Volvo Review - Most unrealiable & most problematic car I ever owned

Dolphin

Speaking as a Volvo owner, a S60 T4, the car has been extremely unreliable. Nightmare driving it. Fully maintained by sole agent but yet all the following failures.

My car in the 4th year, had a major engine breakdown & needed replacement. Before that, there were cases of engine oil leaks, changes of gaskets etc.

After the engine was replaced, immediately, the clutch totally failed and needed total replacement.

And shortly after, the gearbox failed and needed total replacement, all within a short 1.5 years!

Basically, I went back to sole agent around 10 times and the longest that I have to leave the car there is around One to one and half months.

It was a nightmare, totally painful.

My patience has finally run out.

New Eden

my observation is that outside specialised mechanics are more skilled. Cost also more competitive.

Maybe you should seek other workshops advice.

AL5509

Sorry to hear this, COE been dropping, for sure lower than what it was 4 years ago.

Consider to change another ride?

And may knowing what other car make&model you driven before?

EJB

This is the reason I don't go back to AD unless there's warranty claims.

Going back there can puke blood.

Dolphin

This is the reason I don't go back to AD unless there's warranty claims.

Going back there can puke blood.
Agree... I reported when the problem is small in each case. EG: Clanging sounds in the engine. Jerks and sounds in the gearbox etc etc..

But their workshop just couldn’t detect it & I have to continue driving... Until the problem blows up in total failure, and a full replacement is required each time... Well, they always said they did their best... and the testing tools they have just couldn’t detect the problems...

Dolphin

Sorry to hear this, COE been dropping, for sure lower than what it was 4 years ago.

Consider to change another ride?

And may knowing what other car make&model you driven before?
Yes, but the resale value is so low, and killing the car may not be worth it at this point...

But will Scrap it at the appropriate time... hope no more failures for now... :(

AL5509

Yes, but the resale value is so low, and killing the car may not be worth it at this point...

But will Scrap it at the appropriate time... hope no more failures for now... :(
Given your title, you should too know Volvo is never on demand hence no value.

How much was the COE then when bought?

mccmmm

Speaking as a Volvo owner, a S60 T4, the car has been extremely unreliable. Nightmare driving it. Fully maintained by sole agent but yet all the following failures.

My car in the 4th year, had a major engine breakdown & needed replacement. Before that, there were cases of engine oil leaks, changes of gaskets etc.

After the engine was replaced, immediately, the clutch totally failed and needed total replacement.

And shortly after, the gearbox failed and needed total replacement, all within a short 1.5 years!

Basically, I went back to sole agent around 10 times and the longest that I have to leave the car there is around One to one and half months.

It was a nightmare, totally painful.

My patience has finally run out.

User problems .

winningeleven

Next car can consider Japanese brand/made ? Feel and comfort are not there compared to conti but then is more reliable.

EJB

Actually jap or Conti its when you kena the problematic set, it’s just sh1t all the way.

When you kena the no problem set... you Heng Heng until scrap.

IcYFl4mEz

True , ive heard of civic/vezel those kanna lemon, also alot issue.
Got fren drove roc 1.4 4yrs smooth no big issue.

Dolphin

I have owned many cars before. None has any problems...

One thing is clear, I will never purchase a Volvo ever again.

fr3kaz0iD

Wah bro u today post everywhere about the Volvo thing hor. MCF forum also u posted many times.

Anyway nothing against you la. Car sometimes really Heng suay. Hope all good for u now after the repairs

trento

Clutch failure is normal. It’s wear n tear like brakes. Same for gearbox. Oil leak is ok if minor. My car leak many years liao. I just top up. Only issue is landed property friends get upset whenever i park inside.

I drive an alfa. 9 years of ownership. Yr volvo sounds pretty reliable to me.

trento

Jap autogear don’t die at 100k one

Actually jap or Conti its when you kena the problematic set, it’s just sh1t all the way.

When you kena the no problem set... you Heng Heng until scrap.

Dolphin

Clutch failure is normal. It’s wear n tear like brakes. Same for gearbox. Oil leak is ok if minor. My car leak many years liao. I just top up. Only issue is landed property friends get upset whenever i park inside.

Engine failure, clutch failure, gearbox failure sounds pretty reliable to you? LOL...

mel1888

Time to change to Guila. :)

Beepok

may i ask why u buy volvo in the first place? is it want to be out of the ordinary and trying to do something funny?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.