Thread all abt ROLEX

GearFour

I have quite a few friends who put down their names for Daytona’s with multiple AD’s in 2016, once in a while walk in and check...etc.

Still waiting in 2020.

But they’re ok with it. They refuse to pay premiums. If have good, if not wear their other watches or Apple Watch.

Are the premiums fixed for all models? Is it percentage of the retail price? If pay premium to AD means confirm get?

kashix

Are the premiums fixed for all models? Is it percentage of the retail price? If pay premium to AD means confirm get?

Eh like gx explain to you. Premium is to buy from grey or reseller. AD won’t entertain you if you no purchase history one.

I was like you, refused to pay premium. Went all AD trying to put name. Most reject or don’t even want to talk to you. Only 1 AD at Wisma ask me to put name, wait around 2 years ~ :s22: I went grey, I wore the Rolex for close to 2 years liao, shiok shiok Everyday. Lol

You join the Rolex game too late le la. But Explorer 2 premium 2k more. Still can consider to go grey.

bwaysaikryptonite

Lol if can pay premium to AD then all tis flipper would be out of teh game...peepur would juz buy from AD at premium already and flippers will notch even wan to hold stock bcoz AD haf ready stocks at premium unlike now all hide in teh back and claim no stock unless chiu spend on other unwanted items.

most of teh time chiu can bet tat there ish at least one popular sports model in their safe...dunch belief chiu u go visit ADs and juz chat candidly...say whoever telling lies inside teh safe notch even 1 popular sports model may teh liar getch karma lol see they getch agitated and still insist dunch haf or notch...

kashix

Lol if can pay premium to AD then all tis flipper would be out of teh game...peepur would juz buy from AD at premium already and flippers will notch even wan to hold stock bcoz AD haf ready stocks at premium unlike now all hide in teh back and claim no stock unless chiu spend on other unwanted items.

most of teh time chiu can bet tat there ish at least one popular sports model in their safe...dunch belief chiu u go visit ADs and juz chat candidly...say whoever telling lies inside teh safe notch even 1 popular sports model may teh liar getch karma lol see they getch agitated and still insist dunch haf or notch...

Last time can. I think was around 3-4 years back. My poly friend paid premium to AD, got his gmt ii batman and TT sub. Now cannot le, Rolex say just sell at SRP.

GearFour

Eh like gx explain to you. Premium is to buy from grey or reseller. AD won’t entertain you if you no purchase history one.

I was like you, refused to pay premium. Went all AD trying to put name. Most reject or don’t even want to talk to you. Only 1 AD at Wisma ask me to put name, wait around 2 years ~ :s22: I went grey, I wore the Rolex for close to 2 years liao, shiok shiok Everyday. Lol

You join the Rolex game too late le la. But Explorer 2 premium 2k more. Still can consider to go grey.

If I go with Grey? How do I ensure it’s BNIB? Its authenticity and quality? And who are the right grey dealers to deal with? And buy from Grey can bring to RSC for servicing?

wahjohreno

Premiums are determined by the grey market. They fluctuate slightly but the fluctuations are not big.

Since you’re new, I’ll break it down simply for you:

1) You can’t walk into a Rolex AD and buy a Rolex steel sports watch as they are perpetually “out of stock”, unless you have some very powerful strings you can pull. They key phrase is “VERY POWERFUL”, like you’re the BFF of the owner of Cortina watches type of situation.

2) AD’s cannot sell you a Rolex watch above the RRP. So even if you say I give you $30k for a Daytona, they still cannot help you.

3) In your case, since the Explorer 2 isn’t the most desirable model, the chances of getting one is still higher than if you want something like a Daytona. But the chances are still close to zero.

Give you an example, I have a friend who’s quite a big customer at Cortina over the last 2 decades (he buys watches for his business partners as gifts, and mostly Rolex’s). He been waiting for a polar explorer 2 since 2018 to buy as a gift for his China biz partner.

3) If you are willing to pay the premium; you can buy the watch you want pretty much immediately FROM A GREY DEALER.

4) If you insist on only buying from an AD, see points 1 & 2, put down your name and slowly wait.

wahjohreno

If I go with Grey? How do I ensure it’s BNIB? Its authenticity and quality? And who are the right grey dealers to deal with? And buy from Grey can bring to RSC for servicing?
Go with a reputable grey to have peace of mind. People who have been in business for a long time with good reputations. Simply do some research and you will see the same names pop up. They won’t jeopardize their reputation and business by selling anything that is not what they advertise.

Once you determine a reputable grey to go with, you can pretty much lay the authenticity concerns to rest. As for the quality and condition, they are pretty much self evident.

Most Rolexes have to leave the AD with stickers off and warranty cards filled up (means a grey BNIB watch is unlikely to be in your name). However you do RARELY come across grey watches that have full stickers on and unnamed warranty cards. Unlikely though.

Yes, you can bring any authentic Rolex to service at RSC. No issues at all.

GearFour

Premiums are determined by the grey market. They fluctuate slightly but the fluctuations are not big.

Since you’re new, I’ll break it down simply for you:

1) You can’t walk into a Rolex AD and buy a Rolex steel sports watch as they are perpetually “out of stock”, unless you have some very powerful strings you can pull. They key phrase is “VERY POWERFUL”, like you’re the BFF of the owner of Cortina watches type of situation.

2) AD’s cannot sell you a Rolex watch above the RRP. So even if you say I give you $30k for a Daytona, they still cannot help you.

3) In your case, since the Explorer 2 isn’t the most desirable model, the chances of getting one is still higher than if you want something like a Daytona. But the chances are still close to zero.

Give you an example, I have a friend who’s quite a big customer at Cortina over the last 2 decades (he buys watches for his business partners as gifts, and mostly Rolex’s). He been waiting for a polar explorer 2 since 2018 to buy as a gift for his China biz partner.

3) If you are willing to pay the premium; you can buy the watch you want pretty much immediately FROM A GREY DEALER.

4) If you insist on only buying from an AD, see points 1 & 2, put down your name and slowly wait.

Seems that I was naive to believe that if I join the wait for a less popular model, I will get it faster.

After your comments, I most likely have to go for Grey Dealer instead. Now just have to find the right Grey Dealer to buy from.

If buy from Grey Dealer means you have to trust them right? Cannot bring the watch to any place to authenticate right?

GearFour

Go with a reputable grey to have peace of mind. People who have been in business for a long time with good reputations. Simply do some research and you will see the same names pop up. They won’t jeopardize their reputation and business by selling anything that is not what they advertise.

Once you determine a reputable grey to go with, you can pretty much lay the authenticity concerns to rest. As for the quality and condition, they are pretty much self evident.

Most Rolexes have to leave the AD with stickers off and warranty cards filled up (means a grey BNIB watch is unlikely to be in your name). However you do RARELY come across grey watches that have full stickers on and unnamed warranty cards. Unlikely though.

Yes, you can bring any authentic Rolex to service at RSC. No issues at all.

Thanks for the advice.

I will go research on reputable Grey Dealer, anything else I need to watch out for when dealing with Grey Dealers aside from the Premium and warranty card?

wahjohreno

Seems that I was naive to believe that if I join the wait for a less popular model, I will get it faster.

After your comments, I most likely have to go for Grey Dealer instead. Now just have to find the right Grey Dealer to buy from.

If buy from Grey Dealer means you have to trust them right? Cannot bring the watch to any place to authenticate right?

Yes, pretty much "trust", but of course you can bring the watch somewhere else to get authenticated, AFTER THE SALE. Nobody will let you bring the watch out of their shop to get authenticated.

Non-RSC sources are likely to be technicians working for grey dealers.

For RSC, you can just bring the watch in for something like a bracelet adjustment. If they entertain you, the watch is authentic.

I was switching out the bracelet on my Daytona for a leather strap, one of the spring bars flew into oblivion. I brought it into RSC with one side of the bracelet hanging off, they looked at it, and said they will call me once it's fixed. Took 1 day. No need for any form of documentation of purchase or warranty. They were pretty nice about it too, saying usually there's a charge, but FOC this time.

wahjohreno

Thanks for the advice.

I will go research on reputable Grey Dealer, anything else I need to watch out for when dealing with Grey Dealers aside from the Premium and warranty card?

There are plenty of watches out there if you've decided to pay the premium. Do your research and compile a list of available watches. Take your time to go and view and inspect them.

Show your sincerity to purchase and most dealers will be willing to let you look at the watch up close. If they show you attitude, walk away. There will be more from other people.

yukirin92

Wise punter, better to cough up the premium and get your timepiece immediately from a grey dealer than cherry up to a nasty vicious AD salesman as if you're a KTV girl looking for tips.

yamashita

I understand for popular models like Explorer and Submariner, there's an interest list and it can take more than a year to be able to be offered the opportunity to buy one at AD.

Does this extend to Milgauss z-blue dial as well?

discoburg

Not not being realistic but wondering where can I buy a brand new piece at 1-2K above RRP lor.
impossible to find brand new at 14k. no one will sell at 14k knowing market is hovering ard 15k. gotta to be realistic abit, else just wait only till when no one knows.

Thanks for the reply bro
Brand new last time can get around 14.8k. Now around 15k above. I saw used only selling around 14.8k now.

I read your post till I headache liao. Really catch no balls.

kashix

fabiaN__

impossible to find brand new at 14k. no one will sell at 14k knowing market is hovering ard 15k. gotta to be realistic abit, else just wait only till when no one knows.

Yeah lor, 2nd hand also selling at 13+k liao... Not to mention the newer 2nd hand and 1st hand ones.

hwaa

like everyone also wants a sub date at 14k.

but nobody is gonna sell at that price.

even a used mint condition for 1-2yrs at also quite hard to find.

hwaa

I understand for popular models like Explorer and Submariner, there's an interest list and it can take more than a year to be able to be offered the opportunity to buy one at AD.

Does this extend to Milgauss z-blue dial as well?

milgauss z-blue also hard to wait at AD.

overseas still got chance, a slight chance.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.