BEAR MARKET LAI LIAO LAH !

hachi

I have exactly the same sentiments... bought too early during the downturn and got burnt, not scared and wanted to average down but don't have much bullets to average down.

https://stocks.cafe/user/profile?username=madtari

But now since my income has risen substantially, I managed to start investing whenever there's a good opportunity (cos I believe time in market is better than timing the market) and yet being able to save up a warchest in anticipation of the big crash. Ya, a part of me is still trying to time the market...
cos I don't believe/dare to remain fully invested at all times.
Hahaha I think there are also a group of people in the FD thread lurking around preparing the war Crest when times come. Those people have large funds moving around diff platforms which can liquid within short time and pour into the market.
Those who learned during 2009 saved their hard earned money and waited patiently...

DukeCS33

Hahaha I think there are also a group of people in the FD thread lurking around preparing the war Crest when times come. Those people have large funds moving around diff platforms which can liquid within short time and pour into the market.
Those who learned during 2009 saved their hard earned money and waited patiently...

I know a group of teachers who bought their landed terraces during the recession years - then price dropped from 1+mio to around 700k. These are now worth 2.5m... this strategy of buying assets when prices are depressed would work very well. However, it is hard to execute. I recalled their conversations about servicing the mortgage as they would be stretching on their monthly salary to purchase the house. As teachers, they had pretty much an iron rice bowl but it was still a difficult decision to make.
By the same token, many talk about buying stocks when prices plunge and trying to catch a bottom - and I know of many who had that thinking but during the lehman brothers collapse, many just found it difficult to dip in - and when they did, it was post crisis.
We are always wired to get the best price, catch the bottom... and when it comes, our loss aversion mentality takes over. After prices bottom out, we would then be given to fear of missing out and by which time, it was too late.

As such, I think one really needs to set a game plan now - have discipline to buy into the market everytime it dips 10% after the market crosses below a certain threshold that one is monitoring. Trust me - this requires discipline in execution and if one does not have a clear game plan now, they will most likely miss the boat when it comes.

On holding cash to capitalize on this, I think it exacts a very high opportunity cost - and the longer one holds, the more one loses to inflation and opportunity to compound. Maybe one should consider parking it into short term liquid instruments or if one is more adventurous or engage a fund manager to manage it. Selection of the right fund manager is another issue but placing with the right manager may well be a way to optimise spare cash.

focus1974

On holding cash to capitalize on this, I think it exacts a very high opportunity cost - and the longer one holds, the more one loses to inflation and opportunity to compound. Maybe one should consider parking it into short term liquid instruments or if one is more adventurous or engage a fund manager to manage it. Selection of the right fund manager is another issue but placing with the right manager may well be a way to optimise spare cash.

Yes... the larger amount the cash, the more panicky you will be.

I am wasting $xx0,000 dividend per year just by sitting on my cash right now.

I've that much in cash since June... Don't feel like buying stocks liao.. Feel like plonking it into a property and be done with it. let property appreciation thru the time value of money takes it's course.

hachi

Each individual has a plan and system in mind. To execute flawlessly involves decoupling emotion and attachment for such large amount of fund that takes years to accumulate.
Agreed with some of the points. When the times come, this is the good platform to sense sentiments with other indicators to trigger buying.

Huat ah....

DukeCS33

I've that much in cash since June... Don't feel like buying stocks liao.. Feel like plonking it into a property and be done with it. let property appreciation thru the time value of money takes it's course.

You may consider placing it with a hedge fund then. Some are quite good and does not have lock up clause.

slowmover

Thinking of some aapl puts for next week. Before their earning calls on 1st November. iPhone xs max sales seems to be quite lackluster. Coupled with market correction might have good returns.

dontscoldme

SSB and some liquid instruments to minimize cash drag i guess

avviicc

3GUWrKQ.jpg

ccostagmont

STI song song break 3k point...
2.7k coming?

Sent from Xiaomi REDMI NOTE 5A PRIME using GAGT

hachi

Market opens, green all the way.

NewInvestor

Dow has erased a 350 point gain. NASDAQ is even worse. Falling knives are everywhere including perennial favourites such as Nvidia, Amazon, Facebook, Baba..... Too early to buy.....yet.

chopra

plan well (write on a piece of paper /excel your buying point and buying amount).

buy at ur planned points.

chopra

next 2 stops for me are
70k at sti2913
90k at sti2731

hoping for them to come

hachi

Dow has erased a 350 point gain. NASDAQ is even worse. Falling knives are everywhere including perennial favourites such as Nvidia, Amazon, Facebook, Baba..... Too early to buy.....yet.

The results of trade war? I still feel we need a black Swan event to wipe the indexes.
I can cannot find the Co relationships between the component stocks and trade war?

DukeCS33

The buying sentiments still quite evident in many forums. Hmm....

Is that retail buying sentiments? If so, I would be more likely to consider it noise. The big players are the institutional players as their volume is easily some 80% of the market volume. Other than volume analysis, it is not easy to discern their intentions.
I would urge caution if you are paying following rumours on forums - it may well be syndicate pump and dump schemes.

avviicc

U put ur $$$ under pillow? Can put in bank for around 1.85% interest rate.. so u still getting something , of course less than the 4% dividend u get from blue chips but still not wasting ur $$$ UNLESS u put under pillow

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.