Xiaomi Redmi Note 3

molecule

More importantly the firmware must be efficient and optimised. And up to date security patches. I have Samsung and LG that upgraded to later versions of Android but so laggy and buggy it's terrible! And they certainly provide new ROM once in a blue moon.

On the converse side, Amazon Kindle Fire runs Android 5.1 but it's so well optimised that it runs well on relatively poor chips/mem and security patches are always updated. Shows what good sw optimisation can do.

grapewall

My mi 2 bought in 2012 is still supported. I still get software updated.. until only recently when they announced that due to low user ship, they have to channel their resources to newer phones. I have nothing much to ask for. It's indeed old and few people are still using it.

carboy00

Well I'm happy enough for what I paid. Usability and performance as a phone is most important. Anyway all of us will upgrade one day. Be fair lah, pay economy want to sit in first class meh? :D

Okay lah I admit my post a bit harsh haha. But was expecting at least a Nougat update and I admit the various updates to the newer versions of MIUI do bring useful new feature to the experience. Peace. :s22:

FinalTidus

Very pleasantly surprised to see Xiaomi still updated my Note 3 phone to MIUI 9.5.2 this morning.

For me is I would prefer a very optimised older version of Android than a bloated newer version of Android.

I don't think newer versions of Android give more useful features liao.

Tell me what does Nougat and Oreo have that Marshmallow doesn't have and it's something useful for a daily driver? I cannot think of anything significant. :)

Maybe I am too old liao to keep myself updated with Android nowadays since the days of Gingerbread and Jellybean days. For me now battery life and capacity, speed, performance and responsiveness of apps and very optimised overall performance still reigns top of my priority in a phone. The rest are not important at all

Hailgod

split screen can be useful at times. other than that its mostly optimizations that we cant see.

lonestar86

wonder if i shld upgrade my 2 year old note 3 to the latest note 5..

FinalTidus

wonder if i shld upgrade my 2 year old note 3 to the latest note 5..
Not really...

The Note 5 is not much faster than the Note 3. The only visible upgrade is the slightly better camera, the screen size and resolution, and a newer version of Android.

That's it. I am sticking to my Note 3 for easily another 1 year plus to 2 years.

The Xiaomi Note series seems to have stagnated after Note 3. :(

KeYoKe

my redmi note 3 charging port just up lorry 1 month ago. Power/Lock screen button is not responsive too. ordered spare parts with a new battery from ali express and replace all of them. phone is as good as new :s13:

windwaver

my redmi note 3 charging port just up lorry 1 month ago. Power/Lock screen button is not responsive too. ordered spare parts with a new battery from ali express and replace all of them. phone is as good as new :s13:

Wow, how much all that parts cost in total?

lonestar86

sama sama my power/lock screen button also up lorry liao. can only use fingerprint to unlock phone and software key to lock screen. don't think i will fix it. my phone's body also kena a lot of scratches cus i am using it without any cover. :s7:

Not really...

The Note 5 is not much faster than the Note 3. The only visible upgrade is the slightly better camera, the screen size and resolution, and a newer version of Android.

That's it. I am sticking to my Note 3 for easily another 1 year plus to 2 years.

The Xiaomi Note series seems to have stagnated after Note 3. :(

u r probably rite. my note 3 is still very snappy and hardly any lag but power/lock screen button up lorry. if my fingerprint sensor also up lorry then it is time to change a phone :s13:

KeYoKe

Wow, how much all that parts cost in total?
20 dollars with shipping lol
sama sama my power/lock screen button also up lorry liao. can only use fingerprint to unlock phone and software key to lock screen. don't think i will fix it. my phone's body also kena a lot of scratches cus i am using it without any cover. :s7:

u r probably rite. my note 3 is still very snappy and hardly any lag but power/lock screen button up lorry. if my fingerprint sensor also up lorry then it is time to change a phone :s13:
Mine still mint condition and well taken care off. When the phone is handed over to me from my sis, the power button not responsive already. So i rooted it to flash custom rom for the double tap home button feature to lock screen. Then the usb charging port spoils, then i just order everything at one shot and replace all at one go lol

windwaver

20 dollars with shipping lol

Mine still mint condition and well taken care off. When the phone is handed over to me from my sis, the power button not responsive already. So i rooted it to flash custom rom for the double tap home button feature to lock screen. Then the usb charging port spoils, then i just order everything at one shot and replace all at one go lol

Hey bro, you need any electronic background to do that? So just pry open the casing and put everything back (with the good parts of course)?

KeYoKe

I see, I''m just worried about the average double side tape not being heat resistance enough.

should be fine from what i see. after you close the back cover, the battery dont really move around too much even without double sided tape

ceestudent

Hey bro, you need any electronic background to do that? So just pry open the casing and put everything back (with the good parts of course)?
Careful when you replace the flex cable for power button, the connector to the board is quite small and fragile. I broke mine and end up unable to use power + volume button permanently. So my phone always on and just scheduled on off every few days.
Replacing battery quite easy though

Sent from Xiaomi REDMI NOTE 3 using GAGT

windwaver

should be fine from what i see. after you close the back cover, the battery dont really move around too much even without double sided tape

Yeah precisely, that's why I was thinking of doing away with the tape to avoid a over heat issue since the battery looks pretty secure in that tiny space.

Starbutt

I have a note 3 with lcd cracked. Checked AliExpress and seems like there are 2 modela available for lcd replacement. How do I tell if my set is note 3 or note 3 pro?

Is it difficult to replace diy? I think most repair shop charging $80-90 for replacement.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.