Fresh Poly grad salary

lovespoo

Hi guys,

I just graduated this year from SP. Been doing contract jobs for the past few months.

Recently got an offer from the public sector which would give me a salary of around 2.1k.. I dunno why i so stupid when they called me to offer the job i so happy i just accept and never nego the salary.. called again the next day to nego they say too late alrdy.. jia lut :s12:

I just want to know if that is too low. They say got yearly increment but if increment 5-10%, no difference to me :( . i calculate minus CPF i like want to cry alrdy leh!!

BTW its a senior position, 'regulatory' field... Any idea to up my salary asap ?

iamveryguailan

I think public sector cannot negotiate salary one lol, depends on grade, years of relevant experience one

kiatme

public sector, lesser OT, more chance for bonus pay, pay rise also quite decent.. ok bah, take the time to take a recognized degree by singapore part time
2.1k for poly is considered quite good already given the market now if you ask me

delceer

Hi guys,

I just graduated this year from SP. Been doing contract jobs for the past few months.

Recently got an offer from the public sector which would give me a salary of around 2.1k.. I dunno why i so stupid when they called me to offer the job i so happy i just accept and never nego the salary.. called again the next day to nego they say too late alrdy.. jia lut :s12:

I just want to know if that is too low. They say got yearly increment but if increment 5-10%, no difference to me :( . i calculate minus CPF i like want to cry alrdy leh!!

BTW its a senior position, 'regulatory' field... Any idea to up my salary asap ?

Permanent job vs contract job.

ocs_woodlands

Hi guys,

Given the fact that you posted here, and that your posts are few, you are probably a sensible chap.

So I will share with you the perspective and inner workings of stat boards/CS.

1) starting salaries would have been no negotiable. Emplacement is entirely based on gender - I am sure you are a girl/foreinger cos you don't seem to have NS increments. 2.1k for fresh poly is the correct entry level pay.

2) in your first year, your default performance band is probably C+/C. That translates to about 3.5% increment. For incomplete 12 months of service this is pro-rated.

3) most ministries and tightly held stat boards have merged the polytechnic grad and degree pay ladder so THEORETICALLY your ceiling is the same as that of a degree holder. HOWEVER, if your job scope is BELOW that of a degree holder, then your salary scale cap is effectively below that of the degree holders.

4) so what can you do? Well you can and should start work at the stat board/CS. Stay for 2 years or so. Learn skills. Go on to the private sector. .

Sent from Common Sense using GAGT

havetheveryfun

Hi guys,

some local uni grads are jobless for months before being able to land a job. They ask for 2.1k also cannot get your job as they are "over-qualified".

2.1k for fresh diploma grad want to cry after deducting CPF, think those unkers in their late 30s-40s doing delivery work for $1600 before CPF with a family to work can go bedok reservoir liao

You don't like the pay, simple, just reject it and go apply for other jobs until you get something with the pay you want.

badsector

5-10% yearly increment!
promotion huh?

how much u earn/save for ur company yearly to justify it?
u ain't working for charity leh..

go on crying.... take the back seat ok!

Mr.Canberra

Haha nowadays young people have very high expectations. :s13:

Want to earn more money then better start your own business. Earning potential is unlimited. :D

wwenze

What are u guys expecting? The same pay as baby boomer generation after adjusting for inflation?

LAWL

Mr.Canberra

some local uni grads are jobless for months before being able to land a job. They ask for 2.1k also cannot get your job as they are "over-qualified".

Here is my take on the sad state of affairs in the job market. Depressed wages will be a new norm for a long time due to so called globalisation.

Want to study better go for as high an education as you can. Masters or PHD. Bachelors are too common these days.

Alternatively possessing a vocation skill will be more pragmatic as certain skill sets hardly go obsolete. Eg. Electrician, server administrator, computer assembly/repair, mechanic, hairstylist/barber, beautician, etc. Once you are a master in your trade you can easily set up your own business.

Angmoh_TuaKi

Its seldom about starting pay.

If ur resume got 3 internship or short-term working stints (contract) that is all relevant to the perm job you want, u stand a good chance.

But if ur resume is blank and no CCA, no nothing, then it's going to be difficult.

jklbnm

What kind of pay do you expect from a diploma? 5% increment?! What kind of bubble you living in?

lovespoo

Given the fact that you posted here, and that your posts are few, you are probably a sensible chap.

So I will share with you the perspective and inner workings of stat boards/CS.

1) starting salaries would have been no negotiable. Emplacement is entirely based on gender - I am sure you are a girl/foreinger cos you don't seem to have NS increments. 2.1k for fresh poly is the correct entry level pay.

2) in your first year, your default performance band is probably C+/C. That translates to about 3.5% increment. For incomplete 12 months of service this is pro-rated.

3) most ministries and tightly held stat boards have merged the polytechnic grad and degree pay ladder so THEORETICALLY your ceiling is the same as that of a degree holder. HOWEVER, if your job scope is BELOW that of a degree holder, then your salary scale cap is effectively below that of the degree holders.

4) so what can you do? Well you can and should start work at the stat board/CS. Stay for 2 years or so. Learn skills. Go on to the private sector. .

Sent from Common Sense using GAGT

thanks for the advice !

Its seldom about starting pay.

If ur resume got 3 internship or short-term working stints (contract) that is all relevant to the perm job you want, u stand a good chance.

But if ur resume is blank and no CCA, no nothing, then it's going to be difficult.

I always thought its about the starting pay ? It's better to ask for more when you're starting rather than asking for a raise later. Yeah i have about 3 months of contract work and lots of CCA and volunteering activities. Was thinking of around 2.5k starting pay, maybe thats abit much. Always thought that was the norm. :(

arigatoast

thanks for the advice !

I always thought its about the starting pay ? It's better to ask for more when you're starting rather than asking for a raise later. Yeah i have about 3 months of contract work and lots of CCA and volunteering activities. Was thinking of around 2.5k starting pay, maybe thats abit much. Always thought that was the norm. :(

TS. 2.5k? when i was looking for a job 7 years ago, employers were pressing me for 2.5k only, FYI im a NTU grad with 2nd upper hnrs.

increment of 5-10% ? may i know where u get this figures and how do u justify this ?:s11:

lovespoo

Ok wat

Urone step towards elite

Gxgx

:(

Public sector cannot be elite 1.. :o :s8:

Also why so many flamers? i just want to know cause i always thought standard starting pay is 2.5k around there. Bring home 1.6k what can i buy u tell me ? How to save? How to invest ?... Live to work, no life leh. Also need to factor in i go in straight senior position, will get alot of responsibility 1.

if increment really 3.5% idc i ask for more pay increase after 1 year. Thanks:)

arigatoast

Public sector cannot be elite 1.. :o :s8:

Also why so many flamers? i just want to know cause i always thought standard starting pay is 2.5k around there. Bring home 1.6k what can i buy u tell me ? How to save? How to invest ?... Live to work, no life leh.

if increment really 3.5% idc i ask for more pay increase after 1 year. Thanks:)

wah seems u very unhappy abt the pay sia. y not liddat, find a new job with 2.5k or even higher. it seems u r really a high flyer with midas touch

lovespoo

TS. 2.5k? when i was looking for a job 7 years ago, employers were pressing me for 2.5k only, FYI im a NTU grad with 2nd upper hnrs.

increment of 5-10% ? may i know where u get this figures and how do u justify this ?:s11:

i look for job always see 2.5k. you go see on jobstreet.

5-10% is i heard from my friend :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.