[Official] Home Automation Thread

zeroflame

Everything should be able to be controlled manually as well.

I have friends who see my home automation and after i tell them how the devices work will automatically laugh and criticise if wifi down, nothing works.
Then when i tell them if no wifi i can manually on/off my things as per normal, they will say why have a smart home then :s22:

Think they need to justify to themselves why a smarthome is unnecessary. :s13:
My wife initially also don't understand why need voice command n automation. Press button can liao lor. Till recent we have a baby. When both hands are busy with baby, a simple voice command makes her life so much easier. Even before reaching home, can switch on the air con to cool the room first or turn on the living room lights

Sent from OnePlus ONEPLUS A3010 using GAGT

shacboi

Wat appliances are managed by Harmony and Alexa?

I am trying to automate harmony and Alexa to switch cable channels
Dunno if it’s possible

i do not have a Harmony but if harmony have a tv/cable remote template and u used it to learn ur tv commands, den i think it shldnt be any issue.

For my case, im using RM pro via Alexa to switch cable channel.

blasterlord2

My wife initially also don't understand why need voice command n automation. Press button can liao lor. Till recent we have a baby. When both hands are busy with baby, a simple voice command makes her life so much easier. Even before reaching home, can switch on the air con to cool the room first or turn on the living room lights

Sent from OnePlus ONEPLUS A3010 using GAGT

This is the state of Singaporeans now. Cannot even take a bit of discomfort.

shacboi

yes, is more of a convenient-sake thingy. some days when we r on the way back from work n she wanna catch her K-Drama, now she will ask me to turn on my 'living room' profile first, so once we open the door and entered the hse, the tv is already on n showing her drama.

den when we wanan go to bed, wit a voice command the living room profile is shutdown, (used to go and off 1,2,3,4 switches manually), i tink it is a good to have feature, not mandatory but useful function.

bullfrog

I would like to know too
How to convert Fanco RF fans to zwave/zigbee/wifi and integrate with ST and Alexa

What i did was to connect wemo light switch to control my fan (not fanco but also using RF remote) . Basically just set the fan to your favourite speed and let it be. The switch just on/off (cut off / resume power) to the fan. It should start again at the speed that it was last on.

RF is next to impossible to program (unlike ir) so devices like Harmony will not work for them.

If you not sure if the fan remembers its last settings, throw the main db switch off while the ceiling fan is still running and turn it on again. If your fan starts spinning, any intelligent light switch will do.

;)

Tuakong

What i did was to connect wemo light switch to control my fan (not fanco but also using RF remote) . Basically just set the fan to your favourite speed and let it be. The switch just on/off (cut off / resume power) to the fan. It should start again at the speed that it was last on.

RF is next to impossible to program (unlike ir) so devices like Harmony will not work for them.

If you not sure if the fan remembers its last settings, throw the main db switch off while the ceiling fan is still running and turn it on again. If your fan starts spinning, any intelligent light switch will do.

;)

Is your a floor standing fan or ceiling
I use WeMo for my floor lamps n integrated with Alexa n ST
I was looking for solutions for my ceiling fans to see if the RF can b converted to Zwave/zigbee or even wifi

bullfrog

Is your a floor standing fan or ceiling
I use WeMo for my floor lamps n integrated with Alexa n ST
I was looking for solutions for my ceiling fans to see if the RF can b converted to Zwave/zigbee or even wifi

Ceiling fan. And i am using both wemo switches (bought from amazon uk) as well as wemo light switches (bought from amazon us)

XdG7S11.jpg

Tuakong

Ceiling fan. And i am using both wemo switches (bought from amazon uk) as well as wemo light switches (bought from amazon us)

XdG7S11.jpg

Can u control the fan speed?
If it’s only off/on my Alexa n ST can do it

jolintay

Hi, I will be collecting my keys for my new house soon and planning to go for home automation to keep up with smart living trend. The Interior designer I may be engaging suggested KNX Home Automation by Schneider Electric. Anyone currently using this system? I was told that this solution is more for commercial building but they are entering the residential market now and price is competitive. Does anyone knows if I should go for this or should I ask for more option?

shacboi

Came across a kickstarter smartwatch project which have siri/google/alexa on the same watch and can choose the assistants... Lik not bad leh.

Not the usual health or steps monitor smartwatch.

below referral link :s13:

kickstarter.com/projects/martianwatches/mvoice-g2-worlds-first-watch-with-voice-and-full-d?ref=bzgnre

Tuakong

Cannot. How did you get ST to send RF to turn on/off your ceiling fan?

I m using smart wall switches that are ST compatible
Can off/on RF ceiling fans but not the speed
There is now a device called RF2Wifi which is also ST compatible and is selling in Carousell for $90.
Apparently can control speed too

I doing some checks in ST community forums where they are also discussing other options

shacboi

Regarding having smart control on ceiling fans, i came across bond. Looks promising if it can be programmed to control the fan..

Seems lik a USA brand 'broadlink', looks cool.

But think doesnt support all types of templates too wit Alexa yet. Hope Broadlink and Bond can work on dat.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.