recommendations on new pc

yeeehaaa

hello guys,

recently posted a thread about my desktop having problems booting up and asking for help, but after some considerations i've decided to just buy a new pc since its about 4years+ old.

can anybody recommend the parts for a diy pc? as i'm a total noob when it comes to computer stuffs and i would like to just follow the specs u guys recommend and just go to sim lim and buy it and ask them build it up lol.

i dont game very often, the games i have are like just those CS:GO, tomb raider, left for dead etc. other than that i use it for watching shows and surfing net. i do prefer to have both ssd and hdd as well and hope the pc is more than strong enough for my usage.

thanks in advance for the help and recommendations! really appreciate thank u!!!! :o

yeeehaaa

Budget?
Wifi?
Any parts you recycling like your storage drives?
Any form factor you prefer?
Any build theme?
Intel or AMD?

Sent from Overpowered Phone Mark III using GAGT

hmm not sure how much does a diy pc roughly costs nowadays? is below 1.5k enough? and i dont think im recycling anything ba. just buy everything new if not near future got parts spoil again i dont know how to fix also lol.

hmm i dont understand whats form factor , build theme and intel or AMD leh lol. sorry i'm really a total computer idiot here :/

Rashkae

1.5k is a good budget, but are you also in need of a new monitor?

singupingu

hmm not sure how much does a diy pc roughly costs nowadays? is below 1.5k enough? and i dont think im recycling anything ba. just buy everything new if not near future got parts spoil again i dont know how to fix also lol.

hmm i dont understand whats form factor , build theme and intel or AMD leh lol. sorry i'm really a total computer idiot here :/
Build can begin from as little as 600 dollars, but gaming one I'd suggest 1.2k and above.

Okay, form factor wise nvm. Build theme like, colour coordination of the parts, rgb led, or other accessories to make a theme. Most common one like red and black, full black, black and white, etc. But those are a luxury. After determine the specs then decide again also can.

Since you're not very savvy about this, I'll just go with Intel. AMD new Ryzen still facing short of stock and motherboard still have some issue have not optimize yet. Give me a moment to draft your specs.

_DeS__

CPU - INTEL i5 7500
MB - Asus B250M-A $465
RAM - 16GB DDR4 $162
SSD - 240GB $109
HDD - 1TB $72
GPU - MSI GTX1060 6GB O.C EDITION DUAL FAN $399
PSU - SF LEADEX 550W $119
CASE - TECWARE EDGE OR XIGMATEK FRONTLINER $69

Total $1395
Price quoted from PC Themes

singupingu

CPU - INTEL i5 7500
MB - Asus B250M-A $465
RAM - 16GB DDR4 $162
SSD - 240GB $109
HDD - 1TB $72

Total $1395
Thanks M8 but latest price list 240gb cheapest $119 now and SF LEADEX SILVER 550W no longer coming in according to yilong. Either get SF LEADEX SILVER 650W ($139) or get a 450W other psu. 450W is enough for i5-7500 and gtx 1060 combo. Don't worry.

MrConfused

CPU - INTEL i5 7500
MB - Asus B250M-A $465
RAM - 16GB DDR4 $162
SSD - 240GB $109
HDD - 1TB $72

Total $1395

If you do not need so much memory for your graphics card, you can get Palit GTX1060 3GB at $229 on Lazada ($160 for a $200 worth Lazada gift card that you can buy on Wogi)

hawthorne

If you do not need so much memory for your graphics card, you can get Palit GTX1060 3GB at $229 on Lazada ($160 for a $200 worth Lazada gift card that you can buy on Wogi)

3G vs 6G depends on what is ur requirement when comes to gaming. I'm using a Zotac GTX1060 6GB. Playing Ghost Recon Wildlands at "1920x1080 Very high" settings, I can see my GFX card almost reaching 3GB liao. I'm getting 60 FPS average at this setting (which I'm quite happy already, dun need to go to ultra). For games in the near future, it might burst the 3GB limit.

6GB to "future proof" for the next 1-2 years if u can afford it imho. It will be a bit sian that u need to scale down the graphics settings becos of ur GPU memory limit, despite the GPU being able to play at a higher setting

yeeehaaa

1.5k is a good budget, but are you also in need of a new monitor?

i dont need new monitor ba. my monitor still working so far lol.

Build can begin from as little as 600 dollars, but gaming one I'd suggest 1.2k and above.

Okay, form factor wise nvm. Build theme like, colour coordination of the parts, rgb led, or other accessories to make a theme. Most common one like red and black, full black, black and white, etc. But those are a luxury. After determine the specs then decide again also can.

Since you're not very savvy about this, I'll just go with Intel. AMD new Ryzen still facing short of stock and motherboard still have some issue have not optimize yet. Give me a moment to draft your specs.

hmm i dont need any fancy theme. basically performance is the main thing only. even full black casing also can. i dont really need very fancy casing unless the price difference not much lol.

3G vs 6G depends on what is ur requirement when comes to gaming. I'm using a Zotac GTX1060 6GB. Playing Ghost Recon Wildlands at "1920x1080 Very high" settings, I can see my GFX card almost reaching 3GB liao. I'm getting 60 FPS average at this setting (which I'm quite happy already, dun need to go to ultra). For games in the near future, it might burst the 3GB limit.

6GB to "future proof" for the next 1-2 years if u can afford it imho. It will be a bit sian that u need to scale down the graphics settings becos of ur GPU memory limit, despite the GPU being able to play at a higher setting

haha i dont understand what u talking because i'm an computer idiot. but i will prefer to do it 'future proof' like what u mentioned and hope the desktop have no problems in performance wise the next few years. anyway do u guys think i can still use windows 7 for the next few years? or do i need to buy new os?

CPU - INTEL i5 7500
MB - Asus B250M-A $465
RAM - 16GB DDR4 $162
SSD - 240GB $109
HDD - 1TB $72

Total $1395

thanks for the recommendations. will take note! :o

yeeehaaa

What bundles u referring to?

hmm i mean like the list u've written for me. like the brand and type for each different component that i shld buy. just hoping to see more list or recommendations because 1 of the buddy said some items on ur list are not available already so i'm not sure how also lol. :o

anyway is i5 okay enough for the next few years use? or shld i just get i7 instead? and can i continue using windows 7? or should i just buy the latest windows just to 'future proof' for the next few years? sorry if my questions are stupid.

ZrE0_Cha0s

hmm i mean like the list u've written for me. like the brand and type for each different component that i shld buy. just hoping to see more list or recommendations because 1 of the buddy said some items on ur list are not available already so i'm not sure how also lol. :o

anyway is i5 okay enough for the next few years use? or shld i just get i7 instead? and can i continue using windows 7? or should i just buy the latest windows just to 'future proof' for the next few years? sorry if my questions are stupid.

oh u mean like an alternative products of replacement in case of product unavailable or sold out?

i5 is more than enough. im on i5 SD for 6~7 years? (i think :p) i7 is just a want unless u think that u have better use on i7 by all means go get it.

and next u can dun bother about windows 7. mircosoft have done some thing to lock new pc with win10. so even if u install win7 u cant get any updates and sooner or later more programs phase out win7 as well. u still end up need to get a win 10.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.