Thread all abt ROLEX - Part 2

estrangable

Well gaoxing isn't wrong... I mean that is definitely not a sought after Daytona. The salesman shd be thanking you for helping him to clear his stock. Diamonds on sports watch??? Definitely No no

It’s not about selling. It’s about keeping a quality timepiece 😊

Kyo_kusanagi86

This watch is now listed for sale, less than 24 hours ago. Lolz, flip ah flip
iQx73yQl.jpg

Sent from Xiaomi MI 9 LITE using GAGT

Red Nails

Which has been my point from the beginning.

If a person likes it, he/she should just pay and enjoy. There is value in actually enjoying a product instead of just wishing it was priced correctly and ranting about market forces on the internet to like-minded people.

If the buyer’s financial position is such that resale value MUST be considered, then the person is not ready to buy a luxury watch in the first place.

It’s just a watch. Nothing important in life.

Yup,

paid a premium for my Rollie too

Money can earn back right :o

w_sieng

Been quietly following this thread for a while now. Just sharing my view and hopefully you guys are not rushing to buy any rolexes now.

During good times, the prices are above rrp. I respect the market, I can understand too and I am also a culprit of buying them above rrp (since I am a not celebrity, billionaire etc ).

However, recession is here. As a consumer, I definitely wouldn’t consider any rolexes intentionally without being a good deal and definitely not any pieces which are above rrp. And my view is that the resale market for most professional models is as good as dead and needs a big correction.

Let’s not forget, most of the 2nd hand rolexes, including professional models, are at least 30 % below rrp 3-8 years ago. I also remembered walking into retail and they tried to sell me Daytona then with 8% discount. People tend to forget that things change, sometimes fast and drastic (just like what happened to the price increase).

I could be very wrong in my prediction. But I have a strong feeling that no luxury brand company which depends on mass market volume , including rolex , could maintain the artificial supply shortage situation with the huge drop in demand. If I am right , all of us will slowly be receiving calls from AD for the model which you have signed up for (provided our names have been included in the system in the first place 😂😂😂) .

So stay safe guys and remember cash is king. Oh yes, dont make fun of gold Daytona with diamonds okay 😅😅😅. I have one and it’s my grail watch 2 years back 😂

gaoxing84

Peepur flipper leh wait use his sarah inventory destroy chiu...if notch he ask his grey dealer fren consign some pcs to him and ask chiu contact him...cannotch lose chiu one

I would love to meet you one day.
I wonder if you talk like this in the real world.

gaoxing84

Been quietly following this thread for a while now. Just sharing my view and hopefully you guys are not rushing to buy any rolexes now.

During good times, the prices are above rrp. I respect the market, I can understand too and I am also a culprit of buying them above rrp (since I am a not celebrity, billionaire etc ).

However, recession is here. As a consumer, I definitely wouldn’t consider any rolexes intentionally without being a good deal and definitely not any pieces which are above rrp. And my view is that the resale market for most professional models is as good as dead and needs a big correction.

Let’s not forget, most of the 2nd hand rolexes, including professional models, are at least 30 % below rrp 3-8 years ago. I also remembered walking into retail and they tried to sell me Daytona then with 8% discount. People tend to forget that things change, sometimes fast and drastic (just like what happened to the price increase).

I could be very wrong in my prediction. But I have a strong feeling that no luxury brand company which depends on mass market volume , including rolex , could maintain the artificial supply shortage situation with the huge drop in demand. If I am right , all of us will slowly be receiving calls from AD for the model which you have signed up for (provided our names have been included in the system in the first place 😂😂😂) .

So stay safe guys and remember cash is king. Oh yes, dont make fun of gold Daytona with diamonds okay 😅😅😅. I have one and it’s my grail watch 2 years back 😂

To be honest.
Even in good times before the hype in 2016.
Prices are already below rrp.
2013-2015. Walk in can get discount for every model.
Up to 15% or heng even 10%.
That's when times are good.

It's the hype that cause the prices to soar.
Consumer fault. Not ad fault.
AD just playing the game with consumer.
Blame those a hole who offered ad extra to buy the ceramic daytona during the early days.

w_sieng

To be honest.
Even in good times before the hype in 2016.
Prices are already below rrp.
2013-2015. Walk in can get discount for every model.
Up to 15% or heng even 10%.
That's when times are good.

It's the hype that cause the prices to soar.
Consumer fault. Not ad fault.
AD just playing the game with consumer.
Blame those a hole who offered ad extra to buy the ceramic daytona during the early days.

Yeap. Totally agree with u. What I didn’t add was that AD started with 8 % discount , I asked for 20% and he counter offered 15% .

So my aim is just to share experience with those who started rolex journey only the last 2-3 years. Don’t rush, rolex is not limited and is not that precious/rare despite being really beautiful.

just want to add , in 2016 Aug, I didn’t buy that 116520 despite 15 % , because a shop in Far East was selling a few at $11500.

gaoxing84

Yeap. Totally agree with u. What I didn’t add was that AD started with 8 % discount , I asked for 20% and he counter offered 15% .

So my aim is just to share experience with those who started rolex journey only the last 2-3 years. Don’t rush, rolex is not limited and is not that precious/rare despite being really beautiful.

just want to add , in 2016 Aug, I didn’t buy that 116520 despite 15 % , because a shop in Far East was selling a few at $11500.

you want prices to go back to RRP

1) Rolex Ramp up Supply
2) Hype dies completely (like Panerai)

if not tough. for DayC to go back to RRP, still have a long way
i agree over 30k is ridiculous price, it went as high as 35-36k
slow down, go back to mid 20s to high 20s - still possible, given the current situation.
but understand, most swiss factory closed, indefinitely.
if this virus has no end, the economy will collapse, much like the 1997 and 2008 combined because its worldwide spread, then maybe will go below 20k - but it's correlated, rolex no supply if that happens.

many ADs are closed due to this virus btw.

2016 Aug 116520 at 15% possible. because dayC just announced, hype building
back in 2013-2016 mid, walk in AD, can offer any sports + 15%, no need haggle.
just call my SA, can get already.
daytona white/black sit in shelf nobody touch. Why? because no hype, nobody can flip it. Rolex walk out brand new, wanna sell is tank 10-20% loss.

now hyped out, everyone ***** make noise like no end, all want a sports. why didn't you buy back then? ok, maybe you're young and what no. those older group? why never buy? cause cannot flip what

now give any tom dick harry sports model, see can sell skyhigh, wear song for awhile sure flip. those simi keep for daughter/son blah blah nonsense, hear till sian. even i use that.

blame the consumer, the business just capitalise on that.

so those kaobei cannot get sports model, blame yourself. don't blame AD.

don't hate the game, hate the players.

oops, wall of text. i am not the almighty rolex god. better diam diam. if not tio say again.

wahjohreno

When I was in school, a bowl of noodles was 10 cents, Rolex was only for ah peks and a Daytona was the ugly duckling of the Rolex family.

My first submariner was $3k+. My first Daytona was less than $10k.

When I bought my PP 5712, it cost less than a ceramic Daytona on Carousell now.

No need to compare last time and now. Irrelevant.

If you want to buy something NOW, you gotta pay the price NOW. The market changes.

If you only want to pay RRP or below, then just gotta wait until the market is in that situation. Nothing wrong with that.

What's irritating is complaining about it when you can simply choose not ride the hype and buy another watch that is actually fairly priced.

Get an Omega, JLC, Breguet, Cartier, Zenith, Moser & Cie, Nomos, Laurent Ferrier, Glashutte... There are a tonne of watches that are fantastic value for money especially in the preowned market.

It's just a watch.

UNLESS it isn't JUST a watch, in which case, the pricing is exactly where it needs to be.

gaoxing84

When I was in school, a bowl of noodles was 10 cents, Rolex was only for ah peks and a Daytona was the ugly duckling of the Rolex family.

My first submariner was $3k+. My first Daytona was less than $10k.

When I bought my PP 5712, it cost less than a ceramic Daytona on Carousell now.

No need to compare last time and now. Irrelevant.

If you want to buy something NOW, you gotta pay the price NOW. The market changes.

If you only want to pay RRP or below, then just gotta wait until the market is in that situation. Nothing wrong with that.

What's irritating is complaining about it when you can simply choose not ride the hype and buy another watch that is actually fairly priced.

Get an Omega, JLC, Breguet, Cartier, Zenith, Moser & Cie, Nomos, Laurent Ferrier, Glashutte... There are a tonne of watches that are fantastic value for money especially in the preowned market.

It's just a watch.

UNLESS it isn't JUST a watch, in which case, the pricing is exactly where it needs to be.

Well said.
I bet they're all trying to cash in a small windfall.
But the train has left.

w_sieng

you want prices to go back to RRP

1) Rolex Ramp up Supply
2) Hype dies completely (like Panerai)

if not tough. for DayC to go back to RRP, still have a long way
i agree over 30k is ridiculous price, it went as high as 35-36k
slow down, go back to mid 20s to high 20s - still possible, given the current situation.
but understand, most swiss factory closed, indefinitely.
if this virus has no end, the economy will collapse, much like the 1997 and 2008 combined because its worldwide spread, then maybe will go below 20k - but it's correlated, rolex no supply if that happens.

many ADs are closed due to this virus btw.

2016 Aug 116520 at 15% possible. because dayC just announced, hype building
back in 2013-2016 mid, walk in AD, can offer any sports + 15%, no need haggle.
just call my SA, can get already.
daytona white/black sit in shelf nobody touch. Why? because no hype, nobody can flip it. Rolex walk out brand new, wanna sell is tank 10-20% loss.

now hyped out, everyone ***** make noise like no end, all want a sports. why didn't you buy back then? ok, maybe you're young and what no. those older group? why never buy? cause cannot flip what

now give any tom dick harry sports model, see can sell skyhigh, wear song for awhile sure flip. those simi keep for daughter/son blah blah nonsense, hear till sian. even i use that.

blame the consumer, the business just capitalise on that.

so those kaobei cannot get sports model, blame yourself. don't blame AD.

don't hate the game, hate the players.

oops, wall of text. i am not the almighty rolex god. better diam diam. if not tio say again.

There is nothing wrong with the situation. No one is at fault actually. This is just part of capitalism.

But since we are entering the world wide recession phase, the luxury business will be badly affected and it will give buyers the advantage. So unless you are in this line of business or you have no money, my suggestion is to take full advantage it while getting your dream watches. Time is money, or rather, time saves you money.

At this point , I agree with you. if you have money and you buy now, you can only blame yourself as a player , not the game :)

crazymond118

Hi all bros, can ask how can I bring my Rolex for servicing? Just bring watch n warranty card n walk to service centre? Or do I need to call n reserve time slot? Bought my watch in Hong Kong n warranty expiring soon so wanna bring to service before warranty expiry

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.