The Watch Thread - Part 10

indigo22

btw guys, previously i saw someone posting a link to gnomon watches that they sell something that removes scratches? can i approach them to ask them some tips about maintenance of watch?

assuming i'll purchase whatevr they recommend me to buy la for such maintenance..

kashix

blue all day err day

1Photo%202-8-16%2C%206%2049%2045%20PM.jpg

going home ~

1Photo%202-8-16%2C%209%2038%2042%20PM.jpg

:):):)
poison kept at bay for the time-being ......

need to take photography lesson from cichlid bro hahaha

RadEoNic

new hoot lai liao!
tmr go hoot new strap
gonna keep the default strap and clasp
learnt from my stowa to not wear the new strap or else very xim tia for the poor croc who died for it

yIgiNY1.jpg

bClP1Xp.jpg

lewissac

Do anyone here use atomic watch?

Then where is the nearest site for time calibration signal? Japan? Not sure if it can receive that far from here.

cyrenic

btw guys, previously i saw someone posting a link to gnomon watches that they sell something that removes scratches? can i approach them to ask them some tips about maintenance of watch?

assuming i'll purchase whatevr they recommend me to buy la for such maintenance..
Polywatch is it, that only removes scratch from acrylic type surface. Won't work on sapphire or mineral glass.

RadEoNic

Polywatch is it, that only removes scratch from acrylic type surface. Won't work on sapphire or mineral glass.

Sapphire needs diamond paste
I previously bought to polish off a scratch on my watch (yes, sapphire glass can be scratched)
If someone needs just pm me, will gladly give you some

rboyboy

Any blue rubber straps to recommend? Prefer not to have holes on the strap for eg: isofrane. Thinking of strap options for my seiko tuna.

TeenTitan01

453 has been discontinued liao..however might snap one myself in the near future..really like the blue sunburst this...too bad sumo no sunburst dial..

srp453-11.jpg

do note that its shroud is made of plastic (unless I'm mistaken).

TeenTitan01

a few qns to ask, guys when u just buy watch, got 1 layer of protective film below the caseback, do you guys remove it or just keep it on?

btw how to clean watches uh? just rinse under water? any thing to take note of? for the sumo, as long as the crown is like tighten alr, i turn until like cannot turn alr, it's safe right to get into water :s11: TIA!
so long as it's a certified diver with a properly screwed-down crown (but NOT vintage diver hor!) it's water resistant until at least recreational diving depth. just don't over tighten cos you'll have difficulty unscrewing later for any adjustment. some higher end pieces with signed crown (ie logo on crown) can even screw down nicely until the logo is properly right side up - just like my omega 2254.50 :D.

divers with s/steel bracelets are the easiest and fuss free to maintain. even if exposed to sea water, just rinse it well under fresh/tap water. if greasy, just wash the watch while you wash your hands with soap. if really want a thorough clean, break out a soft toothbrush.

just make sure you replace the seals & gaskets if you suspect they're too old and brittle - and as always - check that the crowns are properly screwed-down before any water exposure.

ps. the above does NOT apply to dress watches and watches with low water resistance (anything with 30m or less)! strap care is another whole kettle of fish. I prefer s/steel bracelets in our hot, sticky, humid climate. I leave strap care to the other expert bros here with a strap collection!

TeenTitan01

I google and found this, this type is it better? http://www.wristclean.com/collections/wrist-clean/products/watch-brush

what kind of cloth to dry it with after? microfibre? :s11:

seriously, a watch is for wearing and will sure to pick up micro scratches one, especially the underside of the watch, its clasp (just that they're not visible to the naked eye). just don't abuse it until kena dings, pitting or deep scratches. seriously after a while any clean cloth, towel or even the t-shirt you're wearing will do for drying. unless yours is a gold (because gold is softer than s/steel) or ultra-lux piece :D

TeenTitan01

if you're referring the cape cod cloth, do be aware that using it on brushed/satin surfaces will ruin it! :eek:

TeenTitan01

lemme show u hamburger

from the front, actually still ok
n4lHRMX.jpg

from the side
gccOcyh.jpg

complementary lume shot
gxd1MbW.jpg

divers generally too thick for me lah. really is too bad

except for an omega 2254.50 which has a thickness of only 11.5mm :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.