Water heater

sellun

Cheesepies. My Ariston buy for 1.5 yrs got tank leak. Called them and they said need $60 to send tech down even though I provided pictures.

I think I'm going to change manufacturer. Any reliable brands? Money no object.
Highly recommend AOS. If money no problem just get their heater with digital panel. Very useful as you can see how much hot water you have and switch off when you have enough. Can set timer & etc. 3years full warranty including labour

Sent from HUAWEI BLA-L29 using GAGT

InvincibleTofu

Mmm... I went to AOS to take a look. Does seem not bad.

Heard good things about Joven as well.

But every plumber quotes chop carrot prices for installation. $300 that sort. WtF?

sellun

Mmm... I went to AOS to take a look. Does seem not bad.

Heard good things about Joven as well.

But every plumber quotes chop carrot prices for installation. $300 that sort. WtF?
AOS offers installation as well. For HDB I think around $160++

djr81

t4v8pOX.jpg

oatVn0G.jpg

RCxJZcy.jpg

MPhPcvw.jpg

UIlpVW7.jpg

nMQjdtZ.jpg

Some photos for those interested in AOS.

:s22:

biting

Recently i changed from an old ariston storage heater to a new ariston storage heater. The existing hook can be used so no drilling needed. I bought from Sim Siang Choon. Their plumber quoted $90. When he came, he said need to change some pipe fittings (which looked rusty) and quoted $20 more. Overall still ok i guess

Infuriate

does this mean you keep the heater power on 24/7?

Highly recommend AOS. If money no problem just get their heater with digital panel. Very useful as you can see how much hot water you have and switch off when you have enough. Can set timer & etc. 3years full warranty including labour

mun_hoe

does this mean you keep the heater power on 24/7?

no. there are 3 operating modes. let me relate to you my experiences trying around with the modes so far for my past 3 months usage with family of 4 adults & 1 child. my tank temperature is set at 55 deg C.

-) single (1-2pax): never tried it before because mine is kampung size family. read it up from AOS manual and that it's mode of operation is samewhat similar to multiple mode, albeit "uses less electricity" to suit 1-2 pax usage.

-) standard (2-3pax): heats up strictly according to the timers set; eg. timer 1 6am-8am, timer 2 6pm - 11pm. if hot water runs low outside of timer period, the tank water capacity can last for 1 or 2 pax and MAY become cold water depending on how each pax lets the water run during baths. Although there is a "instant" toggle mode, one have to remember to toggle ON it before start of bathe if one were to bathe outside of timer period e.g 10am. Instant toggle ON mode will heat up the water and stops when reached desired temperature. I did encounter situation where 2pax concurrent usage at out of timer period (12am), did not toggle instant mode on and the water becomes lukewarm at best. then gotta call out for help to toggle instant mode on and temperature rises gradually back to warm enough.

-) multiple (4-6pax): heats up according to the timers set almost same as standard mode, but an interesting feature is that there is auto hot water level sensing and the instant mode kicks in automatically without feeling drop in temperature when bathing outside of timer period. have used this mode ever since.

sellun

no. there are 3 operating modes. let me relate to you my experiences trying around with the modes so far for my past 3 months usage with family of 4 adults & 1 child. my tank temperature is set at 55 deg C.

-) single (1-2pax): never tried it before because mine is kampung size family. read it up from AOS manual and that it's mode of operation is samewhat similar to multiple mode, albeit "uses less electricity" to suit 1-2 pax usage.

-) standard (2-3pax): heats up strictly according to the timers set; eg. timer 1 6am-8am, timer 2 6pm - 11pm. if hot water runs low outside of timer period, the tank water capacity can last for 1 or 2 pax and MAY become cold water depending on how each pax lets the water run during baths. Although there is a "instant" toggle mode, one have to remember to toggle ON it before start of bathe if one were to bathe outside of timer period e.g 10am. Instant toggle ON mode will heat up the water and stops when reached desired temperature. I did encounter situation where 2pax concurrent usage at out of timer period (12am), did not toggle instant mode on and the water becomes lukewarm at best. then gotta call out for help to toggle instant mode on and temperature rises gradually back to warm enough.

-) multiple (4-6pax): heats up according to the timers set almost same as standard mode, but an interesting feature is that there is auto hot water level sensing and the instant mode kicks in automatically without feeling drop in temperature when bathing outside of timer period. have used this mode ever since.
What you described is leaving the main power on 24/7 and thus the sensor/panel/timer works.
Which might be the main function/selling point of this heater. But it doesn't work for me.

I am doing differently as we do not have fixed schedule and do random showers.
I am using a 20A RF smart switch to control the heater/panel. So whenever I want to shower I would turn on the smart switch (most of the time remotely from my phone) slightly before the shower. The heater will immediately turn on the instant mode to heat the water to my pre set temp of 60deg. So I am not really using the various modes for the heater.

Yes it sounds like I'm using it like a normal non digital heater. I only love that the instant mode takes only around 5mins to heat up enough water for a shower and the display to show the current temperature and volume of hot water. So when there's two or three red bars out of the six (I think), I know the shower is ready.

Of course other functions like you can pre set the temperature you want the water to be heated is great but it's more of a one time off setting for me.

sellun

Another major plus is that the tank can really maintain the temperature very well. Very often, we only need to turn on the heater once in the morning for around 20mins, and when we want to take a random shower in the late afternoon the water would still be warm enough and so we only switch on the panel for a few minutes to see the level of hot water.

With a dummy water tank, you will never achieve this as you will have no idea if the water in the tank is hot enough to sustain your shower so you will end up turning it on for the whole of your shower and end up with a full tank of hot water waiting to be cooled down again.

mun_hoe

Another major plus is that the tank can really maintain the temperature very well. Very often, we only need to turn on the heater once in the morning for around 20mins, and when we want to take a random shower in the late afternoon the water would still be warm enough and so we only switch on the panel for a few minutes to see the level of hot water.

With a dummy water tank, you will never achieve this as you will have no idea if the water in the tank is hot enough to sustain your shower so you will end up turning it on for the whole of your shower and end up with a full tank of hot water waiting to be cooled down again.

what you've described yours is exactly AOS product does, albeit with a RF smart switch that can be remotely controlled from your phone.

sellun

what you've described yours is exactly AOS product does, albeit with a RF smart switch that can be remotely controlled from your phone.

Because I'm also using AOS digital tank hahaha. Just another way of using. Sorry should have mentioned it.

mun_hoe

Because I'm also using AOS digital tank hahaha. Just another way of using. Sorry should have mentioned it.

bro then you should try set a minimal timer period e.g timer 1 7am-8am, then timer 2 7pm-8pm. and set mode to "Multiple" or "Single". just let it run auto on it's own when you've got lotsa random timing showers. try it for 2 days with these modes lemme know how you find it with it's holding capacity and possibly any real electrical savings out of it? :)

i dun dare try this minimal timer period cos my household kampung size wait kena comprain I itchy hand, even though is I'm the paymaster :(

sellun

bro then you should try set a minimal timer period e.g timer 1 7am-8am, then timer 2 7pm-8pm. and set mode to "Multiple" or "Single". just let it run auto on it's own when you've got lotsa random timing showers. try it for 2 days with these modes lemme know how you find it with it's holding capacity and possibly any real electrical savings out of it? :)

i dun dare try this minimal timer period cos my household kampung size wait kena comprain I itchy hand, even though is I'm the paymaster :(
My problem is I don't stay there everyday >.<
And so far based on our usage turning on for 20mins once can last us more than half a day. So we just use instant impromptu.

sellun

anyway, just an estimate. AOS digital uses 2.0 – 3.3 kW based on their spec.
Assuming an average of 2.65kW per hour. if you use the timer to turn it on twice a day, one hour each time.
It will cost you 2.65 X 2hr X 30days X 0.18 (OEM cheapest rate) = $28.62 per month.

Of course since AOS digital is smart and fitted with heat sensor, it will stop heating when the temp reaches the pre-set temp, That would result in some savings. Can imagine those dummy water tank without sensors, how much electricity will be wasted.

For my case, ad hoc on/off is better.

mun_hoe

anyway, just an estimate. AOS digital uses 2.0 – 3.3 kW based on their spec.
Assuming an average of 2.65kW per hour. if you use the timer to turn it on twice a day, one hour each time.
It will cost you 2.65 X 2hr X 30days X 0.18 (OEM cheapest rate) = $28.62 per month.

Of course since AOS digital is smart and fitted with heat sensor, it will stop heating when the temp reaches the pre-set temp, That would result in some savings. Can imagine those dummy water tank without sensors, how much electricity will be wasted.

For my case, ad hoc on/off is better.

yeah manz!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.