Serious | HR/Recruitment Agency say I am overpaid for a Diploma Holder. Ask for payslip to verify.

WC32890

Note: Stick to the thread.

Think some of you know me so please keep to yourself.
And some of you know in the past I was out of work for
quite a long period.

I be frank and share this with everyone, many years
back I was offered this job that pays $2.6k.
However the contract was to replace someone
who had a Degree and they need someone to continue the person
contract.

I was hired to continue that contract thus drawing that salary.
Why I mentioned this, was in the past when I go for job interview.
I had criticized by HR and recruitment agency that a Diploma
holder without much working experience shouldn't be drawing that high.

I was ask for payslip to verify my last drawn salary as some find it dubios
and was question by some HR/coy how was I able to ask for such salary.
Some even told me straight to my face that my caliber should be earning
around $1.8k to $2.1k only.

Past contract job I did due to this fact, the coy offered $2.3k as the last drawn salary is very dubious to them.
I dare not share the above fact if not it will raise even more questions.

Any HR experts, now you tell me this is case of lying or false declaration of last drawn salary.
What salary range I was offered was actually another person contract so I do not know how to explain when they criticized I was overpaid for a Diploma holder.

This is one reason why I couldn't secure a employment easily as well as quite anger as if I was going around lying.

You are overpaid

theMKR

a degree is useful in a sense that it may make the hirers of the company not look down on you. Many of them are degree holders at least, they may feel that diploma holders are beneath them and are thus only deserving of a sh1t salary :( You can't expect them to empathise with you.

In my entire professional working life, moi cannot reveal that moi ish diploma.... everyone in my industry is minimum degree or mostly masters....

If moi tio reveal must quit liao :eek:

WC32890

The tech MNC i work in, the interviewers and hiring managers are engineers themselves...

Only Singapore companies use unqualified people to interview and be boss.

Coz these people are unqualified themselves. The company itself is unqualified. Most sinkie companies wouldn't exist if this country is truly global. But we practice selective globalization.
You behkan cannot assume other interviewers behkan....

occifer

In my entire professional working life, moi cannot reveal that moi ish diploma.... everyone in my industry is minimum degree or mostly masters....

If moi tio reveal must quit liao :eek:

Faster csi!!

Sent from me using GAGT

OddEye

Singapore hr culture like to based salary on previous pay one. Ceca is probably exception. I see their pay jump super big, makes me think hr don look at all and just give them the pay they want since same village

Plow98

Funny story.
You are offered higher celery to "continue contract". Lucky fellow.
What's the problem submitting payslip, if you have payslip?
If don't have, submit CPF statement oso can.
End of story.

plexxor

just show them lor

unless you don't want to join the company

buttercracker

now the problem is his status is inflated, which company and hr would know from their hiring experience. What is inflated must come down. Everything is down to your real skills ...

Nicholas92

Sounds reasonable that if your last drawn seems too high for your qualifications and experience, HR will hesitate to match or ask for more supporting.

You’ll need to prove that the papers won’t reflect your abilities and competence. Which, frankly, could be a tough hurdle.

wwenze

neither did the degree holder have bcm experience. so...

Then this becomes an interesting question that is more a debate of beliefs than science, due to insufficient data on both sides.

Given a degree holder and a diploma holder, if both have no experience and assuming both are doing the bcm willingly (i.e. not going to jump ship), who will be a better bcm seller?

- The guy who had to study during weekends to graduate his 4 years while fighting alongside FT scholars?
- The guy with tuition loan to pay back
- The guy who scores better during O levels and have better math/science/management skills?

Which guy will research more on how to cook better and more effectively? Who is better at google?

Personally, I am of belief that having a well-educated general public is good. Even if we get bus drivers with diploma, but at least this guy is probably smart enough to not drive his bus off a bridge just because the woman was hitting him. Or at least not smoke while filling gas, I guess. Or why we rotate tyres... a lot of small things that are better to have general knowledge.

Even security guards, when something happens, how to do.

junjie433

Is it a recruitment company?
They saying to lower your asking salary so they save money la....

2.6k for a diploma holder is nothing much la....

Sent from me using GAGT

This one i agree. In fact with a few years of experience very easy to hit 3k-3.5k.

buttercracker

the truth that for certain jobs, guys are at advantage and they get hired easier and more in demand...
For example certain engineering field and construction?

TheITGuy

You got the payslip and Cpf contribution to prove it wah. Nothing wrong.

buttercracker

you yourself cannot justify why you deserve the pay meh?
Just show the real stuff on your CV lah, what additional skillsets you accumulate from your previous job that make you better 4 them

86technie

Seems like some here also encounter similar situation.
However do I really need to explain why I was drawing salary
that is higher than market rate?

I really don't need to seriously but when they start questioning me.
I usually keep mum, won't reply after all that was what I was paid.
If they do not pay that high than that is their own pay structure.

I been to recruitment agency as well as direct company, same thing
seriously. Which was why I ask for payslip to verify, whether or not they
call the company to verify the salary it is possible.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.