[OFFICIAL] Taiwan Guide and Taiwan related matters - Part 8

calkel20

Is 阜杭豆漿 really that nice?

I like soya bean drink (with little / without sugar though) and only tried the 烧饼 in SG (the geylang branch).

The 烧饼+egg+you tiao together really nice eh? Like carbo + carbo to me (reads SINFUL leh).

Quite tasteless if you ask me.

calkel20

Dear all gurus

Any night markets worth visiting in Taipei?

I have been to the followings NM so wanna check any other NM worth visiting for my next trip:

- Shilin (briefly only, not to the basement)
- Danshui
- Shi Da
- Tong Hua (aka 临江街夜市)
- Raohe
- Hua Xi

Already been to Jiufen and Miao Kou too.

Will be going Ningxia for my next trip but i have 2 nights in Taipei, so wondering what to do.

TIA!

I suggest you take a ride up to 文化大学。
Then book a nice spot for dinner.
It should be quite a good experience.

twosix

Tell me more please.

How about Gong Guam NM?

Gong Guan is good. It is made up of several streets. There is also a building with many stalls. A lot of people queue for those stalls, so I guess they are good.

renai24

Hello guys, I am travelling to Taiwan end Oct'18 and made up an itinerary for my family (4 adults). Would appreciate to hear your feedbacks :)

Day 1
Arrival to Taipei 12pm
Ximending area
Shihlin night market
Hotel: Taipei H

Day 2
Morning TRA to Hualien (Arrival 9am)
Engage taxi for Taroko tour incl:
Qixing beach, Qingshui Cliff, Shakadang trail, Eternal Spring Shine, Swallow Grotto
Check in B&B
B&B: Echo villa (TBC)

Day 3
Engange driver from Hualien -> Hehuanshan -> Cingqing
On the way, Wuling Viewing Platform
Check in B&B
Afternoon tea at Old England Manor
B&B: Julie's Garden

Day 4
Green Green Grassland
Small Swiss Garden
Engange driver to Tai Chung
Train from Tai Chung to Taipei

Day 5
One day tour to Jiufen/Shifen using Klook

Day 6
Day trip to Beitou
8pm flight back to Singapore

KingOfSbw

Wah alishan ****ou hotel so fast sold out on my Oct trip le...today 1st day bookin on Sat somemore sian
Another other recommended hotel?
We need 2 x 4 rooms

Sent from Samsung SM-G965F using GAGT

Andrew833

Wah alishan ****ou hotel so fast sold out on my Oct trip le...today 1st day bookin on Sat somemore sian
Another other recommended hotel?
We need 2 x 4 rooms

Cingjing and Alishan have to book early lol, some kiasu book 6 mths before :D

Andrew833

Hello guys, I am travelling to Taiwan end Oct'18 and made up an itinerary for my family (4 adults). Would appreciate to hear your feedbacks :)

Day 1
Arrival to Taipei 12pm
Ximending area
Shihlin night market

Day 2
Morning TRA to Hualien (Arrival 9am)
Engage taxi for Taroko tour incl:
Qixing beach, Qingshui Cliff, Shakadang trail, Eternal Spring Shine, Swallow Grotto
Check in B&B
B&B: Echo villa (TBC)

Day 3
Engange driver from Hualien -> Hehuanshan -> Cingqing
On the way, Wuling Viewing Platform
Check in B&B
Afternoon tea at Old England Manor
B&B: Julie's Garden

Day 4
Green Green Grassland
Small Swiss Garden
Engange driver to Tai Chung
Train from Tai Chung to Taipei

Day 5
One day tour to Jiufen/Shifen using Klook

Day 6
Day trip to Beitou
8pm flight back to Singapore

Day 4 - Green Green Grassland
Sky walk (next to GG grassland)
Small Swiss Garden/ carton king

Your itinerary very well plan.

sevensomerset

imo check in/out hotel take up few hrs of the day
chk in 3pm, chk out 12pm,
between 12-3, u probably u’ll lugging luggages around, travel between hotels, by the time settle down ~3pm riao :s22:

KingOfSbw

Cingjing and Alishan have to book early lol, some kiasu book 6 mths before :D
Hiyo but ****ou only opened up 2 mths in advance nia
I emailed them liao heng still have 2 rooms lol
Plan remain unchanged

koreanlover

Anybody knows what are the 发票 for?
Can get money from them?

Got one uncle asked for it when I was at 豪大大鸡排 yesterday.

twosix

I know but why got uncle asking for it?

I went to 阿宗面线 just now and there was a box asking you to donate your 发票。

Customers can participate in lucky draw, like big sweep. it is an incentive to for customers to insists the vendor to issue receipts. Receipts can help to ensure vendors do not try to evade tax.

If someone does not want the receipt, eg. tourists, can drop the receipt into the box. The winning will be donated to the charities.

Andrew833

I know but why got uncle asking for it?

I went to 阿宗面线 just now and there was a box asking you to donate your 发票。

Just like twosix said, receipt donation mean you donate your prize money to whichever charity

koreanlover

Customers can participate in lucky draw, like big sweep. it is an incentive to for customers to insists the vendor to issue receipts. Receipts can help to ensure vendors do not try to evade tax.

If someone does not want the receipt, eg. tourists, can drop the receipt into the box. The winning will be donated to the charities.

Oh for lucky draw.
OK thanks.

deepblue_82

How to check for winnings ?

deepblue_82

I am going for Taiwan from 30 to 14th in December for ks countdown. Anywhere else to go for countdown beside dream mall?

We_Generation

I suggest you take a ride up to 文化大学。
Then book a nice spot for dinner.
It should be quite a good experience.
Any recommendation of a good spot for dinner over there? Thinking of bring my gf to have a good dinner haha. Thanks everyone for your advise!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.