Bangkok help...

Jeremy1

Yes, 4 5 Stars. I think it reflect the luxury of a hotel.

Bath Tub actually to me is Secondary to Pool.

But I think it's up to individual needs.

turtlezhu

Glow won’t be worth your money from my POV. I stayed in duplex suite near asoke at like $170 a night. There are cheaper suite room in that property.

wah you all say until like that about Glow pratunam, make me heart itchy itchy

but i still dont think i should pay $100++ per night for it...will have to pamper myself more in Bali and Japan then :s22:

flowerpalms

If you have plan for japan would had advice you to save more for japan. Maybe for me I spend a lot in japan :s22:

But $1k Budget for Bkk is enough depending on what you want to do and where you want to stay. Luckily Bkk’s hotel are not to expensive.

I totally understand how you feel about hotel on no Airbnb/hostel as I am of the same. Accommodation is very important to me. I myself still looking at hotel for my April trip to Taiwan.

ya not only paying for the BKK air ticket and hotel, this month i also book and paid for Japan air tickets. This month my money CHOR ah! :(:(:(
but hotel , imore or less know which one i want liao , just waiting closer then book and the hotel dates not open yet to book - not so early!

Taiwan actually in my plan for next year. Next year i am planning either Taiwan or Okinawa though...
Most probably Taiwan first. But there is a specific area i want to hit in Taiwan which is the Taichung-alishan area. The Hehuanshan scenery - the SongXue lodge at the highest altitude and cold. can experience loh.

flowerpalms

Glow won’t be worth your money from my POV. I stayed in duplex suite near asoke at like $170 a night. There are cheaper suite room in that property.

haha i one person only no need suite lah...so big

give me a standard room or at most deluxe more than enough liao

turtlezhu

My japan trip last year Super last min. I ask my Wife at 4pm if she wants to go japan and she said yes. Use my points book 5 nights for intercontinental Tokyo, went out change money 10pm book ticket and left home at 1am to go catch our flight. But really got to save up for japan I spend a lot of food then shopping.

And for Taiwan I only managed to book hotel for my first 3 nights and the balance 4 nights unplan yet and my beitou hote not cheap. My colleague did advice me to go Taichung or Alishan as well still planning.

ya not only paying for the BKK air ticket and hotel, this month i also book and paid for Japan air tickets. This month my money CHOR ah! :(:(:(
but hotel , imore or less know which one i want liao , just waiting closer then book and the hotel dates not open yet to book - not so early!

Taiwan actually in my plan for next year. Next year i am planning either Taiwan or Okinawa though...
Most probably Taiwan first. But there is a specific area i want to hit in Taiwan which is the Taichung-alishan area. The Hehuanshan scenery - the SongXue lodge at the highest altitude and cold. can experience loh.

turtlezhu

Yap really up to individual but if you are someone who likes bathtub make sure wash it yourself again before soaking.

flowerpalms

My japan trip last year Super last min. I ask my Wife at 4pm if she wants to go japan and she said yes. Use my points book 5 nights for intercontinental Tokyo, went out change money 10pm book ticket and left home at 1am to go catch our flight. But really got to save up for japan I spend a lot of food then shopping.

And for Taiwan I only managed to book hotel for my first 3 nights and the balance 4 nights unplan yet and my beitou hote not cheap. My colleague did advice me to go Taichung or Alishan as well still planning.

too add in taiwan i also wanna experience Cingjing.

wah ur japan trip really 心血来潮 no need think of money just buy and go. but you no need work meh no need apply leave in advance??? i dont like Tokyo that is why my japan trip i didn't plan tokyo at all. i will go to Kansai-kyoto/osaka/nara. Tokyo i feel is too commercialised liao . If you compare Tokyo to Kyoto, is like comparing Shanghai to Beijing. Kyoto has better Autumn colours which i am aiming...

turtlezhu

Haha yeah kinda YOLO trip I was on 3 weeks leave at that time in bangkok.

I brought her for 8 nights Osaka/kobe/Kyoto before 6 nights crowne plaza Osaka then 2 nights crowne plaza Kyoto using points as well if not hotel expensive in japan.

I recommend you to go arashiyama.

This is my lunch view at arashiyama

JMCA3OO.jpg

For Taiwan I looking forward to go there jiak and jiak and also my beitou hotspring bath.

too add in taiwan i also wanna experience Cingjing.

wah ur japan trip really 心血来潮 no need think of money just buy and go. but you no need work meh no need apply leave in advance??? i dont like Tokyo that is why my japan trip i didn't plan tokyo at all. i will go to Kansai-kyoto/osaka/nara. Tokyo i feel is too commercialised liao . If you compare Tokyo to Kyoto, is like comparing Shanghai to Beijing. Kyoto has better Autumn colours which i am aiming...

dede1217

yup, same thoughts here too ...
Normally 4 5 stars hotel would usually have bathtub ...
not all though ...

turtlezhu

Normally/usually is the word.

Personally stayed in holiday inn sukhumvit / indigo wireless road both no bathtub unless upgrade to suite for holiday inn or exec room for indigo. Just saying.

I remember novotel ploenchit is standing shower too.

yup, same thoughts here too ...
Normally 4 5 stars hotel would usually have bathtub ...
not all though ...

Jeremy1

I think Japan and Taiwan need to follow tour.

Japan, June is a good month to visit.

turtlezhu

Nah both my trip to Tokyo and Osaka is FNE. Slowly enjoy take train walk around. But recent Tokyo spend quite a bit. Must work hard to earn back that money :s13:

dede1217

Taiwan been there few times .
Would go free n easy.
Book your own driver then bring you tour around. More convenient also.

Japan would also be free n easy. Rent car and drive around.

dede1217

Normally/usually is the word.

Personally stayed in holiday inn sukhumvit / indigo wireless road both no bathtub unless upgrade to suite for holiday inn or exec room for indigo. Just saying.

I remember novotel ploenchit is standing shower too.

Novotel ploenchit. Fenix silom. Platinum pratunam.
Those lower tiers no bathtub. Only suite have...
Sames goes for our Novotel Clarke quay...

turtlezhu

Yeah now is the trend already that hotel are converting to more standing shower room.

Novotel ploenchit. Fenix silom. Platinum pratunam.
Those lower tiers no bathtub. Only suite have...
Sames goes for our Novotel Clarke quay...

flowerpalms

Anyway, here is my draft itinerary lah for this bangkok trip, maybe you guys can help me take a look and offer me some comments? much appreciated :)

Day 1 -
Departure:
Singapore SIN 8:15 AM
Bangkok BKK 9:35 AM (thailand time)
Alot of time here before checkin hotel, can take own time and not rush.
Grab to Spenza Hotel
Drop luggage (since check in 2pm)
Walk to Lumphini Park
Lunch at Sab X2 Wanton Noodle - opp Platinum Fashion Mall
Return to hotel prepare check in
Rest
Baiyoke Tower View + complimentary drink
-Need recommendation where to go for dinner here. and Before or after the tower view?
Back to Hotel end of day

Day 2:
Breakfast at hotel
Grab to Grand Palace and Wat Prakeaw
Lunch in Old City
Since at Old City, continue to Wat Pho?
Grab to Platinum fashion mall
Dinner
Some shopping
Arunda massage - beside Spenza Hotel
Back to Hotel end of day

Day 3:
Breakfast at hotel
Grab to Wat Arun
Chao Phraya river and waterways
Lunch at where?
Asiatique riverside?
Dinner at where?
Back to Hotel end of day

Day 4:
Breakfast at hotel
Jim Thompson House
Suan Pakkad Palace
Lunch at where?
Grab back Pratunam?
Pratunam Market shop
Maybe a clean bar to chill for the last night?

Day 5:
Breakfast at hotel
Before 12pm check out
Pratunam market final shop
Checkout
Airport
Walk around airport
Bangkok BKK 4:35 PM
Singapore SIN 7:55 PM (Singapore time)

turtlezhu

Can try Nara for dinner there have a brunch at central world.

Not gonna try afteryou for dessert? And I don’t see any nightmarket in your trip.

flowerpalms

Can try Nara for dinner there have a brunch at central world.

Not gonna try afteryou for dessert? And I don’t see any nightmarket in your trip.

Nara centralworld can which day?

Afteryou is where?

Nightmarket not pratunam market?

turtlezhu

Central world 7th floor has both Nara thai and after you.

Night market personally I recommend rot fai ratchada. But closest to you is neon night market but I usually recommend to skip neon night market.

Nara centralworld can which day?

Afteryou is where?

Nightmarket not pratunam market?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.