Chiropractor vs TCM

maxieb

Nowadays the chiro this word very trendy and easy to come by even shop under hdb flat also got put big signage of it
Wondering where they study from
I think better do some research then commit else very waste of money and effort

eyz

i think there's anything wrong with the chiro selling the package, because you still can choose to pay for single session if you want.

instead, he was offering a discount in the event you want to take up more session.

like lemon said, if the problem hasn't been with you for very long, 1 or 2 session will usually suffice.

but if the misaligned vertebrae has there for quite a while, it would take a while for the surrounding muscle to adjust to it, and the tendency for it to pop back to the misaligned position is also quite high, hence more session.

a good tcm will also be able to alleviate your spinal, neck and shoulder. and some will look at your x ray if you can provide them.

Peony牡丹

Hi guys!

Just checking, my hubby got this aching in his right shoulder until his entire arm will go painfully numb. We suspect pinched nerve.

No point seeing GP coz all they give is painkiller which doesn't helps with the numbness.

See Tuina or chiro better ah?

Mr Enigma

Peony牡丹;101950631 said:
Hi guys!

Just checking, my hubby got this aching in his right shoulder until his entire arm will go painfully numb. We suspect pinched nerve.

No point seeing GP coz all they give is painkiller which doesn't helps with the numbness.

Tuina or other therapists who perform deep tissue massage. The massage treatment to reduce tension and knots in the surrounding muscles around the shoulder, and thereafter to perform stretches to lengthen the muscles.

goh6570

Peony牡丹;101950631 said:
Hi guys!

hi Peony, your hubby managed to get it treated? i do have shoulder pain as well, maybe due to using too much computer :D:s13:

LVGaal

tuina or thai massage for relief of stiff muscle tension

chiropractice more of re-alignment of the joints that affect the nerves and causes pain

ling061819

I have tried both tcm and chiro.
tcm so far mainly for my ankle sprains.
chiro I have used for my shoulder and back problems and recently pinch-nerve problem which is really bad but it was fixed by my chiro.
so I believe both have their merits if you get good o

vvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv

SGS11111

Hi all,

I am advised to get my answers here...
Please kindly share your personal experience, views and recommendations over Chiropractor or TCM. My left neck and shoulder are very tight and causes me to be very uncomfortable. Leads to headache as well. Currently i looking for treatments.

Any recommendations, advice and recommendation are appreciated.

I went to NovaHealth TCM at one raffles place using their facebook e-voucher. Very modern design and interesting experience. The tuina is very gd and acupuncture is actually not painful..
I personally don't like spinal manipulation unless it is really necessary..so normally I just go to TCM first instead of chiro:)

liquidh

I recommend Dr Hu from Tangshan TCM at City Square Mall. She is really good with accupunture and medicine. I was really skeptical but I feel so much better after 3-4 sessions. Now on my 5th session, hoping to be completely healed from my problem.

Peony牡丹;101950631 said:
Hi guys!

iminyourhouse

Not sure whether TS managed to solve his neck/shoulder pain, but I was recommended to a Chinese physician who ONLY works on the neck and back.

I decided to visit him this morning, as I injured my shoulder after some bad golf. When I was there, I was surprised to see quite a no. of our fellow Malay countryman/woman sitting in the waiting room. There is no reception, just only a booklet of foolscap paper for you to write your name for the queue.

When it was my turn, I went into the consultation and Mr. Lee declared he only knows how to 'push' the neck and back, as most of our body pain are caused by these two mparts of our body. He first diagnose my lower back by pressing the spine and measuring the length of my both feet to see whether there is any misalignment. He then procced to twist the body.

He then went to work on my upper spine by press it. Some parts ache when he press hard on it, it was then he claimed that the vertebrae was misaligned. He then give my neck and back a good crack, and my shoulder ache was gone immediately.

I must say he is good at what he does and the fee is cheap, as compared to other TCM, who normally charge 50$. Though the time he spent on you is really very short, what matter most it is effective. The physician speaks English, so anyone who can't speak Mandarin well, can consider looking for him.

Attached is his business card with address. Do note that his clinic is closed on Tue, Thurs and Sun.

Hey eyz, was wondering if you still have the contact info for the physician?

eyz

hi, I don't go to him anymore.

these are my 2 regular.

Sian Chay

692 Geylang Road

Huang Mei Fa

$8

or

bedok 84 bedok north street 4 #01-35.

opened on Mon, Wed, Fri and Sat.

Lee meng liang

$30

thechangedone

Hi all,

I am having some issues since few years ago and now it seems to be more frequent than before.

Initially was just pain in my butt and sometimes have some aching pain in my legs, i was unable to walk properly and now, even when i turn while sleeping, it is causing me some pain.

Sometimes my leg will lose the strength to sustain my body weight due to the pain.

Initial suspicion was due to Scatia or Periformis . Didnt continue to get xray scan because its too expensive for me.

Any advise out there? Want to try chiro but seems to be very expensive.

rarenick

Are u talking about ct scan or mri scan? X-ray is so affordable. Chiro is expensive. They will also ask u go maybe mri scan as well. I suggest u go polyclinic get a referral to govt hospital or physiotherapy. Chiro also has malpractice fyi

Sent from Samsung SM-G930F using GAGT

thechangedone

MRI scan. Yes, polyclinic referred me to CGH sports dept and i was told i needed to be scanned for 3 parts, my hip area, lower body and legs etc . I was quoted about 2K plus.

Even before treatment have to spent a bomb liao. Looking for alternative ways....

rarenick

MRI scan. Yes, polyclinic referred me to CGH sports dept and i was told i needed to be scanned for 3 parts, my hip area, lower body and legs etc . I was quoted about 2K plus.

Even before treatment have to spent a bomb liao. Looking for alternative ways....
Normally mri shouldn't be compulsory for physio. Can ask them possible to use just xray then go physio? I think they over zealous n too kiasi, thinking everyone can afford. By the way if u go chiro, u will pay thru your nose for all the scans n treatment. Definitely more ex than physio which may treat u as well. Btw i hear your condition like not very serious.

Sent from Samsung SM-G930F using GAGT

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.