Going SPAIN? Ask this amdk ah beng!

purpleberry

Was in Madrid and Andalusia last Dec for ~10 days. Weather was cold at night and early morning but still bearable if it is not too windy. Only time it was very pretty uncomfortable for was up in Ronda when it was windy at night.

I only used a money belt and did not have any extra protection, luckily did not encounter any issues. Furthermore, I used my regular holiday tote bag which does not have a zip on top.

The three brands that you mentioned caters to different customer demographics with the accompanying pricing, not really apple to apple comparison.

November december is ok around here...maybe quite cold.

For the shops....mmm...moreless same la, dutti more classic and more ex. The good thing about spain ish the fashion is quite affordable. Bring your luggage empty and buy here (only if u come when we haf summer clothes haha)

Thanks! Will take note of the weather. Plan to travel really free and easy this time and not bogged down by schedule. I forgot about Zegna but that's a different level. Me likey!

The only thing that draws me back to Barcelona is Gaudi. First time I had goose bumps just by looking at his architecture. That was 15 years ago when most of the tourists were from EU itself. Now is like fighting light sabers with selfie sticks. lol

BTW, if you come across someone with Antonio Garcia Gomes Hernando etc. Which one is the surname?

Sauron

Thanks! Will take note of the weather. Plan to travel really free and easy this time and not bogged down by schedule. I forgot about Zegna but that's a different level. Me likey!

The only thing that draws me back to Barcelona is Gaudi. First time I had goose bumps just by looking at his architecture. That was 15 years ago when most of the tourists were from EU itself. Now is like fighting light sabers with selfie sticks. lol

BTW, if you come across someone with Antonio Garcia Gomes Hernando etc. Which one is the surname?

I know Spanish names consists of given name then father's name then mother's name,in that order. Dunno about your example of 4 names.

Zegna is italian, isn't it?

There is another spanish brand adolfo dominguez, clothes are nice but more like european fit. A bit more ex than massimo dutti but still more affordable than loewe.

purpleberry

I know Spanish names consists of given name then father's name then mother's name,in that order. Dunno about your example of 4 names.

Zegna is italian, isn't it?

There is another spanish brand adolfo dominguez, clothes are nice but more like european fit. A bit more ex than massimo dutti but still more affordable than loewe.

Yes, I wanted to mention Dominguez instead of Zegna. It was really hard to find good quality mandarin collar suits in the 90s and this brand made a damn good one.

spangaporean

if it's so touristy won't have nice IG photos also lol.. yeah I'm really all for the architecture. :( nvm I think I'll just focus on Madrid and Andalusia regions.

9D excluding flight there.. trains & coaches safe for 2 females traveling? I was considering booking with their local tours for safety reasons.. any recommendations?

Safe safe dont worry le....:s22:

spangaporean

Jajaja yess, now bring chiur selfie stick oso to join the battle!!

Antonio García Gómez hernando

Antonio ish name
García ish fathers surname
Gómez ish mother Surname
Hernando could be third surname that ish the father second surname (we dont really use) OR can be a compound surname "Gómez hernando"

Here we use both surnames and waifu never loose their surname when they get married. Oso u can decide the order of your surnames.

spangaporean

Yes, I wanted to mention Dominguez instead of Zegna. It was really hard to find good quality mandarin collar suits in the 90s and this brand made a damn good one.

Adolfo dominguez ish naise. The cologne oso naise.

L_8410190612655.jpg

Mandarin collar we call it "cuello mao" (mao´s neck haha) in case u need to know :s22:

purpleberry

Jajaja yess, now bring chiur selfie stick oso to join the battle!!

Antonio García Gómez hernando

Antonio ish name
García ish fathers surname
Gómez ish mother Surname
Hernando could be third surname that ish the father second surname (we dont really use) OR can be a compound surname "Gómez hernando"

Here we use both surnames and waifu never loose their surname when they get married. Oso u can decide the order of your surnames.

Interesting to know. So how do I address them with salutations? Mr Garcia Gomez or any surname is fine?

purpleberry

Adolfo dominguez ish naise. The cologne oso naise.

Mandarin collar we call it "cuello mao" (mao´s neck haha) in case u need to know :s22:

The last time I bought was in the 1990s, made in Spain. I am not sure about the quality now and won't be surprised if its made in China.

danielkok

In Córdoba now. Temperatures have finally fallen. Still sunny but it is now 26 degrees. Phew! Here got la fiesta patio de cordoba. Nais!

spangaporean

In Córdoba now. Temperatures have finally fallen. Still sunny but it is now 26 degrees. Phew! Here got la fiesta patio de cordoba. Nais!

oi sinkie..chiu keep talking but moi see no photos! angmoh want to see! :s13::s12:

purpleberry

waaaa 1990s! so loong! almost like singapore merdeka! :s13:

Just found out Adolfo don't have any more stores in SG. Tried to order online but they dont deliver to SG. Emailed them for other shipping methods also dont have. Que mierda! :(

spangaporean

Just found out Adolfo don't have any more stores in SG. Tried to order online but they dont deliver to SG. Emailed them for other shipping methods also dont have. Que mierda! :(

Adolfo dominguez was not doing well in recent past....now seems better but let see :s8:

jajaj chiu use ¡QUE MIERDA! perfect in the context! :s13:

ysyj48

Senor spangaporean, pls advise if my barcelona plan is makes sense, i.e. maximising my time and seeing attractions that are close to one another, not wasting too much time travelling etc.

day 1
3pm: arrive in bcn from malaga. hotel check in, lunch
4.30pm: free walking tour of Gothic quarter covering: (start) Plaça Reial / Plaça del Pi / Jewish Quarter / Plaça Sant Jaume / Cathedral cloister / Plaça Sant Felip Neri / Roman city / Medieval city & Plaça del Rei / Santa Maria del Mar (end)
7pm: Tour Santa Maria del Mar interior
7.30pm: drink world best coffee at Cafes El Magnifico
8pm: Go to Hofmann Patisseria. 9-2, reopens 3.30 - 8/8.30
8.30pm: Picasso musuem (free entry on Thur)
9pm: Dinner at Ziryab Fusion tapas bar or El Xampanyet (El Born area).

day 2:
9am: Bfast at Mercat de la Boqueria
11am - 1.30pm: Free Gaudi walking tour covering: (start) Plaça Reial / Palau Güell / Block of Discord / Casa Batlló / Passeig de Gràcia / Eixample architecture / La Pedrera / Sagrada Familia (end)
1.30pm: lunch at Gaudí Avenue
2.30pm: dessert at Bakery Puiggròs
3.30pm: tour interior of Casa Mila la pedrera.
6.30pm: Sagrada Familia tour 6.30pm (alrdy bought the tix, no earlier time slot available)
8pm: Dinner at Barceloneta area walk around Port Vell, giant lobster statue etc

day 3:
9am: breakfast (any recommendations? im staying near Universitat stn)
11am: Parc Guell (already bought tix)
3pm: lunch at Bodega 1900 at Carrer de Tamarit (already reserved, no earlier time slot)
5pm: shopping
7pm: Plaça d'Espanya. see view from shppg mall's roof next door
7.30pm: dinner around Plaça d'Espanya (Senor, any recommendations?:s13:)
9pm: see magic fountain

day 4:
free and easy till 2.30pm (depart for airport)

any other things/places i shd visit/eat at? any suggestions to change the itinerary wld be welcome too. thanks alot!:s13:

ysyj48

Haha I didn’t buy the barcelona hop on and off.

I got a T10 ticket and moved around on metros and buses with Google map. Worked like a charm!

Oh I just realised most shops are closed on Sunday? I am going back singapore on Monday. So I should buy all my shopping stuff today Saturday.

most shops closed on Sunday but shppg malls and those big brands like zara, mango, masimo dutti etc will be open right? its only those small shops that are closed? im in the same situation as u, going back to sg on monday, so i was planning to shop on Sunday

finale1

Google map told me the big Brands like Zara around placa de catalunya were closed but it was opened.

But to be safe, just buy them on sat. You should do shopping on sat and sightseeing on Sunday.

Also there is one shopping mall open on Sunday called maremagnum near the beach in Barceloneta.

Airport has Zara too but a really small one.

most shops closed on Sunday but shppg malls and those big brands like zara, mango, masimo dutti etc will be open right? its only those small shops that are closed? im in the same situation as u, going back to sg on monday, so i was planning to shop on Sunday

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.