Reliable Private Driving Instructor?

flix

Hi all. I just passed my driving test today (First attempt!). Kena one of the infamous "terrible" testers but I managed to pass with 16 demerit points (all anyhow give one).

(...)

Really appreciate his efforts to helping me pass on the 1st TRY! :)
You can quote me (Roy) if you wish to contact him!

Hi, could I have his contact too?
Appreciate it.

Triblings

Does anyone have recommendations for class 3 PDI around admiralty area?
If have let me know please! Thanks in advance!

Blehzxc

Hi, could I have his contact too?
Appreciate it.

Hi all. I just passed my driving test today (First attempt!). Kena one of the infamous "terrible" testers but I managed to pass with 16 demerit points (all anyhow give one).

Anyway would sincerely recommend my PDI. Let me share my experience with my fellow HWZers.

I was recommended by a friend to engage Mr Lee Liak Hong to learn Auto driving. He teaches both Auto and Manual but prefers to teach Auto. His car is a chrome toyota and is very clean and well maintained. Now his charges are higher than the average fees from other PDIs but it's DAMN worth it. You pay for the quality. (Read on...)

Basically, he is the down-to-earth kinda instructor who is very patient and attentive in teaching. (Never sleep/doze off on the job) He will not scold or raise voice at you even if you make grave mistakes (+1 as you know how terrible a student will feel if kena F for every mistake).
One particular incident I will never forget was during my initial stages of learning. I made too wide a turn that almost hit the car turning behind. He pulled the steering wheel and didn't say a word. After the car was out of danger, he told me to slowly go to the side of the road and stop. He explained very calmly about my mistake and the dangers, and went through with me what I did wrong and what I should have done. I was really scared but impressed with his teaching methods. The way he teaches is very reassuring and honestly, makes you feel confident in driving.

Every lesson is a relaxed atmosphere. Not those tense, kanchiong type. He will not waste your time asking you do stupid things. Every lesson you sure learn something new and he will correct your mistakes. He is also very flexible and accommodating to your changes (even last minute ones). MOST IMPORTANTLY, he is VERY well mannered!

Before your actual driving test, he will usually schedule a circuit and road lesson on the same day to give you a very thorough "pre-test" course. He will also give you a map of the circuit and tell you to look through it before every circuit lesson.

From his record, most of his students pass on the first if not second try. Many students also jump from school/other instructors to him so his schedule is always packed. So must arrange subsequent lessons in advance.

Summary
Name: Mr Lee Liak Hong (PM me for his contact. I am always active and will respond to all PMs)
Location: Comfort Delgro Driving Centre (Ubi, meet up point at the coffee shop outside the school)
Car: Toyota (Chrome colour think is camry or axio)
Charges: $32 weekdays. $34 weekends & PH
Total sessions: 20+ sessions including minimum of 6 circuits. (Each session can be 1 to 1.5hr)

My total learning fees under him
Registration fee: $50 (standard fee)
25 sessions including 6 circuits: $1,289
Total lesson hours: 36.5hrs
Test vehicle rental fee: $180 (This includes the vehicle insurance)
Total: $1,519

Really appreciate his efforts to helping me pass on the 1st TRY! :)
You can quote me (Roy) if you wish to contact him!

Hi, Could you please share the contact of your driving instructor with me?

Kayteejaybee

Hi anyone know a good pdi for manual? I'm staying at serangoon. I've tried tons of numbers from pdirevirews but most are either booked or MIA.

lbcben

paiseh...I am a newbie, just passed btt, apply and paid for PDL.
My question for this PDL is "do I get a card, then bring with me for every practical lesson?
or this PDL is just a piece of A4 size paper?

To engage PDI, i just take aphoto of my PDL for "verification"?

Thanks

kRuixx

Can I ask what's the market rate for driving test? My instructor mentioned it will cost about $400 - is that reasonable? Thanks

ng_zai

My question for this PDL is "do I get a card, then bring with me for every practical lesson?

Thanks
PDL now is online one already if not wrong. U just take a photo of it can liao. But tp test time need bring the hardcopy.

Sent from Samsung SM-G950F using GAGT

lbcben

i just realise finding PDI is a lot harder....I call many this morning, all fully booked.

Actually, I am staying opposite batok driving centre.
Do you all think, it's better for me, to go for school, or PDI?
since a walk to bbdc is only 5 min for me

lodahe

Can I ask what's the market rate for driving test? My instructor mentioned it will cost about $400 - is that reasonable? Thanks

the reaso you are having doubts is cos you think $400 is quite expensive, that's why you are asking around right? You can ask for breakdown, maybe got include other things.

My PDI instructor told me TP is $250. Does not include TP fee $33

For school is around $200-250 include warmup, but warmup usually less than 1 hour for school.

Not sure if there is market rate anyway for private. Private just charge what they want, you decide yourself reasonable or not.

Edit= BBDC TP is 171.20+38.52 warm up=$210. SSDC TP is 171.20+35.31warm up=$207. CDC TP is $252 wif warm up. Like that, my PDI $250 should be reasonable.
Your $400 a bit expensive now looking at school chrge.

lodahe

Thanks

No need, just show PDI the page on your phone.

lodahe

TP so careless haha. TP fixed it now redy.

Those finding, go call up the numbers on this website, search up the names in search engines, don't believe cannot find. Just a tip!

Thanks for publishing the TP list. I think this list is helpful. I remember when I was finding instructor, some I contacted don't even appear on the list. Meaning they got no student , or not registered? Anyway, lucky I didn't chose one that do not appear.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.