Thinning Hair problem

fistno

Happen to come across this thread.
I had minor hair loss for years too, esp during my time in army. I managed to recover quite well by using minoxidil.
Initially, I was recommended 2% by polyclinic doctor, but hair loss still continue. After that I stop using mino and went on to try jackie chen endorsed shampoo, Ba Wang. The product has no use for mine blackie hairs.
Everyday I lose hairs, esp during my time in outfield when ah boys like us who can hardly bath or even take shower during outfield training, the hair loss is even more. Whenever I scratch my itcy head, there were always hairs leftover on my palms.

End up, I came across toppik and after hesitation, I decided to try out toppik hair fiber where I bought from carousell, to cover up my thinning hair and patches of botak. Initially I don't believe in this thing. Where got sure thing as instant hair grow. If there is, nobody in the world will have hair problem liao loh. But still I choose to go ahead, given the limited choice I have. I managed to meet up with the seller to get a bottle of toppik. When the seller turn up, he asked me if I have any idea of how to use toppik. I told him no. He is very steady. He open up the bottle and on the spot demonstrated to me how to use toppik to style my hair. I was suprised that the result of using is very good. He explained to me that, toppik is like many other normal hair fiber, they are temporarily and the fiber is make of hort life keratin, and not very waterproof. Once it get wet, the fiber will be wash off and the miracle effort will go back to normal.

I share with him my story and he laughed. The reason why minoxidil does not work. He told me that in order to have good result with minoxidil for men or women, minoxidil 5% has to be used twice daily and leave it on for 4hrs after apply. Our hair follicles work in cycle just like people wake up in the day and sleep in the night. The hair follicles also have cycles, when they sleep on a month and get active again in another month. He even show me a forum known as hairlosstalk forum, where people form all walks of life post successful story from hair loss using minoxidil. You can google, hairlosstalk forum, and click on image tag to see all their images and links to their thread. I have learnt alot from him, about hair fibers, minoxidil, biotin, vitamin E, tocotrienols, keratin. You can also google on all this terms to have a brief knowledge on them. This knowledge will help you a long way. Now my hairs feel full, recovered quite well and still have room for improvement.

So in summary, minoxidil works. But you must use the correct percentage, anything less than 5% is not useful. I must say I have try diy hair loss management and saved a huge bucks, which is way much cheaper than going to lousy beijing 101.
You can also use hair fibers to rebuild your confidence, give your head a full hair look, while you goes on your journey for long term hairs recovery.

Feel free to ask me anything. I will try to help if I have the answers.

s3rg3l

Anyone tried those powder kind of hair concealers? Like from www.sevichsolutions.com

Any side effects from our hot weather in singapore. Very scared it will run when I sweat.

The Sinkie

saw a few buddy stopped after using finasteride for awhile.. dunno why they started in the first place
finasteride must keep eating. once stop effect stop.
some experience good regrowth, while some just stop losing.
it's like life time vitamin to keep your hair there.

popdod

saw a few buddy stopped after using finasteride for awhile.. dunno why they started in the first place
finasteride must keep eating. once stop effect stop.
some experience good regrowth, while some just stop losing.
it's like life time vitamin to keep your hair there.

Bcoz some experience side effects. :(

The Sinkie

Bcoz some experience side effects. :(

oh..

but anyway use fin must be religiously taking it.. even if you never see clear regrowth, you will still see ur head having same or slightly more amount of hair 5-6 years later..

only fin and minox fda proven.. fin attack dht while minox simulate growth.. though using both together show no much improvement over just using fin for myself.

Dude92

Sian I developed hair thinning prolly when I was about 18 years old. It’s more of a diffuser thinning throughout the entire head. Tried a lot of stuff, from Chinese medicine to saw palmetto pill, to salon treatment and dermatologist and shampoo but nth seems to work... it’s about 10 years since I started thinning and now my hair is so thin Idk what to do ****... can’t cut botak also my head is not round and gt pimples fml...

_hulk_

My hair at crown as been thinning.

Decided to try 5% minoxidil. Ordered kirkland minoxidil. Not sure if good.

Heard need to apply 1-2 times a day for 8 hours each time. Better to do before sleep.

4-6 months to see results for most ppl.

At the start, existing hair will drop in order to grow new stronger hair.

Once start using, cannot stop as hair loss will come back.

True above?

lordofthering

So is it the cheapest to get Propecia and minoxidil from JB?

1) what brand is recommended and around how much are these two per month?
2) Any problem bringing back to SG and in JB need prescription? Thank you

rachdanon

Using hairmax laserband 82 for about a year now. There is improvement but slowly. Needs perserverance. I am also taking Ashwagandha daily. This combo seems to work for me.

orochris

Hi guys

I just started using growell minoxidil 5 from nsc. Anyone can share Where's the cheapest method to buy? Online, from jb /bkk etc?
Thk u

Welpsie

Henlo! 👋🏻 This may be random but i got posted to hta (police national service) in oct (pes b4). I've been losing hair for some time and I've contacted the national skin centre for an appt.
The earliest they can do is in November but I'll still be in bpt at that point of time. It's difficult to get a leave for a day just for that reason right? If so, please advise me :-( thank u

vbhelper

Henlo! 👋🏻 This may be random but i got posted to hta (police national service) in oct (pes b4). I've been losing hair for some time and I've contacted the national skin centre for an appt.
The earliest they can do is in November but I'll still be in bpt at that point of time. It's difficult to get a leave for a day just for that reason right? If so, please advise me :-( thank u

u don't have to declare ur medical condition to anyone

Welpsie

Ah I see. But I have to have an mc right? Dont think they'll provide an mc though... will a timesheet/ excuse chit be good enough? Sorry I havent enlist yet idk how this go about HELP 😭

u don't have to declare ur medical condition to anyone

vbhelper

Ah I see. But I have to have an mc right? Dont think they'll provide an mc though... will a timesheet/ excuse chit be good enough? Sorry I havent enlist yet idk how this go about HELP 😭

U can try keep calling nsc daily to see if they have last min slot before nov or u can opt for non subsidy consultation which appointment is usually much faster
Usually see consultant for hair loss cannot give mc.

Welpsie

Called and they said earliest is in Nov :( I enlist in early october so i guess there's not much to do alr haiz... do u think I can take an mc on a sunday so I can go to nsc just for this? That'd be malingering though 😭
Was thinking to just go to gp to for propecia first. Meanwhile I'll book an appt w nsc thru poly referral on a monday to get subsidy. Haiz do u think that's viable?
Btw thanks for replying! :)

U can try keep calling nsc daily to see if they have last min slot before nov or u can opt for non subsidy consultation which appointment is usually much faster
Usually see consultant for hair loss cannot give mc.

vbhelper

Called and they said earliest is in Nov :( I enlist in early october so i guess there's not much to do alr haiz... do u think I can take an mc on a sunday so I can go to nsc just for this? That'd be malingering though 😭
Was thinking to just go to gp to for propecia first. Meanwhile I'll book an appt w nsc thru poly referral on a monday to get subsidy. Haiz do u think that's viable?
Btw thanks for replying! :)

1. Your Nov apt is not subsidised consultation?

Try calling almost daily to check if they have last min dropout and tell them u need earlier slot bec u will be going NS in Nov.

or

2. Like what u mention: go to gp to for propecia first. Meanwhile I'll book an appt w nsc thru poly referral on a monday to get subsidy. Buy minox to apply first, no need prescription

or

3. Visit ur camp MO, ask them to refer u to NSC. All ur specialist visits will be subsidised but also need to see whether the MO is nice or not. Some MO very b@st@rd

U are still very young, not sure if doc will prescribe propecia.

Both propecia and minox will cause u to shed in the first few months but anyway u will shave bald hence won't be visible

vbhelper

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.