Votes: 53 18.7%
  • Pixel XL 32GB

Votes: 44 15.5%
  • Pixel XL 128GB

Votes: 141 49.8%

• Total voters

alpha_helix

From Wiki, StarHub seems to be running on 2CA (Carrier Aggregation) on Band 3 + Band 7 for LTE-A .

North America set did not support this, but Rest of World (RoW) set does..

If you don't aim for that "double speed", both set should do just fine on normal LTE network..
Side note: Get unlocked set..
alexndrtz, thank you for your more indepth (and simpler) explanation of things.

My friend is from the US and if he were to get from me, it will definitely not be the RoW set :(. I am still using Note 3 so i have not experienced LTE-A/4G+ speeds. In real world usage (other than running speed tests), is the 4G+ actually useful? Also, i would imagine that 4G+ will only be extra useful if i have unlimited data which only My Republic has any hope of providing. Is there any chance that US model can enjoy 4G+ with My Republic?

Lastly, as long as I purchase my phone directly from google and not from their local carriers (eg. Verizon), my phone will be an "unlocked set" right?

highdiver_2000

I have watch any of the review but glanced through some the twits put out by the various news blogs.

My take
Seems that Google finally managed to split hairs. Will they be able to keep the hardware partners happy (Remember Samsung and Moto?) remains to be seen.

Google needs to consistently keep the Pixel and AOSP line separate. Pixel for Google sweetness, AOSP for all OEMs. Pixel has closed source proprietary camera and in future chipsets. As some has pointed out Pixel does not have any Android branding, so that is a first step.

This means there is little chance of running CyanogenMod on Pixel with full functionality.

afiqqq

idk why some are complaining about the price. It cost about the same as iphone and that's what Google is going for. A direct iphone competitor. Nexus was always for developers and rebranding/changing to pixel is the next step in the phone industry for them. From the videos coming out now, the phone looks really snappy like an iphone. the phone itself looks pretty much like an iphone. And I can easily say google assistant looks and works way better than Siri. Looking at other products they just released, Google isn't just competing in the phone world but literally your whole world with their wifi router, VR headset and chromecast ultra. Unfortunately they left us out but i don't think the future will be dark for us. It's just a matter of time. Exactly what the Pixel phones are.

garychengjw

wa siao bo. 1400 + for XL 128GB version. think gonna skip this riao rahhhh.

But I know one person in this forum sure buy. Forget his nick liao. I think is GaryChengJW or smth.

moi name so hard to rmb? :(

Paging for gary

heyyy... will pass now. ex dao. :eek:

wa. u fast hand fast leg. I remember his nick liao and and edit my post. lol:s13:

:D:D

He already decided not to buy.

yea lol. will wait.:s8:

newouverture

idk why some are complaining about the price. It cost about the same as iphone and that's what Google is going for. A direct iphone competitor. Nexus was always for developers and rebranding/changing to pixel is the next step in the phone industry for them. From the videos coming out now, the phone looks really snappy like an iphone. the phone itself looks pretty much like an iphone. And I can easily say google assistant looks and works way better than Siri. Looking at other products they just released, Google isn't just competing in the phone world but literally your whole world with their wifi router, VR headset and chromecast ultra. Unfortunately they left us out but i don't think the future will be dark for us. It's just a matter of time. Exactly what the Pixel phones are.

Google is not apple. So don't compare to apple as iPhone has very high resale value. Nexus or any Google phones once bought drop at least half in resale price.

Getting a 1k phone without warranty and lousy resale value just doesn't justify the high price. Loyalist who love stock Android are now not buying because of the price. And normal consumers don't care about stock Android. Given a choice, anyone on the streets will take a Samsung or iPhone anytime at the same price with warranty some more.

I can buy 2 of mi5s and have cash left. Same specs also. Some more got ois.

Seems Google thinks that now they can't increase the CPU speed or screen size anymore, they choose to increase price.

galapogos

To all looking to buy locally, please la... I believe you all are new to the Nexus/Pixel game, dont have any expectations, especially since now it's not even by Huawei/LG.

I've had a Nexus 4 and currently using a Nexus 5, so I've been through all the hoops. One can always dream though :)

newouverture

On a side note, Google claimed that these pixel phones are designed ground up by them. I do however find them similar to HTC A9 and X9 for pixel and XL though.....speaking about original.......

kEvinErd

Busy day sia. Haven't decided which country to buy from yet :D

Which non-US country cheaper? Haha I know the UK prices traditionally more ex while for AU sets, shipping charges are higher.

No Japan this time round?

alexndrtz

I never bought Nexus from Google directly, but I believe they should be unlocked set. Maybe some bro who did can comment.

As for NA set, technical specifications stated that it supports Singapore LTE bands.

alexndrtz, thank you for your more indepth (and simpler) explanation of things.

My friend is from the US and if he were to get from me, it will definitely not be the RoW set :(. I am still using Note 3 so i have not experienced LTE-A/4G+ speeds. In real world usage (other than running speed tests), is the 4G+ actually useful? Also, i would imagine that 4G+ will only be extra useful if i have unlimited data which only My Republic has any hope of providing. Is there any chance that US model can enjoy 4G+ with My Republic?

Lastly, as long as I purchase my phone directly from google and not from their local carriers (eg. Verizon), my phone will be an "unlocked set" right?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.