The Watch Thread - Part 10

Seannie

let your watch "run-in" for a week or two so that it'll settle on its long-term accuracy. if still out by even a minute, go straight back and politely request that it be regulated to COSC standards if possible (+6/-4s/day) (slightly faster is always better imho).

Orh. I think tudor choose the eta 2824 not for accuracy but more for robustness and to last for many years bah i think. Becos rast time miners and workers wear one mah. Must make it tough for daily rough work. Can stabilise to +10s a day i hepi liao lo.

Ed.YEO

not solid end links unfortunately...
錶耳兩邊的確不是實心的。。。不過其他連接的Link是實心的。
20160303_5284cbecc33cf98c0b69RkSCY7ZW3755.jpg

3sth3r

Finally got the Hamilton MR watch fixed. Always been my goal to pass my MR watch to our son when he enlists. Still some time to go so I'll have to keep it going.

Staff at SWATCH were very nice :)

If any of u wanna sell your "swiss army" MR watch pls let me know. I prefer the new design for casual days.

E1B443CF-8B81-4A89-B915-7F863E5A5EBA_zps3cuvlfjl.jpg

Still trying to get logic of passing watch to son. So once your son enlist, you will give the watch to him and will not wear it anymore?

gaoxing84

Dont care then what if i forgot adjust the time and it runs few mins faster that day i thought times up pang kang i get caught leaving office early, what my boss going to think? Later bonus increment all cut how?! U gimme?? Got cctv at corridor monitor what time we reach office and left de hor.. but no big rolex clock on the office wall.

lol @ this

:s13::s13::s13::s13::s13::s13:

rboyboy

Dont care then what if i forgot adjust the time and it runs few mins faster that day i thought times up pang kang i get caught leaving office early, what my boss going to think? Later bonus increment all cut how?! U gimme?? Got cctv at corridor monitor what time we reach office and left de hor.. but no big rolex clock on the office wall.

dude you have your phone and if there's computer, there's also time too. So scared then wear 15 dollars casio F91 as me la. worst to worst , then dont go home early?? go home 10 minutes later will die? LOL:s13:

patryn33

Orh. I think tudor choose the eta 2824 not for accuracy but more for robustness and to last for many years bah i think. Becos rast time miners and workers wear one mah. Must make it tough for daily rough work. Can stabilise to +10s a day i hepi liao lo.

Don't think so much.
Eta 2824 has chronometer grade
What is spec in your Tudor? If fail spec then bring in to service

patryn33

Your boss micro managed you!!!
Japanese company?? No time card?? Leave after your boss if u so worried

Watch run fast, u come in early that time doesn't count?

fade_white

Tudor uses eta 2824 top grade lor, they opted to use the "top" version which is tecnically identical to the chronometer/COSC version... the other 2 lower grades are cheaper.

Rate of accuracy still loses to eta of other calibers. Thats the main drawback only. Other aspects quite gd. Everyday got to adjust my watch to make sure i can go back on the dot. Sian boh?

Just my 2 cents, but id rather gain a few more seconds daily than to have someone open up the watch case prematurely. Esp the service center staff. My BBR is doing +9/day
Adjusting the time everyday is... Excessive lah. I do it maybe once a month

iV3RsOn

Paging for ed yeo.

My father in law has one titoni pass down by his deceased brother. Very meaningful watch.

Problem is, the watch keeps having water vapour going in and everyday the crystal will fog up.

Will lao goh be able to fix this? I think it's quite a vintage model.

yattokame

Paging for ed yeo.

My father in law has one titoni pass down by his deceased brother. Very meaningful watch.

Problem is, the watch keeps having water vapour going in and everyday the crystal will fog up.

Will lao goh be able to fix this? I think it's quite a vintage model.

.....i dun think so.

rem the seiko white mini monster I gave to my intern? it's still fogging.

Henabi

Enjoy your BB seannie ^.^

For all mechanical and even chronometer level quartz watches... it's part of the game for Time to move slightly faster or slower by a couple of seconds.

Only difference? Whether it is +/- X secs by Day, week, Months or Years

And that's why various companies are constantly improving their own technologis for better time accuracy.

Seannie

Just my 2 cents, but id rather gain a few more seconds daily than to have someone open up the watch case prematurely. Esp the service center staff. My BBR is doing +9/day
Adjusting the time everyday is... Excessive lah. I do it maybe once a month

Wah lucky u tell me first if later i go back shop complain damn malu... thanks for your pointer. U mean the service centre staff CMI de ah? I wait for it to break-in and see how lo. Ytd dont adjust it still better faster 2-3min only. After adjust now runs faster 5mins!

Nakedtoes

+5mins now. :(

Lol.. I wear patek work no scare i left work early.. On the spot go work on the spot left.. My bonus Gao Gao.. Maybe can buy another patek again... Told u liaoz buy PATEK.. Lol 5mins faster think yr watch throw away drain sua.. Just treat 3kplus lost.

Shyn85

iirc (and correct me bros if I'm wrong), ETA 2284-2 comes in 4 grades with increasing levels of fit, finish, materials, quality, QC and tolerance:
1. standard.
2. elabore.
3. top.
4. COSC/chronometer.

ETA 2892-A2 (the base ebache my omega 2254.50's caliber 1120 is derived from) only comes in 3 grades:
1. elabore.
2. top.
3. COSC/chronometer.

one primary diff b/w 2892-A2 and 2824-2 is their thickness with 2892-A2 being slimmer (therein lies the secret why the omega 2254.50 is so slim) :D

when not explicitly stated, you've to assume only the lowest grade is used.

For what I know swatch group is just only supply two type for other watch company.
2824/2892:
1. Base / standard - for who want to totally change the component part to fulfill their standard. Some watch brand just purchase this type and fully improvement also easier to get cosc standard.
2. Top - this is almost for the watch brand they can't made modify they self so they just purchase this type of movement and do slightly polishing to get cosc standard.

And swatch group won't supplier cosc standard movement to other watch brand, if they want cosc standard they have to improve they self and then send it to cosc to get the cert.

So the means is top watch brand will just buy the base movement and modify to their standard, top grade mostly is for micro brand.

2824 vs 2892
2892 is totally improve auto winding, accuracy, durable, and more easier repair. Of course and the movement thickness. 2892 very easy to get cosc standard and stable, that's why almost top brand will use this movement for they entry model.

This is talking about movement supply, if the watch brand under swatch group then is another story, like Longines L.688 movement, this is special movement just made for Longines, even omega or other brand under swatch group also cannot use this movement.

Pls correct me if I'm wrong.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.