[OFFICIAL] Taiwan Guide and Taiwan related matters - Part 9

ApeTruelove

I bought insurance leh. I wonder how come jetstar still allow check in till now.

Sent from Xiaomi REDMI 5A using GAGT

Good for you buy insurance.

Today jetstar cancelled flight. Those airline haven cancel flight one is just waiting to see how it goes nia. A lot reschedule until afternoon onward hopefully better if not will further delay

rottingapple

Today jetstar cancelled flight. Those airline haven cancel flight one is just waiting to see how it goes nia. A lot reschedule until afternoon onward hopefully better if not will further delay
My booking is a midnight flight

koreanlover

Cancelled means not rescheduled , have to re-book by ourselves?

dilphinus

My booking is a midnight flight

You don't have much to worry if you are checking in tonight.

By the time you arrive in Taoyuan tomorrow morning, Lekima would be in the Philippines sea.

zznais

For me i would try to plan it as below.
But not sure is it better anot..
lols

Day 1 - Taoyuan (late afternoon), stay at Taichung

Day 2 - Head to Green Green Grassland (see sheep, step on their poo; what else to do there?), stay for a night CingJing

Day 3 -farm tour (strawberry??) (Miaoli), Flying Cow (Miaoli), stay at Leofoo Resort

Day 4 - Head to Leofoo Theme Park, HSR from HsinChu to taipei, stay at taipei

Day 5 - Back to Taipei (Jiufen, Shifen), stay at Taipei

Day 6 - Taipei (nothing yet, any suggestion?)

Day 7 - Taipei (nothing yet, any suggestion?)

Day 8 - Taipei (final shopping/sight seeing, etc) > Taoyuan (around noon) > Back home

My opinion:
Day 1 - Taoyuan (late afternoon), stay in Taoyuan
Day 2 - Head to Leofoo Theme Park, stay at Leofoo Resort or stay a night in Flying Cow
Day 3 - after flying cow stay a night in cingjing
Day 4 - Green Green Grassland, skywalk etc. evening stay in Taichung
Day 5 - late afternoon take HSR from Taichung to Taipei.
Day 6 - Taipei free
Day 7 - Jiufen, Shifen
Day 8 - back home

Thank you both for this!

Just to share - we spoke with a driver and he does not seem keen with Cingjing, especially staying a night at Cingjing. He seems to suggest that it is rather costly to stay at Cingjing; traffic can be heavy; not much night activity (unlike Taichung); temperature will get cold at night (10+ degree C) which might be a problem for my little one (3 yo).

Also for the strawberry farm visit, he also told us it is the beginning of the season and the strawberry fruit might not be fully grown/ready for picking. In another words, we might be disappointed with the strawberry farm visit. (BTW, we will be in TW during the first weekend of Dec 2019). Maybe we'll switch to Xinfeng farm? I read that the fruit season is ending in Dec, not sure if there are any left for us then... :s11::s11:

This is the revised draft plan, with some input from the driver:

Day 1 - Taoyuan (late afternoon), stay at XMD
Day 2 - Head to Leofoo Theme Park, stay at Taichung
Day 3 - Xinfeng farm / Lavender cottage / Puli town (paper mill, 18 c chocolate), stay at Lu-Shan
Day 4 - Head to Green Green Grassland, skywalk etc, head back to XMD (after lunch)
Day 5 - Jiufen, Shifen
Day 6 - Taipei free
Day 7 - Taipei free
Day 8 - Go home

dangerdevil

If is just a 6D5N, is it logical to plan itinerary out of taipei ? I mean to visit places out of taipei and back to Taipei..or just stay in taipei alone?

calkel20

If is just a 6D5N, is it logical to plan itinerary out of taipei ? I mean to visit places out of taipei and back to Taipei..or just stay in taipei alone?

Well depends on budget.
A day trip out to yilan, luodong, taichung or hsinchu is possible too without burning a hole in the pocket.
Do you knw that jiufen and shifen is already considered out of Taipei city?

calkel20

Thank you both for this!

Just to share - we spoke with a driver and he does not seem keen with Cingjing, especially staying a night at Cingjing. He seems to suggest that it is rather costly to stay at Cingjing; traffic can be heavy; not much night activity (unlike Taichung); temperature will get cold at night (10+ degree C) which might be a problem for my little one (3 yo).

Also for the strawberry farm visit, he also told us it is the beginning of the season and the strawberry fruit might not be fully grown/ready for picking. In another words, we might be disappointed with the strawberry farm visit. (BTW, we will be in TW during the first weekend of Dec 2019). Maybe we'll switch to Xinfeng farm? I read that the fruit season is ending in Dec, not sure if there are any left for us then... :s11::s11:

Day 3 - Xinfeng farm / Lavender cottage / Puli town (paper mill, 18 c chocolate), stay at Lu-Shan
Day 4 - Head to Green Green Grassland, skywalk etc, head back to XMD (after lunch)
Day 5 - Jiufen, Shifen
Day 6 - Taipei free
Day 7 - Taipei free
Day 8 - Go home
Day 3 stay cingjing ba.
Morning still can go watch sunrise on Day 4 if weather is good.
Beginning of Dec is rather good weather.
Not to worry too much on that.

Andrew833

Thank you both for this!

Day 5 - Jiufen, Shifen
Day 6 - Taipei free
Day 7 - Taipei free
Day 8 - Go home

What the driver say is for his advantage, cos staying a night in cingjing is expensive for him. Fruit farm, you can call or email them. I wanted to go Neihu (Taipei) strawberry farm, call up, owner said he is going out so will be close. Taichung, my book taxi driver try to contact a farm for us to go also not available. So it's not a confirm thing.

Your plan look ok to me. I will not stay in Lu-Shan, prefer cingjing.

calkel20

What the driver say is for his advantage, cos staying a night in cingjing is expensive for him. Fruit farm, you can call or email them. I wanted to go Neihu (Taipei) strawberry farm, call up, owner said he is going out so will be close. Taichung, my book taxi driver try to contact a farm for us to go also not available. So it's not a confirm thing.

Your plan look ok to me. I will not stay in Lu-Shan, prefer cingjing.

I WIll say hehuanshan.
Damn shiok!

BTSonic

I have just made Jetstar booking on 8 days trip to Taiwan in end Nov to early Dec. Will touch down at Toayuan airport. Initially wanted to book Scoot to fly to Kaohsiung, but the air ticket is too exp.

This will be my 2nd time touring Taiwan with my family, I would like to cover Alishan and Taroko park during the 1st 5 days, and the last 3 days stay at Taipei. Any suggestions?

During my 1st trip, I have covered sun moon lake, jiu feng, shi fen and yilan, will not be repeating these places.

Any suggestions will be appreciated. Thanks.

BTSonic

Initially plan to go straight to Alishan fr Toayuan airport, but after some research on the internet, the route that goes to Alishan fr Taoyuan involve a lot of changing trains and/or buses. I have 2 elderly in my group, and with all the luggages, i guess it is not very feasible. Should i stay 1 night in Taipei first then travel out to Alishan the following day? Or shld i engage a driver to bring the group up to Alishan immediately after we reach taoyuan airport?

My group has 9 pple, include kids and elderly.

calkel20

Initially plan to go straight to Alishan fr Toayuan airport, but after some research on the internet, the route that goes to Alishan fr Taoyuan involve a lot of changing trains and/or buses. I have 2 elderly in my group, and with all the luggages, i guess it is not very feasible. Should i stay 1 night in Taipei first then travel out to Alishan the following day? Or shld i engage a driver to bring the group up to Alishan immediately after we reach taoyuan airport?

My group has 9 pple, include kids and elderly.

9 can book a bus liao.
What time do you arrive?

calkel20

I have just made Jetstar booking on 8 days trip to Taiwan in end Nov to early Dec. Will touch down at Toayuan airport. Initially wanted to book Scoot to fly to Kaohsiung, but the air ticket is too exp.

This will be my 2nd time touring Taiwan with my family, I would like to cover Alishan and Taroko park during the 1st 5 days, and the last 3 days stay at Taipei. Any suggestions?

During my 1st trip, I have covered sun moon lake, jiu feng, shi fen and yilan, will not be repeating these places.

Any suggestions will be appreciated. Thanks.

FRom alishan to taroko is a ling way, still need to go to sun moon lake.

BTSonic

FRom alishan to taroko is a ling way, still need to go to sun moon lake.

Visited Sun Moon Lake 2 yrs ago, any other interesting places in between that i can visit?

I read somewhere in the forum b4 that at taoyuan there r some private tour tt we can sign up, anyone know anything abt this? I dont mind signing up a 5 days private tour that can bring my grp to Alishan and Taroko and some other places then back to Taipei. Anyone know whether any website that offer such private tour? Thanks.

calkel20

Visited Sun Moon Lake 2 yrs ago, any other interesting places in between that i can visit?

I read somewhere in the forum b4 that at taoyuan there r some private tour tt we can sign up, anyone know anything abt this? I dont mind signing up a 5 days private tour that can bring my grp to Alishan and Taroko and some other places then back to Taipei. Anyone know whether any website that offer such private tour? Thanks.

Can do.
I think if you can do alishan, then cingjing then taroko then yilan lor.

I recommend THE TAICHUNG DRIVER from fb.
He has a link here as well.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.