Buddhist Verses & Silent Readings For Reflection (静思语) - Part 6

Renzokukenz

got a friend's sister spent around 8k to engage someone to handle house spirit issue.:s22:

was wondering will it helps if she do smoke offering at the balcony.

I was wondering the same thing too, but I think it depends on the spirits.

Sur Offering I do at the void deck is to any wandering spirits who happen to pass by. Like feeding stray animals. The wandering spirits most probably don't have any misgivings, or desires, or objectives, or personal goals against me

Spirits "haunting" a house, probably has an attachment to the place. Maybe has a history of what happened in that particular place, and maybe a specific reason unique to the spirits (case-by-case) why they choose to linger and not move on. Or have certain desires and specific goals they wish to attain but cannot.

(reminds me of one of the story from Incredible Tales, whereby this family moved into a house and they endured hauntings for 20 years. The evil spirit initially keep disturbing the family and make them sick etc. etc. But after the spirit "found out" that this family had no choice but to stay there, stopped disturbing the family.

I think the main point is as Buddhists we need to practice compassion for them. Help them move on so that it benefits both them and us. And not adopt the attitude of "YOU" vs "THEM" and become confrontational.

Anyway $8,000 later, at least got get any results??? :s22:

magnus

still have..then the master said still got one more old lady spirit. have to pay another 1k. tomorrow i might be meeting my friend and will try to find out more.
Anyway $8,000 later, at least got get any results??? :s22:

Renzokukenz

Please spend tine to read the sutra (translated from Sankrit manuscripts) or sutta (translated from Pali manuscripts - collectively known as Pali Canon), you won't go wrong if you read widely.

I know there's http://lotsawahouse.org/

But where and how to start?
In what order do I read them? etc. etc.

Is there a book that properly arranges all the text in the right order etc. ??

AlmightyOnes

mine sharing with us what is the method?

The feng shui master made my friend to “供养佛像" which is like few k, and then asked my friend to recite ” om mani padme hum" 1080 daily and dedicate merit to all sentients to overcome current obstacle n barrier. (And also some accesory stuff to ward off bad luck n have good luck etc)

Before all this I already asked my friend to cultivate or do good deeds (donation to temples, 供养佛 etc too, though I don't know what skill to see people life/luck etc. But if I know person's character/action/deeds in life, I more or less can tell whether your life will be good or bad sooner or later on also..

Renzokukenz

cant get altar cuz of hubby.

I believe they are everywhere, just a matter whether it affected me or not.
my current bto is bidadari. and it was a cemetery before bto.

as long as doesn't affect me = ignore

but this new house seemed to have an effect, so I'm now thinking of harmless way to have the balance (aka dun affect me)

dunno about powers on chanting etc , I don't seek merits/power/karma when I do that. I chant simply cuz I want peace and seeking greater wisdom from above. sometimes I chant no effect, sometimes I can feel energy

then just 回响 to the spirits in the house or what is known as the dedication of merits after each chanting session.

Anyway, HDBs where it is previously a cemetery usually will HUAT one. As long as you don't do anything evil and is kind-hearted etc.
This is more of a Chinese view than a Buddhist one, but that is what I have heard.

May I suggest reciting the Heart Sutra frequently if you want to choose the chanting route? Since the themes of the Heart Sutra is about letting go and "emptiness", it helps spirits to move on gradually, and also the sutra is beneficial for the living as it serves as a reminder that all things are "empty" and hence we should not grasp and be overly attached to any one thing, for this will create suffering and pain for ourselves.

Pronunciation Guide by me:
Foreword: Dear All, I have been investing time to learn the Heart Sutra. I prefer to chant in Sanskrit despite being Chinese and am definitely not a Sanskrit speaker. As such, I have to play the videos online I have of the Heart Sutra, and breakdown each word and how to pronounce them. I have decided to share it here, and also to update it on the first post I made on page one of this thread, so that whoever who wishes to learn how to chant the Heart Sutra in Sanskrit, can find it easier to do so.

I have crossed checked auditorily (by listening) with two versions of the Heart Sutra online to ensure that some of the pronunciation is accurate, and are not from the tune or melody of one particular version. If you find my work meaningful and beneficial, please feel free to share it with people who wish to learn how to chant the Heart Sutra in Sanskrit.

Heart Sutra in Sanskrit with pronunciation interpreted by a Singaporean Chinese

Arya-valoki-ti shua-ra Bodhi-sa-tua Gam-bi-ran Pras-nya paramitha Char-yam Char-rah-mano

Vee-ya-valokiti Sm-ah Pan-jah-skhan-da Ah-sata-Schar

Sva-bha-va shun-nee
Pas-yati Smar

~

Iha Sariputra, Rupam Shun-yam, Shun-yata Iva Rupam

Rupa Na Ver-ta Shun-nya-ta, Shun-nya-taya Na Ver-ta Sa Rupam, Yad Rupam Sa Shun-nya-ta, Yad Shun-nya-ta Sa Rupam,

Evam Eva Vedana, Sam-nya Samskara Vee-nya-nam.

Iha Sariputra Sar-va Dharma Shun-nya-ta Lang-Ja-na,
Ah-nu-pa-na, Ah-ni-ru-ddha, Amala Avimala Anuna Aparipurna

~

Tasmat Sariputra Shun-nya-tayam Na Rupam, Na Vedana, Na Sam-nya, Na Samskara Na Vee-nya-nam.

Na Caksu Strota Ghrana Jee-va Kaya Manasa Na Rupam Sabb-da, Ghan-da-Ra-sa Spar-sta-vi-ya Dharma.

Na Caksur Dhatu Yavat Na, Mano-vee-nya-nah Dhatu.
Na-vi-dee-ya, Na-vi-dee-ya Ja-yo, Yah-vara Na-ja-ra-maranam Na Jara-Marana Ja-yo. Na Duhkha Sa-muda-ya
Ni-ro-dha-aa-marga.

Na-nanam, Na Pra-pi,
Na-bhi-sa-maya.

~

Tasmac-na Pra-pi Tva Bodhisattvanam, Prajna-paramitam Asritya Viharatya Citta Avarana, Citta Avarana Na Sthi-tua Na Trasto, Vee-ari-yasa Ati-kranta Nistha Nirvanam

Tree-ya-tua bhya-va-sita Sarva Buddhah Prajna-paramitam Asritya Anuttara Samyak-sambodhim Abi-sambuddhah.

~

Tasmaj Nya-na-vee-yam Prajna-paramita Maha Mantra, Mahavidya Mantra, Anuttara Mantra, Asama Samati Mantra.

Sarva Duhkha Pra-shar-mana Satyam Amithyatva

Prajna-paramita Mukha Mantra.
Tadyatha:

Gah-teh Gah-teh Para-Gah-Teh Para-sam-Gah-Teh Bodi-Svaha

~~~~~~~

Words in bold and red are words that are difficult and easy to mispronounce.

Videoes I used to create this pronunciation guide:

Renzokukenz

One of my friends, life not so smooth so went to feng shui 'master' and also paid a few k as well.
Ended up most the methods taught by feng shui master was shared by me. Then that friend found it how come so familiar and went back to all the message I said.
But at least after this, now that friend is into cultivation and vow to reborn in pure land etc.

May I ask what are some of the methods you shared?

AlmightyOnes

May I ask what are some of the methods you shared?

This..........
The feng shui master made my friend to “供养佛像" which is like few k, and then asked my friend to recite ” om mani padme hum" 1080 daily and dedicate merit to all sentients to overcome current obstacle n barrier. (And also some accesory stuff to ward off bad luck n have good luck etc)

Before all this I already asked my friend to cultivate or do good deeds (donation to temples, 供养佛 etc too, though I don't know what skill to see people life/luck etc. But if I know person's character/action/deeds in life, I more or less can tell whether your life will be good or bad sooner or later on also..

Renzokukenz

Sorry, just to confirm.

About getting con, which area are you referring to ? Cost of the pendant too high ?

There is a whole market on Thai Amulets.
Please google what Animism is first.

Animism is NOT a Buddhist practice.
There are many Thai Amulets that are virtuous, apparently imbued with energy or spiritual energy of highly enlightened monks.

But animism itself is a very troubling practice.
Some (not all) of the Thai Amulets, depending on who you get it from, involves practices involving the dark arts (black magic) and highly unethical and even "evil" practices. Just about 2 weeks ago, someone asked on HWZ if Buddhism is an evil religion because he came across "Buddhist amulets" made using dead human foetus body parts. I was delighted to see that many people pointed out that Buddhism does not have such practices.

I do not want to risk insulting Thai Amulets, for it is a tradition central to Thailand and also it has helped countless people. So just keep in mind what Animism is, and know clearly what practices are Buddhist practices and what are not Buddhist practices.

Animism is just too messy and I do not want to get into it.
I don't want to say more and risk insulting the culture and tradition of another country.

Namo Amituofo

Renzokukenz

供养佛像 is just taking joss stick and offer to triple gem right?
cause that is part of my Sur Offering Prayer

scheng1

I know there's http://lotsawahouse.org/

But where and how to start?
In what order do I read them? etc. etc.

Is there a book that properly arranges all the text in the right order etc. ??

When Buddha teaches, there isn't any right order. Sometimes someone asks him a question or an incident occurs, and he teaches. Sometimes he teaches when he sees the disciples are ready for some important lessons.

Bookmark the websites below, and read when you have time.

The translated sutta are in https://suttacentral.net/
Click on the Menu icon (3 lines icon) at the top left hand side, you can start reading randomly, or you can read the introduction first https://suttacentral.net/introduction

Jataka tales - past lives of Buddha (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jataka_tales)
http://ftp.budaedu.org/ebooks/pdf/EN402.pdf

Translation of sutra from Tibetan manuscripts
https://84000.co/

English translation of The Surangama Sutra, Diamond Sutra, Sutra of the Medicine Buddha etc in the 2 websites below
http://buddhanet.net/ebooks_ms.htm
http://www.budaedu.org/ebooks/6-EN.php

The Flower Ornament Scripture
A Translation of the Avatamsaka Sutra 华严经
translated by Thomas Cleary
https://archive.org/stream/TheFlowe...ra+by+Thomas+Cleary+[pdf]+{dtyxxytd}_djvu.txt

Renzokukenz

1080 daily not easy
especially when I live in a non-Buddhist household
I have to chant in whispers which doesn't feel right or go to ulu unheard of temple to chant.
and dont even have the energy to one shot 1080, today I did 7 malas of chanting at a Buddhist Temple and my body begin to cannot liao

I am currently trying to do 1080 of chanting "Namo Da Yuan Di Zang Wang Pusa" daily for minimally 7 days continuously.

Today is my 5th day and to be honest, it is so difficult and hard.

Renzokukenz

When Buddha teaches, there isn't any right order. Sometimes someone asks him a question or an incident occurs, and he teaches. Sometimes he teaches when he sees the disciples are ready for some important lessons.

Bookmark the websites below, and read when you have time.

The translated sutta are in https://suttacentral.net/
Click on the Menu icon (3 lines icon) at the top left hand side, you can start reading randomly, or you can read the introduction first https://suttacentral.net/introduction

Jataka tales - past lives of Buddha (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jataka_tales)
http://ftp.budaedu.org/ebooks/pdf/EN402.pdf

Translation of sutra from Tibetan manuscripts
https://84000.co/

English translation of The Surangama Sutra, Diamond Sutra, Sutra of the Medicine Buddha etc in the 2 websites below
http://buddhanet.net/ebooks_ms.htm
http://www.budaedu.org/ebooks/6-EN.php

The Flower Ornament Scripture
A Translation of the Avatamsaka Sutra 华严经
translated by Thomas Cleary
https://archive.org/stream/TheFlowe...ra+by+Thomas+Cleary+[pdf]+{dtyxxytd}_djvu.txt

I read that some sects and some group of people does not consider the Surangama Sutra as canon because it has a chinese origin and did not originate from the Buddha himself (apparently).

What are your views on this?

PS: Any Indian, Sanskrit or Tibetan version of the Surangama Sutra is reverse-translated from chinese historically.

AlmightyOnes

供养佛像 is just taking joss stick and offer to triple gem right?
cause that is part of my Sur Offering Prayer

Ya but nowadays mostly u 'donate' the $ and someone take care for u.
Example some temples have this service too, either by yearly fee or 'forever' (depend on temple, some places lack of space so can be exp like 8888 etc.)

1080 daily not easy
especially when I live in a non-Buddhist household
I have to chant in whispers which doesn't feel right or go to ulu unheard of temple to chant.
and dont even have the energy to one shot 1080, today I did 7 malas of chanting at a Buddhist Temple and my body begin to cannot liao

I am currently trying to do 1080 of chanting "Namo Da Yuan Di Zang Wang Pusa" daily for minimally 7 days continuously.

Today is my 5th day and to be honest, it is so difficult and hard.

Maybe u are not used to it now, recite longer le 1080 is nothing to u.
U can do part by part though, no need 1 shot.
Example 540 1st part and 540 the next 1.
Or maybe skip away the "Namo Da Yuan" at least recite shorter by a bit and in long run won't be so hard on yourself. Most importantly is u recite sincerely.

I know some shi xiong or some serious type, they recite at least few k to 10k daily.
For me I only more 'hardcore' or 'hardworking' during 'eclipse' lol. About 10k to 16k in 2~3 hours.

Renzokukenz

Ya but nowadays mostly u 'donate' the $ and someone take care for u.
Example some temples have this service too, either by yearly fee or 'forever' (depend on temple, some places lack of space so can be exp like 8888 etc.)

Maybe u are not used to it now, recite longer le 1080 is nothing to u.
U can do part by part though, no need 1 shot.
Example 540 1st part and 540 the next 1.
Or maybe skip away the "Namo Da Yuan" at least recite shorter by a bit and in long run won't be so hard on yourself. Most importantly is u recite sincerely.

I know some shi xiong or some serious type, they recite at least few k to 10k daily.
For me I only more 'hardcore' or 'hardworking' during 'eclipse' lol. About 10k to 16k in 2~3 hours.

haix my house not convenient la
they all christian

Plus

I try for 7 days only, according to the blog, the "da yuan" version is better
maybe after i complete this 7 day quest i will change to other mantras etc.

scheng1

I read that some sects and some group of people does not consider the Surangama Sutra as canon because it has a chinese origin and did not originate from the Buddha himself (apparently).

PS: Any Indian, Sanskrit or Tibetan version of the Surangama Sutra is reverse-translated from chinese historically.

The only reason is that the translation was not sponsored by Chinese Emperors. It was translated by 般剌密帝, an Indian monk, and he risked his life to bring this sutra to China.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Śūraṅ...it: शूरङ्गम,with some influence from Yogacara.

"There have been questions regarding the translation of this sutra as it was not sponsored by the Imperial Chinese Court and as such the records regarding its translation in the early eighth century were not carefully preserved (see History); however, it has never been classified as apocrypha in any Chinese-language Tripitakas including the Taisho Tripitaka where it is placed in the Esoteric Sutra category (密教部)."

The affirmation of Surangama Sutra comes from another sutra

佛说法灭尽经

"《首楞严经》、《般舟三昧》先化灭去。十二部经,寻后化灭,尽不复现,不见文字。"

The Buddha Speaks the Ultimate Extinction of the Dharma Sutra

https://fotuozhengfa.com/archives/37946

"However, within fifty-two years the Shurangama Sutra and the Pratyutpanna [Standing Buddha] Samadhi, will be the first to change and then to disappear. The twelve divisions of the canon will gradually follow until they vanish completely, never to appear again. Its words and texts will be totally unknown ever after. "

AUTUMN&WINTER

I attended a talk by professors who major in religions. There were hundreds of people attended the talk. They taught in local universities. I asked one of them in public why some Buddhist sects doubt the origin of Mahayana Sutras. I don't think this professor is a Buddhist. He is knowledgeable in all the major religions in the world. He said not that Mahayana has more Sutras with doubtful origins, it is some sects are lack of many Sutras which only Mahayana has. According to him, all the Sutras in Mahayana are authentic teachings from Shakyamuni Buddha. I am totally convinced because these professors would have in depth study on the evidence before making such comments. Since then, I have never doubted the origin of any Mahayana Sutras.

Nei Jia

I was given a Thai amulet by a friend. Someone told me that a shop at fortune centre ( the building next to the Indian temple at Waterloo St)accepts Thai amulet. I passed it to that shop. It was few years ago, could not remember the name of the shop. It was on 2nd or 3rd level. You can try to ask. I usually don't get involve with Thai Buddhism because I don't know much and don't know how to differentiate. I will be careful before I accept any amulets the next time.
Actually, it was 一番诚意. That is how I feel.

Never thought of disposing.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.