Proposal Ring - Part 3

Miltah

Miltah

Ive read up , If thats so try to get one with has non flourescent? Is it possible to see if one has none of faint fluorescent? Even if it mention it has none

That’s personal. For the right price, some pple dun mind fluoro.

xIrdioU.jpg

Hi all. I cant decide between the Super ideal cut round or the Octagon.
Super ideal cut is a .72 E VVS2 and the Octagon is .74 E VVS1. Based on the scope photos, which is better?

t7zGyPk.jpg

xCuz9wE.jpg

gYFw9tp.jpg

f79PK7h.jpg

jNJaZ8h.jpg

caHf8nL.jpg

4mQoKtM.jpg

This one is the Super ideal cut one. Is there any difference in the GIA and AGS certificate? They told me that their Octagons are all AGS only. The Super ideal cuts have GIA or AGS.

ktnDtTy.jpg

rRUuu1U.jpg

LZnlS7y.jpg

yBbZ74A.jpg

0FHKUnP.jpg

rghxjhp.jpg

Go2h1Ro.jpg

loveSalnT

Hmm whats the difference between hearts and arrow? Just still considering for my situation i should go to jannpaul or eClarity .. hmm , 0.3+ct shine or bling really wouldnt be obvious ? Just worry getting from eClarity wouldnt shine as much or wouldnt be as good

Hearts and arrows are generally are of a better cut grades than 3EX diamonds (which eclairty will carry la)..

Just in terms better of in terms of symmetry, fire, sparkle etc due to more light that return with the bling.

I feel 0.3 too small la hence no big difference la. But maybe if okay for u, then sure, go ahead.

Bigger stones definitely able see clearer under naked eyes the color and fire.

For florescence, if she go clubbing or work in areas w high UV, then up to you to accept it. I think if not wrong Non Flo diamonds are more rare and cost slightly more.

Eclarity doesn't filter florescence. And that gives savings. As said, purchasing from there is for more pragmatic people?

Oh and yes, if not wrong, eclarity has a lot of flat carat which usually are all on the 0.5 range (0.3, then 0.35 then 0.4) 😊

Amanda told me if I'm looking for a 0.8, then go for a 0.75 instead. Different way of doing business I believe?

Other jewellery stores like JP doesn't recommend flat carat as I know. Cos 0.78 will look like a 0.8 which 0.8 has a big jump in price Liao.

loveSalnT

This one is the Super ideal cut one. Is there any difference in the GIA and AGS certificate? They told me that their Octagons are all AGS only. The Super ideal cuts have GIA or AGS.

Feels like there's a lot of JP fans here! It's like the "Go To" place for a SIC stone. LOL

Teekaay

Hearts and arrows are generally are of a better cut grades than 3EX diamonds (which eclairty will carry la)..

Just in terms better of in terms of symmetry, fire, sparkle etc due to more light that return with the bling.

I feel 0.3 too small la hence no big difference la. But maybe if okay for u, then sure, go ahead.

Bigger stones definitely able see clearer under naked eyes the color and fire.

For florescence, if she go clubbing or work in areas w high UV, then up to you to accept it. I think if not wrong Non Flo diamonds are more rare and cost slightly more.

Eclarity doesn't filter florescence. And that gives savings. As said, purchasing from there is for more pragmatic people?

Oh and yes, if not wrong, eclarity has a lot of flat carat which usually are all on the 0.5 range (0.3, then 0.35 then 0.4) 😊

Amanda told me if I'm looking for a 0.8, then go for a 0.75 instead. Different way of doing business I believe?

Other jewellery stores like JP doesn't recommend flat carat as I know. Cos 0.78 will look like a 0.8 which 0.8 has a big jump in price Liao.

Hmm.. Let's say even if i choose JP 0.3ct / 0.4ct diamonds , It might not even shine that much as well ? Does JP generally carry diamonds that florescence that are none ?

Lucas28

loveSalnT

Hmm.. Let's say even if i choose JP 0.3ct / 0.4ct diamonds , It might not even shine that much as well ? Does JP generally carry diamonds that florescence that are none ?

Suggest u go to a jewellery shop like eclarity or JP (your shortlisted shops) to ask them show u both 0.3 and 0.4 3EX and SIC to look at it on the difference and you can judge yourself?

Miltah

hi sifus here, is
AGS A-Cut above = GIA super ideal cut?
https://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/round-cut-loose-diamond-4107631.htm

AGS Expert Selection = GIA ideal cut?
https://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/round-cut-loose-diamond-2724650.htm

from both actual diamond 360 video above, i can even see some scratches wiht naked eyes, where are those reflected in the cert parameter/category? under clarity?

Both are poor choices.
If I had the time, I’m sure I can pick out a better expert selection stone.

Your first stone is also a very good example showing why a VS2 stone can look WORSE than a SI1 clarity grade.

Clarity plots are found in the AGS report

rdpeKwh.jpg

prisleongsing

thx miltah!
so expert selection is lower grade than A-cut above? these are AGS grading system?

what about these two?
https://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/compare/?idnos=3892599,4107630

I got quoted these from the HOH Ideal cuts before that are comparable. You can compare them with the ones online.

0.58 G VS1 $3,250
0.56 G VVS2 $3,300
0.58 E VS2 $3,500
the prices are with taxes

I find that if you can find a diamond in your criteria range locally and the price is comparable or cheaper, its better than online as the local stores will have the free ring services like resizing and plating. Summore you get to see the physical rock. Only if the you cant find your criteria or there is significant savings, then I'll consider online.

Miltah

thx miltah!
so expert selection is lower grade than A-cut above? these are AGS grading system?

what about these two?
https://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/compare/?idnos=3892599,4107630

Whiteflash top grade is ACA
Second grade is Expert Selection followed by premium select.

Yes these are all AGS graded. I see you have bumped your selection up from VS2 to VS1. U dun have do it just cos of my comments. That’s where the clarity grades dun tell u regardless if it’s GIA or AGS. You can have a VS2 but it could be 1 severe inclusions versus many small inclusions ...

Based on your 2 choices, the first stone 0.541 F VS1 looks better. Even though it has an inclusion the table, it’s hardly noticeable. It also has less yellow hue compared to the other stone

Lucas28

I got quoted these from the HOH Ideal cuts before that are comparable. You can compare them with the ones online.

0.58 G VS1 $3,250
0.56 G VVS2 $3,300
0.58 E VS2 $3,500
the prices are with taxes

I find that if you can find a diamond in your criteria range locally and the price is comparable or cheaper, its better than online as the local stores will have the free ring services like resizing and plating. Summore you get to see the physical rock. Only if the you cant find your criteria or there is significant savings, then I'll consider online.

i guess whiteflash acutabove is higher grade than HOH ideal cut?
i got quote from JP 0.52c E VS1 sgd3850..then i search those loose gem website find out can get cheaper price for higher carat..so dilemma.. thinking to ask JP i get stone online then they do setting cannot, if they can customize setting design with 550 only haha

Lucas28

Whiteflash top grade is ACA
Second grade is Expert Selection followed by premium select.

Yes these are all AGS graded. I see you have bumped your selection up from VS2 to VS1. U dun have do it just cos of my comments. That’s where the clarity grades dun tell u regardless if it’s GIA or AGS. You can have a VS2 but it could be 1 severe inclusions versus many small inclusions ...

Based on your 2 choices, the first stone 0.541 F VS1 looks better. Even though it has an inclusion the table, it’s hardly noticeable. It also has less yellow hue compared to the other stone

thx!
how to see the yellow hue is less? from which image?

prisleongsing

i got quote from JP 0.52c E VS1 sgd3850..then i search those loose gem website find out can get cheaper price for higher carat..so dilemma.. thinking to ask JP i get stone online then they do setting cannot, if they can customize setting design with 550 only haha

I dont think whiteflash acutabove is necessarily a higher grade than the HOH Ideal. In fact, I saw some HOH Ideal that are better than whiteflash, vice versa. I think it depends on that individual diamond you're comparing with.

From my understanding of the price, it is Super Ideal Cut > Ideal Cut > Excellent. But not everyone's quality control is the same. Some can even sell Ideal or Excellent cuts as ''Super Ideal Cut''. End of the day, you have to compare them with the scopes to know for sure.

Miltah

Someone posted earlier buying from James Allen and setting at HOH for $600 with customisation.

Agree that not ACA’s are the same. U need to find the better one. Personally I would try to look for a good SI clarity online

Miltah

OPxa483.jpg

zeSZ2tA.jpg

Just wanted to show you guys the WhiteFlash ring I gotten. Pardon my hand. Haha special thanks to Miltah for helping me narrow down my choice.

Pardon the lighting too. It was in my room.

No worries.
The best lighting is in the open, shaded area. Even the most well cut stone can only reflect what surrounding light there is. It’s not a torchlight .. lol

Been helping a few bros out and busting the quota on my PM so deleted some n can’t recall the specs on your stone. But well done.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.