Official May 2017 SBF

Smiletoyou

How long is your wait for screeding. Mine is approved but the waiting is so long I’m thinking of getting a private screed. Actually HDB shd give come screed for opt out it’s so troublesome needing to screed $$$ & time.

I applied on 28 dec, and it's was approved a few days after and finally a contractor contacted me today. Are u doing vinyl as well? Note that hdb only do the screeding till 40mm. Will still need to top up 10mm more for vinyl.

binchotan

I applied on 28 dec, and it's was approved a few days after and finally a contractor contacted me today. Are u doing vinyl as well? Note that hdb only do the screeding till 40mm. Will still need to top up 10mm more for vinyl.

any idea if overlaying need cement screed a not

IAmZlatan

I thought they don't do cement screed anymore?

binchotan

Mind sharing what simple ritual will you do?

some simple ritual that i got from the web like fruits for the house and sprinkle with rice and salt too.

i only rem abit as the rest will be done by my hubby.

Update more when i have done with the ritual.

mssynice168

For my open door, w go Guan Yin Temple at SML to pray and get flowers in a bag and "ping an fu". W knocked 3x, say nice things, w mixed the flower w mineral water, slowly splash the wall fr entrance in clock wise direction to the other end. After the " cleanse", w "seal" the house w the "Ping An Fu". Then pour water on top of pineapple n splash different area except toilet n svc yard. Also w bring those huat cai music n also some Chinese New Year banner to put on door.

Yuppie98

Yes standard hdb screed is 40mm, I don’t think it’s necessary to screed to 50mm for Vinyl unless you want it to be leveled with all bathrooms & kitchen.

So it’s closed to a month wait, which district are you?

Yuppie98

No it’s still FOC up to 40mm when you appeal, upon approval you need to go to the branch to fill up the form for smooth floor rendering and give them the number lock, depending on your district and demand, it’ll usually take between 4 to 8 weeks, thereafter the contractor will contact you when it is your turn.
And unless you want it to be 50mm you’ll need to top up within the range of $600-$800

they do but you need to pay now, no more FOC anymore

Yuppie98

Overlaying tiles over tiles you don’t need screed.

Laying homogenous/ marble tiles over unscreed floors you don’t need screeding, these rough floorings are actually meant for homogenous tiling. Beware of contractors who insist that you need to Screed and re-screed for them to lay tiles.

Be especially careful when dealing with contractors & ID.

• Choose ID Firms that are professional

• Have been around for more than 10 years

• With proper paid-up capital and not a $1 dollar paid up Pte Ltd company.
(In case they run away with your deposit after delaying you for some time, or force you to top-up for no reason mid-way during your reno claiming they miscalculated or market rate gone up after achieving your commitment with low price attraction otherwise they’ll abandon your job).

• Choose a company with more than 20 good reviews.

• Choose a company that’ll give you proper warranty minimum 30 months for workmanship & material.

• A contractor’s price should always be lower than ID firm by min. 30%

any idea if overlaying need cement screed a not

Smiletoyou

Yes standard hdb screed is 40mm, I don’t think it’s necessary to screed to 50mm for Vinyl unless you want it to be leveled with all bathrooms & kitchen.

So it’s closed to a month wait, which district are you?

Haha yah yah. I wanted it to be levelled therefore decided to top up the 10mm.
I taking cck, finally things are moving after near one month.

binchotan

No it’s still FOC up to 40mm when you appeal, upon approval you need to go to the branch to fill up the form for smooth floor rendering and give them the number lock, depending on your district and demand, it’ll usually take between 4 to 8 weeks, thereafter the contractor will contact you when it is your turn.
And unless you want it to be 50mm you’ll need to top up within the range of $600-$800

oic, thanks for the clarification. btw your unit does not comes with floor tiles?

binchotan

Overlaying tiles over tiles you don’t need screed.

Laying homogenous/ marble tiles over unscreed floors you don’t need screeding, these rough floorings are actually meant for homogenous tiling. Beware of contractors who insist that you need to Screed and re-screed for them to lay tiles.

Be especially careful when dealing with contractors & ID.

• Choose ID Firms that are professional

• Have been around for more than 10 years

• With proper paid-up capital and not a $1 dollar paid up Pte Ltd company.
(In case they run away with your deposit after delaying you for some time, or force you to top-up for no reason mid-way during your reno claiming they miscalculated or market rate gone up after achieving your commitment with low price attraction otherwise they’ll abandon your job).

• Choose a company with more than 20 good reviews.

• Choose a company that’ll give you proper warranty minimum 30 months for workmanship & material.

• A contractor’s price should always be lower than ID firm by min. 30%

think im gg to look for contractor instead as ID charges high price. will buy stuff from tabao then get contractor to fix. if you wan to tag along also can since we are staying in the same area :) intend to overlay with vinyl if i dun like the existing floor tiles after i have seen them. thinking to diy the tiles on our own since no screed is required, save cost....heehee

binchotan

anyone have any idea why there are people who will said that is not advisable to install ceiling fan in the master bedroom

Mindyminty

think im gg to look for contractor instead as ID charges high price. will buy stuff from tabao then get contractor to fix. if you wan to tag along also can since we are staying in the same area :) intend to overlay with vinyl if i dun like the existing floor tiles after i have seen them. thinking to diy the tiles on our own since no screed is required, save cost....heehee

Which contractor you are looking at?

My unit come with tiles. If I dont like the tiles, do I need to do hacking or what method to change the tiles of it?

STOPBANNINGME

anyone have any idea why there are people who will said that is not advisable to install ceiling fan in the master bedroom

Some said according to feng shui, its not good to have the fan on top of you. You will feel pressurized or something like that. And for safety precautions, dont take ceiling fans that are too low as nowadays the ceiling of all hdbs are lower than before. But i think its up to individual. Im getting ceiling fans for my whole house, meaning living room, dining area and all bedrooms. Haha. I dun like the idea of having standing/wall fans. Take up space too. And ceiling fan are so much cooler than those.

hweephing84

Anyone know If we pray for 土地公 on the day of house opening ritual, we have to put joss stick, candle, huat kueh, fruits facing main door? Which mean we face to the main door n pray for the god? Need to know the correct direction of praying. After praying ceremony, can we proceed to defects check immediately? Or have to wait another day.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.