How do u all save money?

akwl88

Actually you didn't break the rule if you are not paying the maintenance of having one, and maintenance I mean by:

1. Do you buy gifts & celebrate of over $200 on Bday, anniversary, new year, Christmas & Vday?
2. Do you have many planned travels overseas each year? (usually tied to point 1)
3. Do you forfeit a source of income(like tuition) just to spend more time with her?
4. Is your academic performance affected by the relationship? (Since study affects the first 3~10 years of working life, this affects greatly on your career too)
5. Do you pay for all your outings like dining, travelling, entertainment?

If all above is NO, congratulations you can have GF or multiple GFs if you are so capable... but 99% of the males can't do.

Cheers

siao bo $200 on each day??? print money one issit :s13:

OngHuatHuat

force myself to save money by taking 700k debt to buy a condo..sounds like an oxymoron but it is a form of forced savings for past 5 years

every year just use my salary and rental income to service the loan, will be able to clear it by this year

should be able to achieve financial freedom by 34 with 3-4k rental income per mth

Do you live in the condo you purchased?

SBC

force myself to save money by taking 700k debt to buy a condo..sounds like an oxymoron but it is a form of forced savings for past 5 years

every year just use my salary and rental income to service the loan, will be able to clear it by this year

should be able to achieve financial freedom by 34 with 3-4k rental income per mth

Is that a brand new 2BR condo?
Congrats

orange_sky

Never really have a plan to save. I think it's a matter of upbringing that moulds one's spending and saving pattern long before one starts working.

While it's important to save, you will always be on the defensive to inflation unless you increase your earning power. I don't set aside a sum of money every month for savings nor I record my expenses conscientiously but I think I have done ok over the years.

Another thing is spending pattern changes as one ages. My peak was between 34-38. Nowadays I don't really buy stuff. My only poison would be FnB and holidays for the family

arctician

Is that a brand new 2BR condo?
Congrats

no on e contrary its a shoebox :s13:..but ok lah different folks different strokes..no right or wrong investment..most impt is to know what you are doing

OngHuatHuat

ya when it first TOP..seriously no difference from a HDB

rather rent it out to finance the mortgage loan

Think not much difference also.

i am renting out one condo room currently, so far so good, coz the rental received able to cover interest component of my loan.

Hope government relax cooling measure so we can huat together.
Price has stabilized recently. :DThink gonna be a long wait before they remove.

arctician

Think not much difference also.

i am renting out one condo room currently, so far so good, coz the rental received able to cover interest component of my loan.

Hope government relax cooling measure so we can huat together.
Price has stabilized recently. :DThink gonna be a long wait before they remove.

Ya was hoping for them to remove the ABSD in this years budget..then can cherry pick again

Too bad :)

OngHuatHuat

Ya was hoping for them to remove the ABSD in this years budget..then can cherry pick again

Too bad :)

I was hoping for a removal since a lot of people made noise.

Seems like the government uses interest rate as indicator.

SBC

Think property price index needs to drop at least 12% from the peak before gov will react. Unlikely to be this year.

arctician

yea actually the TDSR is sufficient to flush out speculative activity..not to mention interest rates are on e uptrend

anyway even if they remove it will be the upper income who benefits most, so well i dont mind if ABSD stays :s13:

Jumpman23

Clearing a 700k loan in 6 years is quite an achievement.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.