Vietnam

jackieatbtu

Anybody got comments on SIM cards available via qoo10? ICC the recommended one? I prefer to buy first cause need to meet my driver for the airport transfer. Scared not enough time and he go off. Booking say they wait for one hour after arrival time.

kitkat2

sim card price at danang airport.

tGrFw2f.jpg

kitkat2

Still Viettel or Vinaphone

This counter is right after Customs iirc at the Danang intl airport

Sent from Henabi virus using GAGT

avoid viettel if you are using iphone and plan to add credit and buy data as you go along.

viettel started charging 2500 dong for each imessage activation sms from year 2017 and the carrier profile instructs ios to send the sms automatically without prompting. so, everytime you reboot your phone, lose signal and reconnect to network, resume from flight mode, etc, a sms will be sent to the +44 number even if the imessage knob is off on your iphone.

gSrAR0x.jpg

Henabi

Use the Viettel app to topup

I have been using the Viettel app since they launched it back in mid-2015

Usually I will go to any convenience shop, buy 50K or 100K vnd top up, receive the slip.. and I will key in the code within the app

the charging of 2500 vnd per iPhone message... That's beyond our control. Thou Viettel has the largest mobile Network

If you are always on the ground and rarely restart your iPhone or rarely on/off your signal.. then it's not even a problem at all

Henabi

tyQK335.jpg

flying is still the best way to travel within the country.

well..... for backpackers, or travellers who really wanna stretch their dollar, flying around is actually very expensive.

locals would rather pay for bus tickets and sit in "sleeping coach", then to be caught on a 6-8 hours flight delay, which happens very frequently

kitkat2

well..... for backpackers, or travellers who really wanna stretch their dollar, flying around is actually very expensive.

locals would rather pay for bus tickets and sit in "sleeping coach", then to be caught on a 6-8 hours flight delay, which happens very frequently

not really. a sleeper train can be as expensive as domestic flight. you may save one night of hotel but then you lose quality sleep.

usually around 30 mins to 1 hour of delay. out of 10 times, only encountered once serious flight delay. very unlikely if take morning flights.

talked to many who had just taken sleeper bus. none said they would do it again.

twinklingstars

been trying to get that "promoted" pricing for HCMC and Danang for the longest time possible.

its almost impossible to get it.

It's back to $280 ish for HCMC, the ticket was priced at $229 on 28 Feb.. I procrastinated and it went back to $280 ish last night. Vietnam Airlines is retailing at $240.. Arghh.. Should I wait for SQ promo again or just buy the $280 ish tickets?

Henabi

I have my fair share of domestic delays, be it VN air or vietjet.

Yet to try the new Bamboo air.

VN air has less tendency for huge delays but of course, air tickets usually more ex.

The again, if I can afford that extra bit of luxury and travel via air, then of course I would...

And ermmmmmm.... I was talking about sleeping bus not sleeping train.

Sleeping train can actually more ex than plane

kitkat2

I have my fair share of domestic delays, be it VN air or vietjet.

Yet to try the new Bamboo air.

VN air has less tendency for huge delays but of course, air tickets usually more ex.

The again, if I can afford that extra bit of luxury and travel via air, then of course I would...

And ermmmmmm.... I was talking about sleeping bus not sleeping train.

Sleeping train can actually more ex than plane

for domestic, vietnam airlines tickets don't cost much higher than others. morning flights are usually fine, evening flights have the highest risks due to piled up effect.

you don't want to sleep on a bus. everyone i talked to regretted it. btw, i'm not local, are you?

twinklingstars

It's back to $280 ish for HCMC, the ticket was priced at $229 on 28 Feb.. I procrastinated and it went back to $280 ish last night. Vietnam Airlines is retailing at $240.. Arghh.. Should I wait for SQ promo again or just buy the $280 ish tickets?

the promo price is back! i manage to book SQ to HCMC for $229, travel dates in end july. will be travelling as a solo female, hope it will be safe.

Henabi

for domestic, vietnam airlines tickets don't cost much higher than others. morning flights are usually fine, evening flights have the highest risks due to piled up effect.

you don't want to sleep on a bus. everyone i talked to regretted it. btw, i'm not local, are you?
I sinkie

Why leh? Does it matter?

Tried those super early domestic flights a few times because it's cheap... End up... Made myself even more shag

Henabi

the promo price is back! i manage to book SQ to HCMC for $229, travel dates in end july. will be travelling as a solo female, hope it will be safe.
Great!
Enjoy your trip to hcmc
HCMC is safe, in fact as safe as Singapore, as long as you don't expose yourself to unnecessary danger can Liao.
Don't use your phone while you are walking along the streets with motorbikes zooming past you.
Anything unsure, just check with your hotel staffs

Grabcar and grabbike is very common.

Use VND everywhere. Keep SGD and USD only for emergencies.

Going for how many days?

kurtgoh

Hello Henabi,

you mind sharing some itinerary for newbie who never step into Vietnam,
like where to go etc.
I'm thinking of visiting Vietnam for a long time, just fear the communication and safety.
just the 2 of us, my wife and myself
maybe some sight seeing, shopping and since you mentioned about having their seafood.

ParkJinYoung

If u like kopi like me, I can recommend this place I go daily and have it along the back alley with rest of the viets

5U74D4dl.jpg

srJKk5ll.jpg

tgyIRlpl.jpg

Sent from 大哥大 using GAGT

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.