PE Board (professional engineer)

MatsuoMasaya

Not well prepared enough. Not sure if will pass.

Topics on motors, magnetic circuits, transformer equivalent circuits i never pay too much attention during revision, but was in exam.

Other questions like 3 ph fault, unsymmetrical fault, electrical installation design, switchboard testing, cable sizing, breaker coordination plug setting, per unit fault calculations, generator droop, load freq control, transformer protections, tap settings etc are related to my job but the detailed calculations i didnt revise.

Unless i miraculously pass. :(

Any one here took also?

Sent from Your Favourite Non-Biting Talking Pillow using GAGT

Took the exam yesterday.

Totally unprepared for some basic ckt analysis in part 1.

I am shocked that so many fault analysis and protection ckt came out in part 2. Load demand and selection on ckt breakers not well prepared so did not attempt and no time for such a lenghty question.

mypillowtalks

Took the exam yesterday.

Totally unprepared for some basic ckt analysis in part 1.

I am shocked that so many fault analysis and protection ckt came out in part 2. Load demand and selection on ckt breakers not well prepared so did not attempt and no time for such a lenghty question.
Yea. I skipped those basic ckt analysis qn and move onto questions that i know.

Part 2 i did qn 1 on load freq control, generator droop.

Then qn 6 on transformer 0 sequence circuit and differential protection.

Then qn 5 on electrical installation design for a building and cable voltage drop and the main switchboard testing procedure.

Then qn 7 on breaker discrimination timing

And another qn i forgot which.

mypillowtalks

so many thing sia. how long is the paper?

Posted from PCWX using SM-G955F

The fundamental exam is split into 2 papers.

1st paper is 3 hours and 10 mins.
Then break for lunch
2nd paper is also 3 hours and 10 mins.
Total is about 6.5 hours of exam lor.

Took 1 day exam leave from work. After exam brain drain.

cherryblossoms

The fundamental exam is split into 2 papers.

1st paper is 3 hours and 10 mins.
Then break for lunch
2nd paper is also 3 hours and 10 mins.
Total is about 6.5 hours of exam lor.

Took 1 day exam leave from work. After exam brain drain.

wa.... must study hard for those modules liao. power electronic question weightage alot anot??

starjone

wa.... must study hard for those modules liao. power electronic question weightage alot anot??

Only a few questions (probably 2 or 3?) out of 40 MCQs are related to power electronics in part 1 of the exam. For part 2 exam, 0 out of 7 questions are related to power electronics. With so many power electronics equipment used in real world but only very minimal questions related to it, I guess the person set the questions probably not from power electronics background lol.

starjone

Not well prepared enough. Not sure if will pass.

Topics on motors, magnetic circuits, transformer equivalent circuits i never pay too much attention during revision, but was in exam.

Other questions like 3 ph fault, unsymmetrical fault, electrical installation design, switchboard testing, cable sizing, breaker coordination plug setting, per unit fault calculations, generator droop, load freq control, transformer protections, tap settings etc are related to my job but the detailed calculations i didnt revise.

Unless i miraculously pass. :(

Any one here took also?

I am actually a bit surprised part 2 of the questions as feels like it is probably easier than part 1. I think those graduated from NTU probably find part 2 questions easier as most of the questions are from NTU undergraduate notes. I graduated from NUS but luckily my friend lent me her notes from NTU to study prior to exam.

Btw, is part 1 MCQs question 2 and 3 quite hard or I am just dumb? Spend quite some time on these 2 MCQs that is probably better to spend on other questions. Question 3 asks us to assume frequency is 50Hz but also given w (omega) = 200. Isn't this info contradict?

mypillowtalks

I had seen about 3 or 4 mcq questions on power electronics in fee paper 1.

The one that i have memory on is the power converter for solar panel. The output is 5V but battery is 12V. So i guess it is hinting on a boost converter.

Other qn is on vvvf motor driver. I didnt learn much on vvvf

Then calculate the cycle.

Paper 2 no power electronics. The syllabus got write the topics tested in paper 1 and 2. Paper 2 is more on the electrical power systems.

VDragoon

Anybody got tips on the interview ... what Is the passing rate and how to pass it thanks

There will be 3 interviewers with the chief interviewer sitting at the middle.
The interviewer are usually experienced PE and academician.
The passing rate is undisclosed but my take is it is high at probably >50%.

To me, the interview is to assess your personality, confidence, decision making, problem solving, site experience and some technical skills. They may throw you any question from the submitted PE report, past projects that you've listed in the track record, or even any situation that they want to assess you at.

Some of the question that I've encountered are:
"Since you have experience in XXXX project, what if the scenario today is XXXXX, what will you do?"
"Since you have proposed this method of remedial / construction, what if it do not work as expected, and the wall moved 200mm?"
"Please elaborate the framework / work flow of your remedial work to ensure that it can really solve the problem"
"Your proposal of construction / remedial is costly, how do you justify this to the owner? Isn't XXX (Method B) a better proposal, why don't you use it?"
"Your proposal will NOT solve the issue! You have never considered XXXX, XXXX, XXXX. How can you propose something like this?! You sure this will not jeopardize public safety?"
"Do you know how difficult it is for your proposal to be executed on site? Have you actually went down to site and see how they do the work How u are going to ensure the quality of work on site?

It is not uncommon that one of the interviewer to be extremely aggressive and will question each and every answer that you've given. The engineering instinct are best tested under stressed situation.

My final word is you need to brush out your decision making and judgmental skill. For every decision / word that you've spoken, you must have your judgement. Usually there is no right / wrong decision, it is the amount of information / knowledge that you have in hand that is affecting your judgement and decision.

All the best.

mypillowtalks

Hi all

FEE results are out. Some of my friend said they received the mail in their letter box.

monky91

Hey guys, I will be taking PPE this year.

Can any sifu share with me some of the question that you encounter which specifically I need to focus?

If you are kind to share with me some of the notes or written points, that will be great also.

Thanks.

KirinFrost

grats to all who passed :)

mypillowtalks got a pass degree nia right?

proof that you shouldnt get disheartened by crap grades cause who knows what the future will hold if you continue to work hard huat ah:s12::s12:

cherryblossoms

grats to all who passed

mypillowtalks got a pass degree nia right?

proof that you shouldnt get disheartened by crap grades cause who knows what the future will hold if you continue to work hard huat ah

:)

:s12:

:s12:

heng ah. i most probably will get a pass deg only. everything just pass only hahaha. grats to those who passed!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.