refund cpf used for housing

maumu

hey buds, is it wise given this interest climate to start refunding the cpf used for housing?

was thinking (i) can reduce accrued interest accumulated, and (ii) still growing at 2.5% interest, right?

Imhthc

Pardon my ignorance. Do we have a choice not to refund cpf for housing? Do u mean pay down ur mortgage?

limster

hey buds, is it wise given this interest climate to start refunding the cpf used for housing?

was thinking (i) can reduce accrued interest accumulated, and (ii) still growing at 2.5% interest, right?

This is the last day of the month, better do the refund if you haven't done so already! =:p I'm doing $1k a month refund at the moment.

When market recovers and stocks become too expensive, I might increase the amount I refund to my CPF. I treat it as a long term bond with the option of using the money anytime to buy stocks/unit trusts.

maumu

Pardon my ignorance. Do we have a choice not to refund cpf for housing? Do u mean pay down ur mortgage?

not the same as paying down mortgage... it's to refund the amount used from cpf OA for housing, so that the accrued interest won't keep rolling on (@ 2.5%).

maumu

This is the last day of the month, better do the refund if you haven't done so already! =:p I'm doing $1k a month refund at the moment.

When market recovers and stocks become too expensive, I might increase the amount I refund to my CPF. I treat it as a long term bond with the option of using the money anytime to buy stocks/unit trusts.

why must do it by last day of month, mate?

wutawa

If u plan to sell your hdb, this is a smart way of getting cpf, instead of yourself, to pay for the 2.5% int.

maumu

to maximise your CPF interest. if you refund tomorrow, you lose 1 months' interest...

thanks mate ;) just wondering, if you return bit by bit ($1k a month), how you know how much you paying towards the principal amount and towards the accrued interest?

a4973

thanks mate ;) just wondering, if you return bit by bit ($1k a month), how you know how much you paying towards the principal amount and towards the accrued interest?
Hmm I've been paying down monthly as well but don't see any real world reasons why one would need to know so?

Dividends Warrior

Just a general question.
Is it a must to pay the accrued interest? What happens if a person dun pay down the accrued interests?
Tks in advance. :)

BBCWatcher

Or for above 55ers who want to use CPF board as CPF Savings Bank.
"Approaching" age 55 is fine, too. Plenty of people dump money in 3 year fixed deposit-like endowment plans, for example. If you're age 52, is it really any different plowing money into CPF OA? Not really. It's still an approximately three year lock, except 2.5% is currently better than what those 3 year endowment plans are offering.

That's not to say that either idea (an endowment plan, CPF OA repayment) is necessarily the very best available idea.

polyglob

Early March I sold some stocks. Since then I've plonked about 100+k as housing refund back into CPF. I am 53+ so this is like a ~24 month FD at a very good rate that is not available elsewhere.

Thoreldan

Early March I sold some stocks. Since then I've plonked about 100+k as housing refund back into CPF. I am 53+ so this is like a ~24 month FD at a very good rate that is not available elsewhere.

I have the same plan when I am approaching 55. Will be refunding roughly 350k

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.