*Official* SGXcafe Thread

StockBot

I don't understand your sentence (in red) can explain? if it "swibered" how can portfolio still survive?

btw, I am doing single stock invest.

being swibered means bankrupt and drop to zero, lose 100% on that position

if have 10 stocks at 10% of portfolio each, u kanna 1 swiber

u lose 10% and still have 90%

peacefulday

being swibered means bankrupt and drop to zero, lose 100% on that position

if have 10 stocks at 10% of portfolio each, u kanna 1 swiber

u lose 10% and still have 90%

oh, that's what I think too, as being misread by his say I will survive if tio swiber on single stock :s13:

StockBot

Sometimes for new investors, not enough capital to diversify
Say $30,000 hoot 3 stocks at 10k each
If one of them is swiber then 33% of portfolio wiped off
Thats why for those new investors i will always advise to use sti etf as your base first

Sti etf cannot die one, 30 blue chips inside!!!

When portfolio hit bigger scale like 50k or 100k then hold 10 stocks of 5k each or 10 stocks of 10k each is fine

I would say 10 is the min number of stocks to call a portfolio diversify

In portfolio theory need 30 stocks or more to avoid non systematic risk
However for me i prefer a focused approach to beat the market so for my 300k portfolio i still focus on 10 stocks

Even if my portfolio 100k or 500k or 5 mil, i still go for 10 stocks only
If 1 ship down 9 ships will still win me the war

Genosis

If 1 ship down 9 ships will still win me the war

Ya.......just like Warren Buffett said

'To finish first, you must first finish' :D

Lots of people build their portfolios like Ferraris & Lamborghinis......:s22:

But my all-terrain 4-wheel-drive vehicle is going to finish the race bcos the road ahead is full of bumps and potholes......:s12:

Maeda_Toshiie

Neologism in SSI: swiber (verb)

Meaning: value of something being wiped out, usually in reference to equities portfolio.

Usage: to swiber. being swibered. My portfolio got swibered when the STI tanked!

StockBot

Ya.......just like Warren Buffett said

'To finish first, you must first finish' :D

Lots of people build their portfolios like Ferraris & Lamborghinis......:s22:

But my all-terrain 4-wheel-drive vehicle is going to finish the race bcos the road ahead is full of bumps and potholes......:s12:

Ya lor so true
I see some new investors whack ipo like free money
Once they kanna burn they are finished

StockBot

I realise some investors got the fear of missing the boat mentally
Like i recommmend ara and glp that did well
Some ppl follow and some missed the boat
They see first two boats sailed well
Now 3rd boat fcl they all follow and whack big
Sibei scary.... Now boat so heavy until i super worries it sinks

zzxiaoboizz

I realise some investors got the fear of missing the boat mentally
Like i recommmend ara and glp that did well
Some ppl follow and some missed the boat
They see first two boats sailed well
Now 3rd boat fcl they all follow and whack big
Sibei scary.... Now boat so heavy until i super worries it sinks
I think some investors miss few times liao greed will set in then will jump into boat liao
At the end of the day everyone needs to do their own dillegence as well

Sent from Samsung SM-N910G using GAGT

StockBot

I think some investors miss few times liao greed will set in then will jump into boat liao
At the end of the day everyone needs to do their own dillegence as well

Sent from Samsung SM-N910G using GAGT

ya... i guess what u say is right... cause this time I got a very very bad feeling for FCL dunno why... everything feels so different from the ARA and GLP

ARA was ppl slowly see, read up on the fundementals... disucessed on the pro and cons... met a few SSI ppl in AGM
then the SSI warriors slowly boarded at around 1.20... when 1.30 most sold and took profit.. quite ok and healthy trend

GLP one... think not much attention as that period market was rallying and there were many other stocks that gained wildly.. like reits CMT rallied from $2.00 to $2.20 in the same period... so more of blind lucky maybe

FCL... is like all become vampire.... smell the blood already then all rush to buy... like past 2 weeks over 20+ on sgxcafe rush to buy FCL, when FCL the stock price also not much movement... its kinda ranged bound for 1 month at 1.51 to 1.53... dunno why they rushing to buy, makes me feel like they never really spend time to study the fundamentals and check the facts

the mentally feels like BOARD first, CHECK later LOL LOL LOL

Average

as of now, it should not sink. Sudden events in future could be unpredictable and is not our fault for not being able to predict those events.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.