Nintendo Switch thread - Part 2

PierceLee

Actually that rumour sounds plausible as it's just a simple storage upgrade and it is a fair concern to have seeing as how some games couldn't even fit onto the onboard 32GB. I doubt they will change the rest of the hardware so early in the life of the platform.
No, I was referring to downloaded games that are so big that they required an SD card.

Dragon Quest Heroes I & II – 32 GB
No matter how much storage they add, it's not going into hundreds of GBs or TB. Doesn't make sense for Nintendo to add storage on board when it's cheaper to just buy microSD. What they need is tools for users to manage the SD cards, maybe let them swap cards as needed, so you store a few games on one card, a few others on another card.

And definitely it needs tools for backing up saved files. A save file from NBA (5GB) is bigger than the whole game of Mario Odyssey. And worse is that save file cannot be moved, so you are stuck with that occupying on board storage.

Users need to know that when buying a Switch, it is mandatory to buy an SD card. Perhaps it will be easier if Nintendo remove the on board storage altogether :D (putting save files on SD as well).

That title is mostly a Japanese region problem because square enix hate $.
The problem is usually due to things like audio file size, pre-rendered cutscene file size. Many Switch games now contain multiple languages (instead of having diff version, selling one language only on a countries store), thus multiple audio files, which take up extra space.

And it's also a decision between compressing them or keeping them uncompressed. Compressing means the game size will be smaller, but the Switch has to do more work during loading. This is very clear in the Rayman game, which has super long loading time on Switch but zero load time on ps4/xbox. It's believed that the lengthy loading is due to the Switch having to decompress while loading. It's a double-edged sword -- take up more storage or take up more processing. Unfortunately for the Switch it is short on both. Forza can be over 100GB (due to 4k texture and such) and that's no really a problem on the xbox, but can you imagine even a typical 40GB-ish AAA game on the Switch? The Switch is doing HD/1080p, that's the sort of size it has to deal with. Do you compress the files, so a 40GB becomes 10GB on the Switch but you will have to endure long loading all the time? Or do you want to use up 40GB storage for better gameplay experience?

JAson1980

lyfnmQPlg63VMWAA.medium

Nintendo Switch’s storage is easy for Nintendo to replace and upgrade. Image credit: iFixit

Might be possible to DIY

tremor

lyfnmQPlg63VMWAA.medium

Nintendo Switch’s storage is easy for Nintendo to replace and upgrade. Image credit: iFixit

Might be possible to DIY
yea next time hoot nand storage from amazon or taobao and self upgrade. But will lose every save games.

Pyre

sian, think my 1,2-Switch cartridge is dead :(

yeah it's popular with the children and when they have friends visiting. sigh

jrwong84

Waa looks like switch is going to have a hardware upgrade soon next year. Damn! I should have buy later ! :(

Not so fast one la nintendo not like sony playstation just upgrade save electric 1006 1106 1206 slim :s22:, nintendo seldom really go upgrade home console one more on handheld like 3ds 3dsxl new 3dsxl 2011 to 2017 at least not so hardcore as sony, and the upgrade you really see is an upgrade, unlike ps4 model just change the top surface lower electric usage, switch definitely will be upgraded but it will not be 2018 might be 2019 quarter 1 ba. :s12:

jrwong84

sian, think my 1,2-Switch cartridge is dead :(

yeah it's popular with the children and when they have friends visiting. sigh

Buy 2nd hand lor very cheap la download carousell your best friend:D

tjhin

Not so fast one la nintendo not like sony playstation just upgrade save electrical 1006 1106 1206 slim :s22:, nintendo seldom really go upgrade home console one more on handheld like 3ds 3dsxl new 3dsxl 2011 to 2017 at least not so hardcore as sony, and the upgrade you really see is an upgrade, unlike ps4 model just change the top surface lower electrical usage, switch definitely will be upgraded but it will not be 2018 might may 2019 quarter 1 ba. :s12:

new Nintendo Switch and Switch XL, coming holiday 2018 :D

doki81

just preordered mario odyssey @ $58 from shopee.
use promo code MALL10.

damn..u are fast..about to share this lobang too...yesterday saw qisahn drop their price on their shop...and then check shopee...the price is 67.9..

then i check all promo that publish seem to be expired...lucky today they give new promo :D

Spectre007

The boxart shown is US version. Cancelled my Amazon order and jump ship :s13:

dude, dont trust the boxart. when i ordered splatoon 2 and mario xcom, the boxart shown was the US version. But actual product received were the PEGI version. So....order at your own risk. :vijayadmin:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.