Invitation to Collect VEP RFID TAG

myviowner

Hi bros. So now go into msia, if without registering VEP can just go in like that is it?

Continue lah....
When they first introduced, i also did not register and continue trip until one fine day i damn free thinning to do, then register. Takes only like 5mins with documents on hand and yes, pray hard that their web is stable. lolz

Scare... worried? then register lor:s13:

HondaJG

Continue lah....
When they first introduced, i also did not register and continue trip until one fine day i damn free thinning to do, then register. Takes only like 5mins with documents on hand and yes, pray hard that their web is stable. lolz

Scare... worried? then register lor:s13:

when is the last time you drove in? without registration? :s8:

owanyoh

VEP

I'm a tad confuse, so the rfid tag itself is the sticker? I don't really wanna paste anything on my windshield. I thought the RFID tag is compulsory?

if it's not compulsory means just pay extra rm 20 at the custom as per usual is it?

Hope to share my experience with you all.

There’s a lot of confusion, it seems, regarding the Malaysian VEP from almost 2 years ago.

I was really confused myself, and truly wished it away…. Now that I’ve understood more and also collected the 5-year-validity RFID electronic tag, not just a sticker, I surely wish it it’d taken off earlier, of course, less the hassle of going into JB to have the tag affixed.

I got a little worry when I kept seeing signage at both the CIQ. So I applied in Nov 2018, and did not hear from the JPJ until late Dec. I had to read really carefully all the instructions – nothing is too small for me. My appointment was Jan 04, 2019

A MUST: Download Touch n Go app. First question you will be asked there is “have downloaded TnG app?”

1) Go into the JPJ website to book appointment – they would not entertain walk-ins
2) Go on the booked date earlier and not be late
3) There will be 3 or more parties there -- The JPJ, finance dept to collect the money and a contractor to fix in place the tag
4) Payment of 15RM
5) Whole process should take no more than an hour

I went into Malaysia twice since Jan 04.
Once, on Jan 26, I still needed to use the physical TnG card to pay for the 20RM VEP and 2.90RM toll charge. Last weekend, I drove up to Melaka. I again used the physical card. But nothing happened. No deduction! The barrier just lifted for me. At the breakfast table, I checked and found out that a total of 22.90RM was deducted from my TnG e-wallet balance of 100RM (which I’ve set for auto-reload when the balance is less than 20RM.) So the VEP was activated then.
Of course, I’m overjoyed, because now there’s no more need to physically topped up for the VEP. No more need to hunt down top-up stations or Watsons or even at the Plaza tolls. (I’ve also recently heard of SG motorists without VEP being stopped on the JB roads by police.) And the value in my 2 physical TnG cards (which I’ve earlier on added in in the app) were clearly shown in the app 😊
From the QnA, I understand that now I can use the physical cards without topping them up. As soon as the value therein is insufficient or gone, the e-wallet takes over!!!

If everything is correct, as I know and now experienced, then maybe SG needs to learn from the Malaysian, and adopt a similar system – a far better and easy system.

BTW, I'm Owan and am in my mid-60 :)

myviowner

Another long story without any ending? "Stopped by police for no VEP" This is something new.
Maybe should validate this source before sharing here dude.

delceer

Hope to share my experience with you all.

There’s a lot of confusion, it seems, regarding the Malaysian VEP from almost 2 years ago.

I was really confused myself, and truly wished it away…. Now that I’ve understood more and also collected the 5-year-validity RFID electronic tag, not just a sticker, I surely wish it it’d taken off earlier, of course, less the hassle of going into JB to have the tag affixed.

I got a little worry when I kept seeing signage at both the CIQ. So I applied in Nov 2018, and did not hear from the JPJ until late Dec. I had to read really carefully all the instructions – nothing is too small for me. My appointment was Jan 04, 2019

A MUST: Download Touch n Go app. First question you will be asked there is “have downloaded TnG app?”

1) Go into the JPJ website to book appointment – they would not entertain walk-ins
2) Go on the booked date earlier and not be late
3) There will be 3 or more parties there -- The JPJ, finance dept to collect the money and a contractor to fix in place the tag
4) Payment of 15RM
5) Whole process should take no more than an hour

I went into Malaysia twice since Jan 04.
Once, on Jan 26, I still needed to use the physical TnG card to pay for the 20RM VEP and 2.90RM toll charge. Last weekend, I drove up to Melaka. I again used the physical card. But nothing happened. No deduction! The barrier just lifted for me. At the breakfast table, I checked and found out that a total of 22.90RM was deducted from my TnG e-wallet balance of 100RM (which I’ve set for auto-reload when the balance is less than 20RM.) So the VEP was activated then.
Of course, I’m overjoyed, because now there’s no more need to physically topped up for the VEP. No more need to hunt down top-up stations or Watsons or even at the Plaza tolls. (I’ve also recently heard of SG motorists without VEP being stopped on the JB roads by police.) And the value in my 2 physical TnG cards (which I’ve earlier on added in in the app) were clearly shown in the app 😊
From the QnA, I understand that now I can use the physical cards without topping them up. As soon as the value therein is insufficient or gone, the e-wallet takes over!!!

If everything is correct, as I know and now experienced, then maybe SG needs to learn from the Malaysian, and adopt a similar system – a far better and easy system.

BTW, I'm Owan and am in my mid-60 :)

owanyoh

hoboonhua

I am very very confused..
1. so now can i drive in without the tag?
2. I had applied online donkey years ago... did not recevie any invitation to collect the tag... so how?

myviowner

Continue your trip lah...
Same here but got a invitation email recently to book a time slot, but the link to book the time slot always cannot be reached. I gave up....
Still going in as usual without VEP tag...

~WindzStriker~

Just a piece of RFID sticker paste on your windscreen (inside cabin) just below/beside your car cam

Sent from Xiaomi MI MAX 2 using GAGT

ok i saw from one of my friend liao, it is very ugly sia.

right in the middle,

no joke, i cant accept the ugliness , wonder if can stick at side anot, side of the front windscreen

Eagle9797

I keep seeing messages in Singapore to ask us to print insurance n road tax in to JB.. why huh ?

sanchin

still not compulsory this msia VEP i registered email ask me wait till old car scrap liao, tried to registered my new car plate lotsa error i lazy to follow. we old bird just drive in like no tomorrow, new bird if worry is just normal feeling...

myviowner

They keep sending me invitation to go collect the tag via booking time slot.... I just keep deleting it... Hahaha

seansin

I have also recieved the invitation email.

Will be driving in during June for short holiday. So wailt till Jun then do. No hurry.

owanyoh

Further to my Feb 13 posting, I've driven up Malaysia several times now. Once, as far as Port Dickson (Apr 1 - 5).

Below are my findings and experience:

1. The VEP is not yet compulsory. But it's coming as I'm seeing more of the MyRFID gantry being installed
2. It's easy breeze to use. First at Woodlands CIQ, and along one or 2 stretches of the NS highways. Went through -- no need to stop; just slow down -- the white colored "MyRFID" gantry next to the blue TnG and yellow "Smartag" ones
3. My VEP app balance was auto topped up once via credit card payment
4. There's even cashback for using the VEP

I don't how to insert photos in this posting. Otherwise, I'll put up for you all pics of the VEP tag on my car and a screenshot of my cashback

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.