The Watch Thread - Part 16

Renzokukenz

Arch-Supremacy Member
Reaction score
I'm not a vintage expert, but the four Submariner references that are collectible are:

1680 "Red" Submariner

Rolex_Submariner_1680_5D3_6070-Edit-6-1.jpg

The Big Crown Submariner

DSC04065.jpeg

The "Explorer dial" Submariner

292_001.jpg

And lastly, the MilSub

117_001.jpg
oh these are beautiful!!
are they arcylic crystal?? the yellowish is not very appetizing for me.
and (forgive me) I actually prefer the aesthetic of the modern-day design

anyway sorry I dont mean vintage, I mean, must-have for rich collectors
like how the 5711 from Patek is a statement piece for collectors, outside of that it's not much

thanks for sharing :)

atypicalsingaporean

Master Member
Reaction score
oh these are beautiful!!
are they arcylic crystal??

anyway sorry I dont mean vintage, I mean, must-have for rich collectors
like how the 5711 from Patek is a statement piece for collectors, outside of that it's not much

thanks for sharing :)
Do you mean current production pieces? In the current Submariner range, maybe the green Submariner 126610LV? If a collector is into Submariners, then very likely he/she has to go into vintage.

Renzokukenz

Arch-Supremacy Member
Reaction score
Do you mean current production pieces? In the current Submariner range, maybe the green Submariner 126610LV? If a collector is into Submariners, then very likely he/she has to go into vintage.
was just wondering if there are "must-haves"
like how the 5711 (out of production now) is a must-have for the truly rich collectors

Just trying to understand the collection etc.
thanks for your input

as for the 126610LV, no wonder so many brands were pushing out green dials
seems to me they all tried to emulate Rolex's design language

atypicalsingaporean

Master Member
Reaction score
was just wondering if there are "must-haves"
like how the 5711 (out of production now) is a must-have for the truly rich collectors