To each his own uh, but 4% in SA quite good alrdy, considering that you don't really have a risk there.
yes 4% in sa is quite good.
but sa will become ra and ra will become lifelong income fund. lifelong income fund gives 0% which is very bad
To each his own uh, but 4% in SA quite good alrdy, considering that you don't really have a risk there.
wah lau. like dat oso dont understand
rephrase:
if i sway sway kena bang by car die at 70, y soot i support others that will not die
if i heng heng live until 120, y soot others support me
we are not talking SA, we are talking RA and the choice u should make thereafterHad a talk with 1M65 recently.
He mentioned that whatever you can afford to top up, just top up into your SA, after all your basic coverage. After you got safety net, then you got the guts to go into higher risk things.
But drawback is can't take out until you're old lor
wahlau, we are talking CPF LIfe Plan, u still dun understand what dork32 is trying to explainya i dont understand. cos if by that logic then why should the rich pay more tax than the poor ? you poor is your own problem, i rich is my own problem and i worked hard for it
why should people who sway sway kena born with disabilities deserve help from the more fortunate? It is their own unluckiness that they are born like that right ?

ya i dont understand. cos if by that logic then why should the rich pay more tax than the poor ? you poor is your own problem, i rich is my own problem and i worked hard for it
why should people who sway sway kena born with disabilities deserve help from the more fortunate? It is their own unluckiness that they are born like that right ?
go ahead and support the lifelong income fund.
i do not buy it. i will put as little as possible into the lifelong income fund. I will keep the rest of it in ra which i can earn interest for myself.

Not generally, no.it means i can choose to allocate any where between $1 - $85,500 to join CPF LIFE?
the balance can be kept in my RA?
u think well out of the box.
we can have RA & CPF LIFE together?
Yes
since it's compulsory to have CPF LIFE when i have property + RA $85,500 (BRS) .
"There is no minimum amount for joining CPF LIFE. However, the amount of retirement sum which you have set aside in your Retirement Account for CPF LIFE would affect your monthly payout amount."
it means i can choose to allocate any where between $1 - $85,500 to join CPF LIFE?
the balance can be kept in my RA?

From what u write above, it seems u dun understand how CPF Life works, u should go CPF website to read up.
At 55, FRS amount from your SA+OA will be transferred to RA. At 65, u can choose to start payout and join CPF Life, or defer till latest 70.
If u opt for BRS by pledging property, u do it before 65, so only half of FRS ie now 85.5k will be used to join CPF Life.
Then u have to choose the CPF Life Plan u want to join, ie Basic, Standard or Escalating. For standard and escalating, all 85.5k will go to CPF LIfe pool as premium, leaving zero in RA.
For Basic, only 10-20% goes to CPF Life pool - so u have both RA balance (80%) and CPF Life premium (10-20%)
That's a brief summary or overview, there are more details
For the record, I don't generally recommend topping up a newborn's Special Account to the FRS, although I can think of a couple rare exceptions.
I treat my CPF like a 30-year govt bond.
Aiming to max out my MA first.
I treat my CPF like a 30-year govt bond.
Aiming to max out my MA first.
Sure, but SA is for retirement. A newborn has the longest possible retirement investing time horizon (for that same individual) and should be able to beat SA reliably over that long time horizon using prudent, well diversified, low cost investments.BBCW, can you elaborate on your above mentioned statement? it seems to me that topping up a newborn's SA, even if its a small amount will allow compounding to work at 5% for about 15-20 years, which will be quite a tidy sum before the child starts work, no?
However, once your MA hits the BHS the portion of your compulsory CPF contributions that would ordinarily flow into MA will instead spill over into SA. And since MA funds are useful at any age, and it’s tougher to squeeze in MA top-ups for tax relief as you progress in your career (and hit the CPF Annual Limit), I’d give MA “first love.” Moreover, once your MA has reached the BHS the interest credited to MA will actually spill over into your SA, too.I did it differently..
MA is actually more than a 30 yr bond. It's a lifetime bond..
SA over OA. You should only keep OA funds hanging around if you really need all those OA funds for housing. If some or all of those OA funds aren’t needed for housing, then transfer those OA dollars into your SA. You can transfer OA to SA as long as your SA is below the Full Retirement Sum.SA is the real bond that matures at 55 yoand SA has no cap.... let your money work for you in SA rather than MA. More optimal..
Wow so rich.

yes. it is call cpf life basic. you use 20% of your ra to buy annuity. this is to protect you from not dying. the other 80% will continue to earn interest at 4-6%we can have RA & CPF LIFE together?
BBCW, can you elaborate on your above mentioned statement? it seems to me that topping up a newborn's SA, even if its a small amount will allow compounding to work at 5% for about 15-20 years, which will be quite a tidy sum before the child starts work, no?
yes. it is call cpf life basic. you use 20% of your ra to buy annuity. this is to protect you from not dying. the other 80% will continue to earn interest at 4-6%
Wow so rich.
Tat 80% in Ra, earning 4-6%, when then can take out huh?