*Official* MasterLeong Thread - Part 2

MasterLeong

ya I still not very confident over valuing growth stocks.

So far only settled on tp for rmg and thaibev. CDG will wait for the result before I set a tp.

growth stocks tend to be more tricky than dividend stocks

slowly take your time to learn and understand the businesses

moonsoon92

Hi everybody, am new to this forum but have been through the ordeal of speed reading part 1 of this thread and currently still chasing part 2 as the posts is constantly on the go.

Will anybody be so kind to share a few cents worth about Frasers Hospitality Trust?

Respect all the shifus here in this thread 👍🏻

havetheveryfun

Excerpted from Investing note post:
CbUWy7h.jpg

Which also extracted from Business Times.

A rough-guide but useful chart for those are planning for financial freedom. :s12:

50% savings with 6% yield would take 11.9 yrs towards financial freedom.

then 90%savings with 7% yield only take 1.6 years?

how ?

Layers

Uber driver Jerry Yeo, 44, switched from a monthly rental car to an hourly arrangement with Smove recently because "the cost is lower". Mr Yeo has been driving with Uber for just over two years, but reckons he will not stay much longer. "The earnings are not attractive," he noted. "There are no long-term prospects."

Sent from Sony E6853 using GAGT

MasterLeong

Hi everybody, am new to this forum but have been through the ordeal of speed reading part 1 of this thread and currently still chasing part 2 as the posts is constantly on the go.

Will anybody be so kind to share a few cents worth about Frasers Hospitality Trust?

Respect all the shifus here in this thread 👍🏻

under Fraser so management is decent with a good track record

however Hospitality is a cyclical industry, dpu is not as stable compared to retail or commercial assets

2015/2016 was economy down cycle and many hotel/hospitality assets performed poorly

2016 annual report of FHT shows a decline of 10% in DPU and 4% decline in NAV

this is not the kinda stock i wanna hold

i prefer stocks that have shown 10 years of DPU/NAV growth

Layers

Cdg down mainly because of taxi oversupply?
PUBLISHED

OCT 10, 2015, 5:00 AM SGT

Up to 2,000 taxis are lying idle - unhired as factors such as higher rental and competition from taxi app firms bite

800 red taxis parked bumper to bumper, many covered with a visible layer of dust.

JAN 15, 2017, 5:00 AM SGT

Pool of about 2,000 unhired vehicles shows market has hit saturation point, say insiders

close to 1,000 brand new cars - many wearing the Uber-owned

taxi companies, which are also saddled with well over 1,000 idle cabs.(remember 800 from red taxis above)

See who dahan longer. Taxi or Uber. And among taxi, CDG or other can last longer.

Layers

however Hospitality is a cyclical industry, dpu is not as stable compared to retail or commercial assets

2015/2016 was economy down cycle and many hotel/hospitality assets performed poorly

most hospitality dpu has been dropping for yrs except for ascott. Other than ascott, others are not reits but business trust right.

moonsoon92

Put in cold storage and collect div liao, recently conducted rights issue summore. Abit sian but no choice gotta buy else dilute.

I'm thinking now still got people stay hotel and suits meh (less those on business trip or the rich) cos now got Airbnb and cheaper alternatives.

MasterLeong

generally what I am seeing now is that hospitality and industrial assets the dpu is on a downtrend... so I avoiding these 2 asset classes for 2017

I still prefer solid retail/office reits with good weight average lease periods to lock in the rents already, as long as DPU can maintain... I get my 6% yield on cost.. I happy

if management can grow DPU higher at say 3% clip, is bonus

for 5 tiger generals I do not expect their DPU for full year to decline... if got decline means my analysis have turned out to be wrong... and this might happy... maybe out of 5 tigers, 1 of them is rotten... not all 100% will be super solid ba

MasterLeong

Put in cold storage and collect div liao, recently conducted rights issue summore. Abit sian but no choice gotta buy else dilute.

I'm thinking now still got people stay hotel and suits meh (less those on business trip or the rich) cos now got Airbnb and cheaper alternatives.

I think you probably from the start not too familiar with hospitality assets... but bo bian... learn from mistake ba

if looking at reits... the core 3 types still retail, commercial, industrial... like CMT,CCT,Areit 3 piece blue chip chicken combo meal... should start from learning these 3 first as they are much easier to understand

others type of reits are harder to understand and need more experience, after you master the basic 3 then you move on to stuff like healthcare, hospitality, datacenter

Layers

if pure Japan hospitality can wack. Japan huating

Asphodeli

Respect all the shifus here in this thread ����

Decent trust, but don't put too much on it. It's a play on currency exchange rates, expat stays and tourism (now I heard they are venturing into student dorms and accom), same as Ascott. For hospitality trusts I prefer diversified ones; overly-concentrated hospitality trusts like CDL and Far East (and to a certain extent, Ascendas Hosp) are very risky.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.