The Watch Thread - Part 13

arctuates

Since the topic of vintage came up, here's a new acquisition.

f55def2b-54cf-4936-9a5a-709ac47fc9a6_zpsla2dik3t.jpg

gaoxing84

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y196/wongcheok/f55def2b-54cf-4936-9a5a-709ac47fc9a6_zpsla2dik3t.jpg[/IG][/QUOTE]

damnnnn, clean as hell
the case looks solid, polished or unpolished? the beveled lug still there.
the crown guard looks solid

this one probably set u back close to 20 grand?

DXMachina

I miss my urchin..

But at least have my tuna for company.

Seiko lovers = little mermaid, got so many seafood for company. :s13:

Heng Seiko bo prawn..oh wait, that's from another Japanese industry altogether. :crazy:

I'm keeping the urchin for modding purposes. Still haven't gotten around to it though!

indigo22

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y196/wongcheok/f55def2b-54cf-4936-9a5a-709ac47fc9a6_zpsla2dik3t.jpg[/IM][/QUOTE]

purely from pic, the condition is very nice sia...

Henabi

Hey bro, good that you pointed out.. so we can share and learn together!

I couldnt get better pics.. but it seems to be aging around the numerals that can be seen under a loupe.
Did a check on the lume as well looks period correct.

Its sad that this guy sold his father's watch due to his father's passing... it pains him to see the watch.. and he feels he is too big size (abt 1.9M tall ang mo) to wear a 36mm...

Story aside. I have been looking for a nice, correct and reasonably priced 1016 gilt CR. Seems too rare locally and too expensive overseas. And i always had a "fetish" for tropical dial.
So,its like a little dream fulfilled here!

Dunno why.. I cant be too happy walking into a shop and browsing catalogues.. cuz prob i have that EXPLORER in me!

Pains him but bless you... have you sent the watch back to RSC for servicing? The movement, especially the spring coil might require some new oiling.

arctuates

damnnnn, clean as hell
the case looks solid, polished or unpolished? the beveled lug still there.
the crown guard looks solid

this one probably set u back close to 20 grand?

Yep polished but retains a hint of the original chamfers. Ditto on price...

Henabi

f55def2b-54cf-4936-9a5a-709ac47fc9a6_zpsla2dik3t.jpg

I presume the watch been re-cond before... cuz the date dial is still rather white and the hands condition look really good

Which variation is yours?

razoreigns

I like vintage, just for aesthetic reasons. That's why people ghost their bezel, force patina their bronze, buy distressed ammo leather etc. just for looks. :)

Yar, I'm not saying that vintage is silly, just that I can't understand, and my logic is presented, that's all.

Because I cringed when I saw that dial. :s22: Clearly not drawn to it, not my cup of tea. Different folks different strokes. Some people like modern, some people like vintage. We all have our reasons. :)

All in a Day

Pains him but bless you... have you sent the watch back to RSC for servicing? The movement, especially the spring coil might require some new oiling.

Think no point to go RSC. If I am not wrong, they are most likely to insist changing parts (including those visible and outside of the movement) or else decline the servicing... and no vintage lover would want that (I.e. changing any externally visible parts)...

Ed.YEO

I end game liao... no more ippt!!!
ROD喽!!!
错。。。应该是RDO喽!!!
不对。。。应该是DOR喽!!!
又不对。。。应该是DRO喽!!!
还是不对。。。应该是DOR喽!!!

妈的。。。那么乱。。。MR了啦!!!=:p

gaoxing84

Think no point to go RSC. If I am not wrong, they are most likely to insist changing parts (including those visible and outside of the movement) or else decline the servicing... and no vintage lover would want that (I.e. changing any externally visible parts)...

those who dabbles with vintage, going back to RSC is equivalent to throwing their watch away LOL
U go there, specifically tell them don't change, they still change.
the tech will keep the parts and flip if they know their stuff because all these are considered written off = thrash.

to add on, 1680 have silver date wheel instead of white.

the hands and dial looks fine, doesn't look relume as its not thick and very even out.

solid piece.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.