NIE admission anyone? - Part 2

Nnameless

Reaction score
Hi All,

I hope you are all well and safe during these trying times.

I have been following this forum for quite some time now and I must admit that the information and updates that have been coming out of it have been tremendous, thanks to you all.

I am a mid-career applicant (May / June window) of the PGDE scheme from India (Chennai, Tamil Nadu) and would like to enquire if anyone is aware as to how good the chances of someone like me from abroad is (especially during this pandemic and post-lockdown scenario) w.r.t -

(a) the application getting the attention it needs for me to get an interview
(b) MOE trusting me with adjusting with the curriculum of Singapore (that is foreign to me)
(c) how my chances will be different from a native applicant

and any other information that strikes your mind.

I work as an IT engineer and applied for the Secondary Computer Applications - Secondary English Language combination. I have predominantly seen applicants in this forum talk about subjects other than Computers and so on and hence would also like to know if anyone is aware of the demand of Computer teachers as I seem to find very little information on the internet in this regard.

Thanks for your time and guidance in advance and do take good care of yourself and your family.

You should email MOE on this matter (if you are not in Singapore, would there be an online interview) so that you won't waste your time waiting. Being a local with experiences in the education system and culture does have an advantage.

Just like Math and Science, computing might become an important part of our education system in the future. If you are still interested to apply, maybe you could read up on Singapore's education system and local culture.

Last edited:

davidisrael

Reaction score