[OFFICIAL - GE2020] Sengkang GRC discussions

tankgunner

Mentor
Disqualifying her now will only have spill over effect of people feeling unjust and sympathy for WP and help them get more votes in East Coast and marine parade. Not a wise move. The aim to discredit her has been achieve. Should move on and not push over the edge.

If elected, she cannot simply be changed. WP have to bite the bullet. Since nomination day over, cannot change substitute also.

ya. it is like during a war, you rather injured the enemy than killing him.
let the injured soldier drag the rest of the group.

Sotooong

Pap no fear sengkang grc safe with you, no need to do all this to secure the mandate leh..

Outramkia

I agree.

Over the past few elections, the pattern has always remained the same

A lot of hot air blown, a lot of expectations that opposition is strong, can take more seats, more intelligent candidates with good credentials. Wah Nicole Seah so strong. Wah Paul Tambyah so imba.

There are crowded rallies, united cries against the incumbent.

But when the battle is over and the smokes clears, the incumbent is stronger than ever

I don't expect any different this time round.

In fact, I predict WP will lose Aljunied.

So PAP would gain back all seats except Hougang.

Yes that's true. That's why i prepare become grabfood rider. To welcum my ceca, pinoy, myanmar, jhk frens here

Scrabby

v6VwhJg.png

gn2807

Stayed in Hougang before shifted to SK, remembered when WP 1st won Hougang, the buses serving along Ave 5 was removed & diverted, make all the residents walk all the way to upper Serangoon Rd to take their usual buses.

Upgrading plans is good as gone.

Pissed pple even more, from then on, we knew they gonna us "pay" for it but we persevered.

tamago_

The PM can still call for a by-election even if only 1 seat is vacated.
Does he have the political mileage to do it (or not do it)? :o

Why would a PAP PM bend backwards to give WP a chance to switch members to strengthen their position? At least Sengkang residents had vote with their eyes open on 10 Jul 2020, if she was elected in then just live with it.

justice89

Vote wisely on your minority candidate.
Its not about NCM vs Jamus.. its about Amrin Amin vs Raeesah Khan.. who can represent the minorities better. Think hard about it :o
it seems like both support CECA to me.

i leave it to weather.

my in laws said will vote against her.......they said amrin seems more friendly.....from her words can see she really like despise the white Superior and Chinese lots.....actually in this world confirm have grouping .......is a fact...but guess we have to learn to get along as world peace is better than a chaotic world not?

just that maybe she post at a wrong time.

tamago_

To me personally she's young. A person at that age makes mistakes. After all, so long as they correct themselves, change for the better and not repeat it again, isnt this the most important?

Haven't we giving PAP lots of chances to correct themselves, mistakes after mistakes?:s12:
I agree with you no doubt, but it is to address any wishful thinking that there can be a re-match. We all know GRCs are a double-edged sword. Same with elections and its 5-year term. If the issues were raised after she was elected and they were forced to resign hence, it's fair. But if electors went in with their eyes open, even the PAP would not have the power to remove them. And why would the WP team then remove themselves for nothing? That's just what I meant. You want to vote WP, no U-turns allowed. It's not fair for WP.

Elfblade

我看好 PAP. Why? Becos of their wild card candidate Amin who will gain overwhelming support from minority supporters. Smart deployment to Sengkang.

Oppies will not have their names written on Sengkang history.

Hope you're right in Jinxing Pappies this time round. :s13:

wlalala

Does he have the political mileage to do it (or not do it)? :o

Why would a PAP PM bend backwards to give WP a chance to switch members to strengthen their position? At least Sengkang residents had vote with their eyes open on 10 Jul 2020, if she was elected in then just live with it.

If an opposition MP is force to vacate his/her seat in a GRC due to a criminal conviction, the advantage goes to the ruling party.

The PM would not be giving WP the chance to switch members by calling a by-election. The PM will be be giving his own party the chance to win back the GRC by calling a by-election.

The PM will call for an election when it is beneficial to his party or when the law forces him to. He is not going to call for one for any other reason.

Your life and my life are merely pawns in the game of politics.

wlalala

I agree with you no doubt, but it is to address any wishful thinking that there can be a re-match. We all know GRCs are a double-edged sword. Same with elections and its 5-year term. If the issues were raised after she was elected and they were forced to resign hence, it's fair. But if electors went in with their eyes open, even the PAP would not have the power to remove them. And why would the WP team then remove themselves for nothing? That's just what I meant. You want to vote WP, no U-turns allowed. It's not fair for WP.

The problem here is that she has not been found guilty of any crime committed yet, she has not even been charged for that matter.

So any conclusion will have to be after the elections.

And if she is found guilty, she would be forced to vacate her seat. And if she isn't, then the problem goes away doesn't it?

runforyourlife

If they get through and win, get her out, get a byelection, by then can put someone fresh right?

tamago_

The problem here is that she has not been found guilty of any crime committed yet, she has not even been charged for that matter.

So any conclusion will have to be after the elections.

And if she is found guilty, she would be forced to vacate her seat. And if she isn't, then the problem goes away doesn't it?
If disqualified by statute, the PM can just leave the seat vacant. Would her team members take the risk and voluntarily vacate their seat to allow this by-election, when they can just not move, especially when opinion is against them?

wlalala

If disqualified by statute, the PM can just leave the seat vacant. Would her team members take the risk and voluntarily vacate their seat to allow this by-election, when they can just not move, especially when opinion is against them?

They won't voluntarily vacate their seats. But the PM can choose to call a by-election to force them out.

wisewise

No..... PAP doesn't need to fix sengkang wp team..... becos ground feel is good for a win. Maybe slightly below 65%, it will not be a close fight lah. IMHO, wp scoring 40% is considered as a good result.

EDMWer sibei funny, they thought only edmwer vote nia.... :s13::s13:

tamago_

If an opposition MP is force to vacate his/her seat in a GRC due to a criminal conviction, the advantage goes to the ruling party.

The PM would not be giving WP the chance to switch members by calling a by-election. The PM will be be giving his own party the chance to win back the GRC by calling a by-election.

The PM will call for an election when it is beneficial to his party or when the law forces him to. He is not going to call for one for any other reason.

Your life and my life are merely pawns in the game of politics.
Which party contests to lose? :s13:

So, indeed, they would just leave Jamus there :o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.