Recommendation: Reliable workshops in JB

liquidh

You are right. If you want to go Jb make sure you get JB price. Kenna chopped by JHK. Might as well save time and do in Singapore.

Change oil. Max you pay is rm20. Oil chane is so easy even your maid can do (if you jack up the car).

Wheel alignment plus balancing should be rm50.

Just drive into a random shop and ask for prices. If cannot get these prices, drive off.

Definitely can save alot if one just throw car to workshop type in singapore. But if one already buy this buy that ownself then the labour is already very small cost...

Plus..those workshop you guys mentioned....are actually double charge you guys...i saw a few of the prices mentioned...they already treated you sinkies like caishenye then you all kept promoting them lol. The rambo and another shop...famous for ketok sinkies...

There are cheap workshops..but unknown ones....just randomly walk into one those kind..for eg...aircon topup gas...rm20...wheel alignment..rm20...all wheels balancing ...rm20.....these shops you guys go are already charging you guys in the region of something like rm50.

Sammychan

No need to quarrel la. Come on, all adults here.

It's a freedom of choice. If u like to service ur car in msia, just go and then share the good n reliable places.

If u prefer to do it in sg, just do it by all means. nothing what mah.

May be the mods can consider starting another thread on reliable ws in sg. After all, this thread is more for those who like or thinking of going to msia to do up their rides. Just saying.
Not quarrel la. Freedom of speech ma. It is not much cheaper la for the price mentioned. I saw one post said went rambo for compressor change rm1800. Got cheap meh? Do in sg la. Buy your own compressor $300. Get workshop to fix plus refill gas $60. Malaysia cheaper? Really? Only if you know their market rate and not convert to sgd then say cheap.

myviowner

I think you are in the wrong thread dude. There is one thread that focus on sg workshop. try harder and you will get that thread.Share market price dose not really help brothers here.
I see you are in dilemma state.

koolaid

Not quarrel la. Freedom of speech ma. It is not much cheaper la for the price mentioned. I saw one post said went rambo for compressor change rm1800. Got cheap meh? Do in sg la. Buy your own compressor $300. Get workshop to fix plus refill gas $60. Malaysia cheaper? Really? Only if you know their market rate and not convert to sgd then say cheap.

true la, must do homework first and ask around. but its people's choice at the end of the day ma. but sometimes, owners are ignorant or not so well informed, so get cheated easily. :(

not just car repairs/servicing, some people buy home applicance oso kena cheated, buy used car oso kena cheated, buy furniture oso kena, buy food oso can kena. :( last year, my parents neighbor (70+ elderly) told me she went to the mall to buy topup card for her phone, end up spending > $300+ for casing, battery and screen protection. i called and told her daughter what happened, and we hatched a plan. the follwing day, we went back to the shop in the mall and settle the score.

but life is about lessons and learning la. we all get cheated before, one way or another, so bo pian we need to learn from it lor. :(

liquidh

I think Singaporean drivers going to JB should know what is their market. If Malaysian gets something done at rm20. You should pay no more than rm20.

But some people will pay rm50 (because they will think to themselves that in SG they need to pay $20sgd). So there’s some “savings”. :s22:

SuperSprint

Anyway, the sammychan made a good point.

Other JB areas further away will be cheaper
Skudai and much further.

Sammychan

true la, must do homework first and ask around. but its people's choice at the end of the day ma. but sometimes, owners are ignorant or not so well informed, so get cheated easily. :(

not just car repairs/servicing, some people buy home applicance oso kena cheated, buy used car oso kena cheated, buy furniture oso kena, buy food oso can kena. :( last year, my parents neighbor (70+ elderly) told me she went to the mall to buy topup card for her phone, end up spending > $300+ for casing, battery and screen protection. i called and told her daughter what happened, and we hatched a plan. the follwing day, we went back to the shop in the mall and settle the score.

but life is about lessons and learning la. we all get cheated before, one way or another, so bo pian we need to learn from it lor. :(
Therefore since I am in the trade. I offer advice for free.

Sammychan

I think Singaporean drivers going to JB should know what is their market. If Malaysian gets something done at rm20. You should pay no more than rm20.

But some people will pay rm50 (because they will think to themselves that in SG they need to pay $20sgd). So there’s some savings. :s22:
After toll, time wasted in jam, petrol, effort, still got savings meh? To me is lose.

Sammychan

Anyway, the sammychan made a good point.

Other JB areas further away will be cheaper
Skudai and much further.
You guys can do an experiment....you msg this rambo guy or that LH guy...ask him for quote for a repair job...and then go to any random shop and ask(park further away).

Sammychan

Yes. That’s why if wanna fo in Msia. Do it at JHK’s price. Don’t be a carrot.
Honestly...i wont do..unless is a damn big fug job...like engine overhaul....or gear overhaul...etc risk of parts tio swap.. Worth meh? Wanna save $20 expose to this kind of high risk. Those throw your car to workshop there..good luck.

koolaid

Therefore since I am in the trade. I offer advice for free.

always good to share. thats what forums are for ma.

ever asked around (jb, muar, bp, melaka, kluang...) and was quoted between rm400-rm1k for oil change and filter (my car need 6.7 qtr oil). can never understand why its so expensive there. yes, there are shops that advertise rm98, rm128... for servicing, but the minute i tell them I want w30 EO, the price becomes rm500+. lololololol.

hence i typically do it in sg, where i buy my own 5w30 and filter, go to my mech and pay 20-30$ for labor depending on which mech i go to. all in usually about 150$. tranny oil change for my rides is usually 80$.

then a bro here recommended acma a few years ago. they carry pretty good brands of w30 oil, and it was cheaper than buying my own oil, filter and paying for labor. lololol. they usually charge me more cos their package comes with 4l EO only. but its ok la, it's usually not > than 120$ all in.

ok must qualify here - i dont work for acma ah, i just thought that their pricing and service is quite good, and all their mechs are sinkies. so the more i will support this type of business.

liquidh

Actually my specialist workshop uses w40 oil for your engine although factory recommends w30. You can try w40.

always good to share. thats what forums are for ma.

ever asked around (jb, muar, bp, melaka, kluang...) and was quoted between rm400-rm1k for oil change and filter (my car need 6.7 qtr oil). can never understand why its so expensive there. yes, there are shops that advertise rm98, rm128... for servicing, but the minute i tell them I want w30 EO, the price becomes rm500+. lololololol.

hence i typically do it in sg, where i buy my own 5w30 and filter, go to my mech and pay 20-30$ for labor depending on which mech i go to. all in usually about 150$. tranny oil change for my rides is usually 80$.

then a bro here recommended acma a few years ago. they carry pretty good brands of w30 oil, and it was cheaper than buying my own oil, filter and paying for labor. lololol. they usually charge me more cos their package comes with 4l EO only. but its ok la, it's usually not > than 120$ all in.

ok must qualify here - i dont work for acma ah, i just thought that their pricing and service is quite good, and all their mechs are sinkies. so the more i will support this type of business.

liquidh

I don’t recommend leaving car in Msia workshop unless your friends done that before and know that the shop is okay.

I usually know what needs to be done. And what I appreciate about Msian workshops is that usually they can almost immediately fix your car. I like to watch my car fixed. In Singapore usually the workshops will tell you to park a corner and come back 3 hrs later. I don’t like that.

Honestly...i wont do..unless is a damn big fug job...like engine overhaul....or gear overhaul...etc risk of parts tio swap.. Worth meh? Wanna save $20 expose to this kind of high risk. Those throw your car to workshop there..good luck.

koolaid

Actually my specialist workshop uses w40 oil for your engine although factory recommends w30. You can try w40.

no la, i will stick to w30, based on the manufacturer recommendation. i ever wrote to toyota/lexus japan and sought clarification, ie > 100k - use w30 or w40. cos a few mechs recommended older engine better use w40 oil for better engine protection...

anyway, they emailed me with a lengthy reply, explaining quite a few things which made sense to me. in short, doesnt matter what mileage, just stick to the recommended spec in the manual, ie fully syn w20 or w30 if i really want to protect the engine. that's what i have been using till today for both v6 cars. no issues so far.

Sammychan

I don’t recommend leaving car in Msia workshop unless your friends done that before and know that the shop is okay.

I usually know what needs to be done. And what I appreciate about Msian workshops is that usually they can almost immediately fix your car. I like to watch my car fixed. In Singapore usually the workshops will tell you to park a corner and come back 3 hrs later. I don’t like that.
True. Very true. Good to make appointment. Sometimes really busy. Usually young punk we do faster. Ah lao they ok. Young punks if come back 2 hrs later still not done..their face will change..and will ask this ask that...whether you know how to do...how come so long blah blah. You musr be quite young then lol

liquidh

Ok. Then I shall stick to w30. Was contemplating using w40.

no la, i will stick to w30, based on the manufacturer recommendation. i ever wrote to toyota/lexus japan and sought clarification, ie > 100k - use w30 or w40. cos a few mechs recommended older engine better use w40 oil for better engine protection...

anyway, they emailed me with a lengthy reply, explaining quite a few things which made sense to me. in short, doesnt matter what mileage, just stick to the recommended spec in the manual, ie fully syn w20 or w30 if i really want to protect the engine. that's what i have been using till today for both v6 cars. no issues so far.

koolaid

Ok. Then I shall stick to w30. Was contemplating using w40.

jus for ur ref, iirc they also emphasized about following the intervals religiously- 10k for fully syn and 5k for semi syn or something... been using fully syn oils, so i stick to their 10k or 6m rule, which ever comes first.

WhooHoo

Body kit cutting/fitting. Paint spray.

Good day Bros,

In general the body kit is fits relatively but do need some alterations and fitting.
Would like to check and get intro to jb workshops that does body kit cutting and fitting?
Maybe looking at whole body respray also.

Price is a big factor. Cheap and good workmanship!
Any kind intros?

Thanks!

Sammychan

It is not W30 or W40.

The format is XXW XX

Both is referring to how stickiness at different temperature. XW is stickiness for cold weather. XX is stickiness for hot weather. Since we dont have winter, we can ignore XW. It is irrelevant to us.

You know the difference between 30 vs 40? Don't follow manual blindly la, your car condition is not forever brand new. Agent will forever ask you to follow because anything wrong in the long run to your car is of no interest to them. It is you and only your interest.

Generally lower number means thinner. Higher means thicker. When car is old, due to wear and tear the pressure inside is different so thicker oil is better for maintaining the pressure.

KfcDCfRl.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.