Air conditioning - Any recommendations please??

tanjhj

Got quote from Gain city.
all 1 12btu + 2 x 9k btu
Starmex MXY3A28VA =2938 ( 2 tick /30k btu )
LG A4VQ2GFA0 = $2896 (3 tick /29k btu)
LG A4VQ26FA0 =3031 (4 tick / 26k btu)

1/2 inch insu and swg 22 copper and 16 mm drainage pie =$115

good price?
think so...

other brand not considering...

cos they c.c installment no need admin..

i know best tech 5% extra , creation and one more 4 %

based on your requirement, nat aire 1x12k,2x9kbtu + LG A4VQ26FA0 = $2896 (3 tick /29k btu) can be gotten at only $2628 if u search hard enuff. (only $100 voucher but can reduce further price with a $100 coupon - $2528 - $100 voucher =$2428) :D

and yes 24mths UOB cc 0% installment at no charges too.

just found a way to get another 3% (75$) off the price.

tanjhj

And for your info, it is clearly stated in the LG artcool fancoil installation manual that min clearance from TOP of fancoil to ceiling is 200mm. Only saw that in the manual after installer left. LG emphasizes this with a caution mark stating that cooling capacity will be reduced as well as increased operating noise if 200mm clearance is not met. Which is kinda true for me now. I surveyed the fancoil and I think nowadays, even for other brands the only air intake is at the top of fancoil. So if the min clearance is not met, air intake will likely be restricted especially when you go for higher fan speed.

I have 3 fancoils installed and only 1 unit has that min 200mm clearance.

The other 2 fancoil installed with the installer's presumed adequate min clearance of "3 inches" :(.

If u have L box at your living room like mine, it is really not practical to achieve 200mm clearance between fancoil and ceiling because if u follow the guideline strictly, your fancoil will be too low.

power consumption is good, a 6yo 318L non inverter fridge running together with the aircon system at night averaging 8kwh per night (readings at power meter recorded). 10 hrs usage (9pm to 7am) for my 2 common rooms 12kbtu + 9kbtu, set at 25deg C, reaching target temperature less than 20mins monitored using digital thermometer.

I hope the LG system will last me at least a 5 years. (Praying hard)

my starmex single split 12k btu inverter is already dying on me now, and it has served me for only less than 3 years.

same here for my starmex, it is not as solid as before.

How much is ur artcool sys 3 and how many ticks compressor? thks

Reneon

Warning of aircon company : JK aircon specialist

QUOTE=Hottyhot;102341688]I wonder what does jk means? :) :) :)[/QUOTE]

No idea. It may be the short form of the name of the owner. Company only registered 2 years ago maybe dats why they do business like dis. Money take already got any problems is at your own expense. Mine was installed a few months and have to wait 3 weeks for inspection, as they said they are too busy. Then this installer blamed our usage as problem. ( ? )
Not forgetting dragging debries through my flooring and unpatched holes on my walls, saying it's not their job.
I think it's quite lethal to treat a new customer this way.
Hence if you are trying for a new aircon company, it's better to go with recommendation.

tanjhj

Ya, I think the extract is throw in by netaire. I don't know why netaire is still able to get the 5years part warranty despite other dealers has ended. My last minute perchase of daikin was after the dateline for most dealer, and yer daikin honors the 3 years warranty.

nat aire is the biggest aircon reseller i think. when u have volume ppl will give leeway

tanjhj

5 yr warranty ended meh? gain city say still got?

LG 5 years warranty promo is till 30 sept

Just realised that nat aire maybe toking abt extended warranty (cover labour n transport) instead of the LG warranty (parts only). Those keen to get lg, Pls call nat aire yourself to confirm in case of unhappiness.

croc1977

LG 5 years warranty promo is till 30 sept
ok correct.

just order from Sungei gain city..

but not the 3 model i mention but LG art cool...

Just another $250 add on with the 3 ticks model..

if i am not wrong normally is $400~500 diff vs nor series...

and i don't like art cool cos the hinges is diff and fragile...

Mrs like....

bypass

yosemi

ok correct.

Mrs like....

bypass

stupid question but is there carpark there?

joshuatan1984

same here for my starmex, it is not as solid as before.

How much is ur artcool sys 3 and how many ticks compressor? thks

New artcool Platinum sys3, FCs 12k + 9k + 24k with CU A4UQ26GFA2 (5Ticks)

about $3.7k with $200 choice voucher before all the top ups for GS extended warranty and piping/insulation upgrade.

It was really a last min switch from 2ticks Starmex to 5ticks LG, one day before the scheduled installation. Cuz suay suay our less than 3yo MBR single split starmex broke down 3 days before the arrival of new system 3 for 2 common rooms and living room. Had a family discussion and wifey doesn't trust starmex no more. Texted my GC sales guy and surprisingly he still entertained us even after we have made full payment :D top notch service provided by Eric from marina sq branch (am in now way related to him, but really need to praise him for the service he provided).

Wifey did a detailed price comparison, factoring in the cost of 5yr extended warranty (covering parts and labor and transport) from GC and annual power consumption and assuming the new sys3 will serve us for next 5 years before next aircon sys change, operating cost for 5 years + equipment cost for the annyeong LG is still lower than the sawadee Starmex.:s42:

Specs on LG website for the CU is at 29.6k btu, but NEA tested result is around 22k btu. I believe NEA's result is closer to reality cuz it takes more than an hr to cool down my living room (around 50sqm) to 26degC.

GC's pricing is in general on the higher side but what attracts me is the 5 years all covered EW although you need to top up for the EW but hey one faulty PCB(and you have multiple fancoils) is enough to wipe out all the savings if you go with companies that can offer you 2-300 dollars cheaper but without extended warranty options. This is just my humble opinion.

Using a starmex inverter which failed me in less than 3 years so, don't know which brand i can trust now. lol. (only trust the warranty now hahahaha)

croc1977

New artcool Platinum sys3, FCs 12k + 9k + 24k with CU A4UQ26GFA2 (5Ticks)

about $3.7k with $200 choice voucher before all the top ups for GS extended warranty and piping/insulation upgrade.

It was really a last min switch from 2ticks Starmex to 5ticks LG, one day before the scheduled installation. Cuz suay suay our less than 3yo MBR single split starmex broke down 3 days before the arrival of new system 3 for 2 common rooms and living room. Had a family discussion and wifey doesn't trust starmex no more. Texted my GC sales guy and surprisingly he still entertained us even after we have made full payment :D top notch service provided by Eric from marina sq branch (am in now way related to him, but really need to praise him for the service he provided).

Wifey did a detailed price comparison, factoring in the cost of 5yr extended warranty (covering parts and labor and transport) from GC and annual power consumption and assuming the new sys3 will serve us for next 5 years before next aircon sys change, operating cost for 5 years + equipment cost for the annyeong LG is still lower than the sawadee Starmex.:s42:

Specs on LG website for the CU is at 29.6k btu, but NEA tested result is around 22k btu. I believe NEA's result is closer to reality cuz it takes more than an hr to cool down my living room (around 50sqm) to 26degC.

GC's pricing is in general on the higher side but what attracts me is the 5 years all covered EW although you need to top up for the EW but hey one faulty PCB(and you have multiple fancoils) is enough to wipe out all the savings if you go with companies that can offer you 2-300 dollars cheaper but without extended warranty options. This is just my humble opinion.

Using a starmex inverter which failed me in less than 3 years so, don't know which brand i can trust now. lol. (only trust the warranty now hahahaha)
if pcb spolit ....within 5 years...all you need pay labour and transport only for lg ...why pay extra EW from Gain city?

joshuatan1984

6 la ...don't any how say

sorry lor my last visit to sungei kadut GC was like in December 2015. doesnt matter if free parking is 5 or 6 hr but for sure the free parking duration is enough for you shop and seal your deal there.

think next time after i provide some info, i should put a disclaimer "if i remember correctly", if not people will start accusing me for "any how say":s13:

if pcb spolit ....within 5 years...all you need pay labour and transport only for lg ...why pay extra EW from Gain city?

read about people complaining that LG aircon start to chut pattern after the first year, but on the other hand, our old LG system 3 served my family well for 12 years without any major issues. So we took into consideration the worst scenario, what if the new generation LG really cui to the max and broke down multiple times, multiple fancoils, so decided to pay for EW.:look:

paying around 10 dollars/month (consume one frappucino + 2 breadtalk buns less a month:s13:) for the peace of mind . all depends on individual and if one thinks it is worth paying for EW.

disclaimer: this is just my humble opinion:D

ralfale

Any opinions on current generations of Daikin? Both my grandma and my place uses daikin and already more than 12 years old. Still can work but I guess it doesn't cool so fast anymore due to weakened compressor. I hope to get something that can last longer and not break down within 3 years type. Am also considering LG due to the warranty.

jaydentk

I'm deciding between daikin or starmex for my house. So far I do hear complaints about gc workmanship for air con installation.

Not sure about their price but based on what posted here, the price looks good.

joshuatan1984

I'm deciding between daikin or starmex for my house. So far I do hear complaints about gc workmanship for air con installation.

the two guys from GC who installed my sys 3 were quite good with the pipings/trunking, only issue was the drilling part, and not sure if the blame was on them or should i blame the precaster of the wall. supposed to drill a 3" x 2", but the end results was like rifle gunshot wound :s13:, the side where they drilled from, was a nicely done 3"x 2" hole, but on the other side :eek:. I heard the guy who drilled the wall cursing "diu":D

also the clearance between top of aircon and ceiling, out of 3 fancoils, only 1 has the recommended 200mm clearance. seems like most of the installers go by the rule of thumb of 3".

lesson learnt, next time should really go thru the installation manual that comes with the fancoil before installation starts to ensure the brand/model specific requirements are captured.

Guess it is really heng suay.

tanjhj

ok correct.

Mrs like....

bypass

Haha understand wife also want artcool. I dun like the mirror black so trying to get artcool white. Artcool got ionizer which normal version dun have.

Sorry, the extra 250 is per fcu or for all the system 3? Coz nat aire quote me quite high for artcool. Thks

croc1977

Haha understand wife also want artcool. I dun like the mirror black so trying to get artcool white. Artcool got ionizer which normal version dun have.

Sorry, the extra 250 is per fcu or for all the system 3? Coz nat aire quote me quite high for artcool. Thks
My price for art cool is just add $250 more from normal health plus 3 ticks models

If white I rather u don't pay extra

tanjhj

My price for art cool is just add $250 more from normal health plus 3 ticks models

If white I rather u don't pay extra

Haha yah. If for ionizer i may still get. We only saw the black mirror, havent seen the white artcool yet

Jhyun

My Starmex Sys 3 just broke down last week, only 1 year 3 months and the main pcb started giving problem. Total repair cost about $4xx.

Did a search online and seems like Starmex pcb always spoil... hopefully I don't have to change again 12 months later.

ksrokiller

My Starmex Sys 3 just broke down last week, only 1 year 3 months and the main pcb started giving problem. Total repair cost about $4xx.

Did a search online and seems like Starmex pcb always spoil... hopefully I don't have to change again 12 months later.

pcb replacement on condenser or fan coil?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.