The Watch Thread - Part 15

Shion

Senior Mentor
Between a Swatch automatic and Seiko automatic, I assume everyone here will pick Seiko over Swatch, right ?

Dilemma6

Brand new 2 tone submariner

Huat ah! was thinking to get hulk, but when i saw the 2 tone gold same price as 2nd hand hulk, i rather get this

A3JDtAu.jpg

cyrenic

Sure boh.

Last time I said like that, kena fugged upside down by you and your pals.

So righteous some more, "buy watch for passion, etc"

Hypocrite much?

I said "Ya, is a hobby, don't lose too much can already."

You seem to think you said the same thing, but let me pull out these posts to show you that you are clearly mistaken:

fat*******x said:
having been a loser before holding all these worthless watches from fugged up brands, I don't want to repeat my mistake.

fat*******x said:
This is the darker side of watch purchasing that watch brand fanboys will not show you. They will go gaga over pics of your watch when you first buy it. They won't be there when you are trying to sell your watch and the highest offers you get are 50% of what you think is a fair price that you listed for.

Often your head will have a battle with your heart. Often what your heart likes will not be good for your wallet or bank account.

Sorry for the pessimism, but I think a good dose of reality is needed in these times of skyrocketing watch prices fed by artificial lack of supply.

Just a couple of years ago, you guys who are now thinking whether to pay $6k for a fugging Tudor, you could buy a Rolex Submariner non-ceramic.

Just a couple of years ago, a pre-owned GMT2C 116710LN with box and papers could be bought for $8k.

Just remember that when you're shelling out $6k for a Tudor

And to those noobs, do you think prices will never come down? LOL! Maybe gaoxing84 thinks I am a noob cos of the watches I showed. But I was there in the 1990s, 2004, 2005, 2009 (crash), 2010(bottom), 2012(beginning of recovery) and I am happy to say I am still witnessing in 2019 the greatest build up to the upcoming biggest crash ever.

fat*******x said:
o lah...I was like you once...young and idealistic, don't care about resale prices and brands that most watch buyers are not familiar with.. I lost a lot of money siol.

Now 20 years older, I think differently liao.

Put it this way, our fathers and uncles were right when they said Rolex and Patek were the only brands worth buying.
This was coupled with a whole series of posts proclaiming that only Rolex and a few select brands were not "fugged up brand" in your words. Why don't you take a look at all the posts of my watches, and see if they are all Rolexes, Pateks, and if they meet your golden criteria of preservation of value.

I don't actively go and buy watches of brands that I think I won't lose money on. I make sure I get a good price when I buy second hand. This is how I don't end up like some poor fat soul in a corner, whining about losses he had incurred from getting cold door brands.

I also made the above point in our earlier exchanges, so dunno WTF you are smoking.

cyrenic said:
The saddest thing is when someone buys a watch he don't like, just because in case he don't like, sell off already lose money.

The logic is just warped, like that you may miss out on watches that you really like and feel for, because not many brands or models will give you an end result where your value is preserved.

This is what I said, and the posts I have made in the last few pages is aligned. Hypocrite? Naw. I'm just not confused about my point of view, unlike you.

No one ever said there's anything wrong with not wanting to lose too much money, but it is not our PRIMARY consideration. If it was, I would not have a Movas piece in my collection.

P.S. Please stay in EDMW where you belong.

cyrenic

I see. I was reading the reviews on sistem51, dont seem to be too positive ?

Sistem51 is a very specialised piece. It is designed to be a throwaway when it breaks down. So for all intents and purposes, many people frown upon this as the pricing is indeed similar to a Seiko, yet a Seiko can be serviced and last for a longer time (assuming it's not sold or traded away in between).

That doesn't mean it has no place in a collection. The movement is the first to be entirely put together by machines, which is why it is iconic and why it has a cult-like following.

I had a Sistem51 once. I just didn't like the design, but it was a fun piece.

Not every piece you have in your collection needs to be one that you intend to keep forever..

peaceheart

Sistem51 is a very specialised piece. It is designed to be a throwaway when it breaks down. So for all intents and purposes, many people frown upon this as the pricing is indeed similar to a Seiko, yet a Seiko can be serviced and last for a longer time (assuming it's not sold or traded away in between).

That doesn't mean it has no place in a collection. The movement is the first to be entirely put together by machines, which is why it is iconic and why it has a cult-like following.

Not every piece you have in your collection needs to be one that you intend to keep forever..
As with all Swatch watches sadly... Can't be repaired. Speaking of heirloom watch, do you guys have any of such watches?

Shion

Senior Mentor

Thank you for the info.
Yes, I noted the pricing is similar to Seiko.
But the Swatch design is more inclined to something that I am looking for.

Cheers :s12:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.