did a fit for me last year, going back to make sure everything is in good shape. IDK whether is it luck or not, they only fitted me with 1 brand of lens and it was good to go. They did checks, which I am not sure what is it... Used a machine, lit light into my eyes, tell me look up/down/left/right + eye pressure + yellow stain thingy, check upper/lower lids for any infections, etc...

Nevertheless, no problem with the lens im wearing now. Wore >36hrs before, no problem.
One minor issue which happens very seldom though I feel a sharp pain and the lens felt like it was gonna drop out for a few sec.

Reading warhunter's makes me scare hahaha.

SDM1974

As I said. It's on prescription only. I can't recommend u the brand without checking your eyes and doing a fitting on your eye. You can't blame him if your eyes only suit e most expensive lenses. Lenses are of different specifications and won't have the same fit qualities.

And LASTLY, nothing is constant. Even your age is not a constant. Your prescription your corneal steepness your eye's reaction with the lenses won't be a constant. Your idea of contact lenses is too perfect. U need to read up more.

A silly question here. You mean each brand comes with different distinct specification? A bit strange since it will make sense of each brand comes with a range of specifications to meet all requirements

warhunter

Gonna schedule an appointment for contact lens fitting again with Ngee Ann Optometry Centre. They did a fit for me last year, going back to make sure everything is in good shape. IDK whether is it luck or not, they only fitted me with 1 brand of lens and it was good to go. They did checks, which I am not sure what is it... Used a machine, lit light into my eyes, tell me look up/down/left/right + eye pressure + yellow stain thingy, check upper/lower lids for any infections, etc... Good job dude. That is the lens fitting I'm talking about. It's to check the movement of lenses on your eye. If lenses have no movement it would be too tight. And one with too much movement would cause alot of discomfort.

Nevertheless, no problem with the lens im wearing now. Wore >36hrs before, no problem. Try not to do that. As the lenses will dry over time, the lens would draw fluid from your tears. This can cause dryness and may also cause the pain that you're feeling. Overwear of lenses would lead to the lack of oxygen of the cornea. This can potentially cause huge problems like infection and blurring of vision in severe cases.
One minor issue which happens very seldom though I feel a sharp pain and the lens felt like it was gonna drop out for a few sec.

He is an example of a responsible contact lens wearer

warhunter

A silly question here. You mean each brand comes with different distinct specification? A bit strange since it will make sense of each brand comes with a range of specifications to meet all requirements

Of course they are. Different lens companies have differ manufacturing methods. An 8.5 base curve lens from company A may be different from an 8.5 basecurve lens of company B. Most lenses are developed and researched overseas. These lenses are USUALLy based on the caucasian population and would not be true for our Singaporean population. Newer designs like one of the more popular brands in Singapore has a newer lens that has a "one size fit all" type of lenses. However, they may also have their limitations as everyone are indeed born different.

Citiguy

Gonna schedule an appointment for contact lens fitting again with Ngee Ann Optometry Centre. They did a fit for me last year, going back to make sure everything is in good shape. IDK whether is it luck or not, they only fitted me with 1 brand of lens and it was good to go. They did checks, which I am not sure what is it... Used a machine, lit light into my eyes, tell me look up/down/left/right + eye pressure + yellow stain thingy, check upper/lower lids for any infections, etc...

Nevertheless, no problem with the lens im wearing now. Wore >36hrs before, no problem.

Bro, how did you make an appointment at Ngee Ann Optometry Centre? And how much does it cost?

TIA for replies. :)

deathman91

He is an example of a responsible contact lens wearer

Only have a pair of eyes, have to take care properly. Those who are looking for affordable contact lens fitting can visit NGEE ANN or Singapore Poly at $5 only. Might be a long process(1-2hrs)for some, but I kinda find it relaxing lol. Just sit there and relax, +1 if it's a chiobu attending to you. :)

Would like to ask some question regrading cleaning of lens. It it important to rub it both before & after wearing the lens? Sometimes very lazy to rub after wearing, so I just take them out and store it. But I always rub before I wear it.

Bro, how did you make an appointment at Ngee Ann Optometry Centre? And how much does it cost?

TIA for replies. :)

http://www.np.edu.sg/hs/industry/Pages/NPOC_Registration.aspx
They charges a small fee of $5 for the public and $3 for their students. Given my previous experience with them, they will contact you to confirm the appointment.

warhunter

Only have a pair of eyes, have to take care properly. Those who are looking for affordable contact lens fitting can visit NGEE ANN or Singapore Poly at $5 only. Might be a long process(1-2hrs)for some, but I kinda find it relaxing lol. Just sit there and relax, +1 if it's a chiobu attending to you. :)

Would like to ask some question regrading cleaning of lens. It it important to rub it both before & after wearing the lens? Sometimes very lazy to rub after wearing, so I just take them out and store it. But I always rub before I wear it.
Do it before and after.

Ngee Ann Polytechnic Optmometry Centre Online Appointment Booking Form*
They charges a small fee of $5 for the public and $3 for their students. Given my previous experience with them, they will contact you to confirm the appointment.

mfbatzap

stupid question, where do one go for eye-check up and to get prescription?
Does optical shops do such services?

warhunter

stupid question, where do one go for eye-check up and to get prescription?
Does optical shops do such services?

Anywhere that has an optometrist.
They are required by law to do the following as listed in the link provided.

link

They have the right to charge for it too. Don't expect free check because you'll just get yourself fked

SDM1974

Anywhere that has an optometrist.
They are required by law to do the following as listed in the link provided.

link

They have the right to charge for it too. Don't expect free check because you'll just get yourself fked

I am pretty sure most of them do not have the equipment to do what is being described in page 17. I know most of the listed tests cos I just did a cataract procedure and the eye doctor did all those mentioned tests before the procedure.

warhunter

I am pretty sure most of them do not have the equipment to do what is being described in page 17. I know most of the listed tests cos I just did a cataract procedure and the eye doctor did all those mentioned tests before the procedure.

You are wrong then. They must have minimum a slit lamp, k meter for contact lens practice. If not they've pretty much f themselves up when an enforcing officer pops by their shop.
Though u did those before the cataract surgery, there are many different kinds of machines in the market to do the same tests. So you wouldn't know if they have done the tests unless u see the results.

Look-into-me

Hi, any good contact lens solution to recommend? I currently using solo care, but dk why I feel that the solution is oily?? Everytime when I wanna put on my lens I can feel that my lens are kinda oily, even the lens casing is oily too...

warhunter

Hi, any good contact lens solution to recommend? I currently using solo care, but dk why I feel that the solution is oily?? Everytime when I wanna put on my lens I can feel that my lens are kinda oily, even the lens casing is oily too...

by right you should go to an optometrist for aftercare after starting on a type of lens care to see if their are any effects on your cornea caused by the solution. it is normal to feel that the lenses are oily because its a multipurpose solution afterall. you can try rinsing the lenses with normal saline before wearing them if you find the MPS irritating for your eyes.

I cannot advice you on the effects of the solution as you must be followed up with an aftercare because i need to see if there is any adverse effects on the cornea cells. during soaking of the lenses, soft lenses will absorb the MPS into the lens material and would be released into the eye during lens wear and some people may develop some changes on their cornea.

xuanzang123

can i still wear contact lens if i have an eye infection ?

last week wake up suddenly sore eye then cannot tahan strong lights like under the sun etc etc so i went to see the eye specialist at the hospital then they say i kena eye infection!

warhunter

can i still wear contact lens if i have an eye infection ?
last week wake up suddenly sore eye then cannot tahan strong lights like under the sun etc etc so i went to see the eye specialist at the hospital then they say i kena eye infection!
No you can't until your infection clears. U dun have to go to an eye doctor for follow up. Just follow up at an optom. He can check if ur infection is cleared alrdy or not.

We_Generation

Hi ppl I am intending to switch from spects to contact lens and I need some help. I went to The Lens Mens shop in Compass and was quoted 3 month $106 for bi weekly is it exp??

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.