The Watch Thread - Part 9

gaoxing84

Wah my husband told me he prefers business watch to dress watch. I asked him what's the difference. He say dress watches are brands that make watches for fashion, business watches are brands that make watches only. Got such a definition?? :s22:

Anyway really gives me a headache on what he wants.

On an unrelated matter, I saw some watch straps at City Chain at $39.90, didn't ask what kinda leather but is that considered cheap?

Lol. Ask him go Google what is a dress watch. There's no such thing as a business watch, all watches can be worn as "business" watch. Lol. CEOs wearing casio also have. There's tool watches and dress watches.

yattokame

Wah my husband told me he prefers business watch to dress watch. I asked him what's the difference. He say dress watches are brands that make watches for fashion, business watches are brands that make watches only. Got such a definition?? :s22:

Anyway really gives me a headache on what he wants.

On an unrelated matter, I saw some watch straps at City Chain at $39.90, didn't ask what kinda leather but is that considered cheap?

I think it should be dress watch versus fashion watch

A dress watch is meant for events in formal wear. It shld be as low profile as possible. Small, plain, totally non-eye catching. The patek calatrava takes my vote. It is more of the occassion than the brand/make.

I dunno whats a business watch though.

U can get better/cheaper straps online bah. Or even taobao.

Nakedtoes

lighting matters

D412CD74-EB0D-4B1C-B246-5213D07BB018_zpsien43w9b.jpg

Got some cheap straps to trial and error
Any suggestions which watch shld go with which strap?
9D94350E-9876-4ABC-AAFD-ECF56D7BB70F_zpsdfbjmdou.jpg

All the straps look nice.. Go with yr mood bah

denial86

Lol. Ask him go Google what is a dress watch. There's no such thing as a business watch, all watches can be worn as "business" watch. Lol. CEOs wearing casio also have. There's tool watches and dress watches.

Hahaha maybe his logic is "business" watch is a brand that's recognisable as compared to dress watch which is chio only.

I think it should be dress watch versus fashion watch

A dress watch is meant for events in formal wear. It shld be as low profile as possible. Small, plain, totally non-eye catching. The patek calatrava takes my vote. It is more of the occassion than the brand/make.

I dunno whats a business watch though.

U can get better/cheaper straps online bah. Or even taobao.

This definition makes more sense but if that's how he thinks it really limits what I can get him since he thinks Tag Heuer and Rolex are "real" watches. Aiyo.... :(

Really ar? I don't know how to use taobao though, shall go see if qoo10 sells haha.

gaoxing84

Hahaha maybe his logic is "business" watch is a brand that's recognisable as compared to dress watch which is chio only.

This definition makes more sense but if that's how he thinks it really limits what I can get him since he thinks Tag Heuer and Rolex are "real" watches. Aiyo.... :(

Really ar? I don't know how to use taobao though, shall go see if qoo10 sells haha.

Just get him a tag lor.

yattokame

Tag heuer makes glasses too though.
U can get a Tag brand new for below 2k easily. Ultimately it is a gift for him so the most impt factor should be his preference. Dont sweat the small things like definitions or worth-or-not. His smile upon receiving the gift is what will make u smile too.
Well......you can bring him to any of our GTG and let us share our knowledge. That also helps. Some of our GTG are with watch events so that can be very helpful as well.

Ya Qoo10 also sells cheap straps.

yattokame

Need a watch recommendation.
Budget 10K
Clean face, prefer non chrono.

Plenty of rolex datejust for ladies. Just change to a leather strap and it works as a dress watch.
More info? Style, color, preferred brand, movement, etc?

Ladies wise i think cartier has very nice watches. I personally like their dress watches too. I think the gold/steelback tank quartz is way below 10k.

redparty

I prefer stainless steel bracelets, honestly, how heavy can it get? I see some people wear a light brown belt, dark brown croc pattern leather and black leather boots...hurts my eyes just to watch .

gaoxing84

Bo lui ar.. Budget not high enough. :(

haha then don't buy. save the money. save up more than hoot one gao lat one.

if not like really squeezing out that 2k and get something abit bo hua.

he want skeleton, he want branded, he want rose gold.

abit hard leh. if your budget 20k ok la but 2k. hard leh

you need to ask your husband to rethink his choice.

he either take something out of the 3 things he ask for.

Pagani_Z0nda

Plenty of rolex datejust for ladies. Just change to a leather strap and it works as a dress watch.

Ladies wise i think cartier has very nice watches. I personally like their dress watches too. I think the gold/steelback tank quartz is way below 10k.

I second to get cartier for ladies. Btw, the new Drive de Cartier is nice.

After cartier would be rolex datejust.

3sth3r

Thought carter movement wasn't really respected? What's your view on ballon bleu and Santos?

yattokame

Thought carter movement wasn't really respected? What's your view on ballon bleu and Santos?

i'm not into movements. I have a santos. it is a very nice dress watch in that budget and very versatile, IMHO.

helped my female colleague get her bb just last christmas thru my regular sales and she was over the moon. helped another female colleague get a santos some time back as well. both are really very nice watches.

I think cartier makes very classy watches. if you r into movements then I can't help much.....

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.