MoCA Network Setup | Ethernet over TV cable

askh52

My moca 2.5 adapter arrived liao! And thanks Mr Liu for providing the type g power adapter as requested. Nice gesture!

eNsA8zkl.jpg

kKW6h8Ul.jpg

yaGPYHXl.jpg

Allow me some time to setup n test.

Sent from Xiaomi MI A2 LITE using GAGT

Mr Liu from gocoax?

By the way how long does the delivery takes?

vaxvms

My moca 2.5 adapter arrived liao! And thanks Mr Liu for providing the type g power adapter as requested. Nice gesture!

any reason u choose this over actiontec or motorola ?

vaxvms

Ok, got the moca set up and running. Speed test shows 450Mbps which is more than enough. Disconnected the main coaxial and used the f to f connectors to replace the splitter.

So one ont terminal port for internet which runs to the Linksys router and then used moca directly to one room. One other ont terminal port for tv. For the tv I got 2 stbs from starhub. Both running from an IP switch, one nearby, so direct from the IP switch, then for the other, ran a rj45 to a Eocc master unit which connected directly to the other slave unit in another room.

So I'm running both Eocc and moca in parallel coaxial lines to different rooms, one for internet, the other for tv, for the stb, on runs direct from the IP switch, the other uses Eocc.

just to cfm room starhub fiber box only chance is to use eocc correct ? my home cfm no chance to lay cable now

thinkning cancel scv than maybe switch over to starhub go streaming box

vaxvms

Yes, as you said, you need 4x Actiontec MoCA adapters. Technically, using the terminator cap is correct. But as you saw, there is a lock there to prevent unauthorised people from opening (tempering) with the connection. IF, a big if, SCV can accuse you of tempering with their property. You own the outgoing cables from the splitter. The input cable to the splitter belongs to SCV. I have no answer who owns the splitter.

In any case, the splitter need not be changed, so no issue here. The splitter works for frequencies from about 5 MHz to 1000 MHz used by cable tv. Those rated for higher frequency, eg 2300MHz are meant for satellite signals pump through cables. It supplies the same signal (at a lower leve) to each out going cable. The cable connected speed, as claimed by Actiontec, remains at 1G. But actual surfing speed will depend on the total number of devices currently connected.

can i say once cable terminated end of june , we do not need to bother abt termination point ?

vaxvms

The only loss is my digital voice service. On cable, the modem was in my office and I had a phone attached to provide voice service. With the new setup, the modem is in the living room with the TV, and there is no way to extend that to my office. I will try a cordless phone but given the distance and concrete walls, I am not hopeful.

u can try this phone i using https://motorolarange.sg/home-phones/cordless-phones-158/o2-series.html
range is fantastic. me staying on high floor
i can call/rx call in MSCP

pokey2014

6SDAzmU.jpg

yURJ56j.jpg

4AdlGsV.jpg

D09seCi.jpg

X2EMeeF.jpg

Is this normal for 160mbps??, I thought it should be faster.

I am on StarHub fiber with Actiontech MoCA 2.0 bonded and I have a Tp link switch connected with my Google wifi.

vaxvms

u go test other site speed in room

else connect direct at living hall main moca and test speed

shoulld not be lotza of diff

actiontex jin satki~~~~~~~~~~

vaxvms

eNsA8zkl.jpg

kKW6h8Ul.jpg

yaGPYHXl.jpg

tot default shipping country is SG so should be UK plug default

pherrasis007

Moca for Singtel TV?

Hi
Can i use MoCa for Singtel TV?
I thought we should be able to run singtel tv over coaxial?
I want to sign up for Singtel but I do not have any datapoints near my TV

pushtopen

just to cfm room starhub fiber box only chance is to use eocc correct ? my home cfm no chance to lay cable now

thinkning cancel scv than maybe switch over to starhub go streaming box

Other way is to lay rj cable but you say cannot liao ma. Can use moca for tv also if you want. But rule of thumb is, tv and internet connection to ont must be separated. So if you know where the different coaxial cable run at from the entry point splitter, you can actually set up separate systems of delivery like I did. But of cos need to run rj cable from the ont to one of the systems (moca or Eocc), the other system can just use the coaxial point.

Tobias Indigo

MoCA and POE Filter

Hi, I need to install a MoCA. I wrote to StarHub to explain that I was installing the MoCA infrastructure and required them to fit a POE filter but they obviously didn’t understand the first part of the question and sent me this:

“We wish to share that we do not have a service that allows the usage of the cable network or provide the MOCA POE filter.”

I’m not sure they can say that they do not “...allow(s) the usage of the cable network” . The cable network in the apartment is owned by my landlord so the internal cabling is nothing to do with them.

How did any of you get Starhub to fit a POE filter?

Thanks

vaxvms

Hi, I need to install a MoCA. I wrote to StarHub to explain that I was installing the MoCA infrastructure and required them to fit a POE filter but they obviously didn’t understand the first part of the question and sent me this:

“We wish to share that we do not have a service that allows the usage of the cable network or provide the MOCA POE filter.”

I’m not sure they can say that they do not “...allow(s) the usage of the cable network” . The cable network in the apartment is owned by my landlord so the internal cabling is nothing to do with them.

Thanks

u dun need a filter july onward

Tobias Indigo

I live in 27 story Condo so it will be prudent to have a POE in case someone else in the building has a MoCA or similar setup which may interfere.

xiaofan

Thanks

Starhub does not support MOCA, just EOC/EOCC for the Fibre TV only. So you are on your own.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.