Usd old version.. what can i do with it?

GenerationX

Just found that i change usd a few years back to keep. Now i wan deposit i was told its old version n bank dun take. What can i do with it? Money changer will take bo?

Perisher

Just found that i change usd a few years back to keep. Now i wan deposit i was told its old version n bank dun take. What can i do with it? Money changer will take bo?

Few years ago and it's old? I dunno but I think it still can be used in US. If money exchange don't work, try exchanging with anyone you know that is going US?

BBCWatcher

The easiest answer is to spend your U.S. dollars on your next trip to the United States. Currency that's even several decades old is easily spendable there (on consumer goods and services in reasonable quantities) since it's still legal tender and widely accepted.

Outside the United States there are parties that are reluctant to accept currency notes of particular vintages, as you've discovered. They're fussier about bill condition and age.

If it's fairly old or older currency it might have numismatic value.

koja6049

must be the 100 dollar bills, newer versions have added security. Old versions have alot of counterfeit, and usually stores in US run them through a machine to check

BBCWatcher

Old versions have alot of counterfeit, and usually stores in US run them through a machine to check
True, but if they're not counterfeit then no problem. If they are counterfeit then we can't help.

It's not just the $100 bills, though. Outside the United States lots of people, banks, money changers, etc. are much fussier about bill vintage and condition, across denominations, than they are inside the United States. It's understandable. They don't have cash accepting U.S. banks and ATMs easily available, so they have higher demands.

Next time, don't get as much (or any) cash.

GenerationX

True, but if they're not counterfeit then no problem. If they are counterfeit then we can't help.

It's not just the $100 bills, though. Outside the United States lots of people, banks, money changers, etc. are much fussier about bill vintage and condition, across denominations, than they are inside the United States. It's understandable. They don't have cash accepting U.S. banks and ATMs easily available, so they have higher demands.

Next time, don't get as much (or any) cash.

ok.... sian.. lucky i finally decided to use
lol. if not wait a few more yrs later all cannot use sia.

GenerationX

forgot to update. Last week i change to money changer and have to accept a super sux rate. (board showing 1.391 but im only given 1.3. But ok la at least i still got back 130SGD and no need go around asking if taking the USD note..

sAVaGEmP5

ok wat u transfer the risk of ur old USD notes to the money changer with 9 dollars. Not bad. Now they have a problem to sell ur old USD notes haha

iperiodic

forgot to update. Last week i change to money changer and have to accept a super sux rate. (board showing 1.391 but im only given 1.3. But ok la at least i still got back 130SGD and no need go around asking if taking the USD note..

Sadly I didn't see your post at all. I'm a cabin crew and Icould have gotten the USD off your hands for the exact conversion rate offline to help you out. Haha.

Tloslm

ts is this the note you talking ?

http://en.dailypakistan.com.pk/wp-content/uploads/2016/06/news-1467114086-4000_large.jpg

WWH123

Used a have a few Traveller's Cheques denominated in USD.
No one in SG accepts or even heard of them.
Finally found a way.
Went to BKK and cash them.
Happy with the rate.
Commission SDG6 per piece (USD1000).

henrylbh

I have about USD2,000 under my mattress since the last trip in year 2000 :s13: That time exchange rate :s22:

bjory

I have about USD2,000 under my mattress since the last trip in year 2000 :s13: That time exchange rate :s22:

Can this old note still can use in US?
Money_Banknotes_Dollars_266809.jpg

henrylbh

My series 1995 got 3 different faces. Fake or just different denominations?

USD_1995.jpg

BBCWatcher

All genuine currency issued by the Government of the United States of America since its founding in the late 1700s is still legal tender. That means, at a minimum, the U.S. Treasury will accept it. Even if damaged, and at no additional charge. There has never been a "demonetization" of U.S. currency. No matter what its age, your genuine U.S. currency still has at least full face value somewhere, at least inside the United States.

Particularly old U.S. currency often has numismatic value, above its face value.

The currency that the Confederate States of America (C.S.A.) issued from 1861 to 1865 is not legal tender. Also, some states and the Continental Congress issued currency before the formation of the U.S. government. That currency is no longer legal tender. In all these cases currency collectors might have interest.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.