• Wax your car

Votes: 9 27.3%
  • Ceramic coat your car

Votes: 24 72.7%

• Total voters

BrOwnTeddy

Think I'd read pretty much about everything about the great debate between Wax and Ceramic Coating.

But just want to get a feel here, what do you all put on your cars and why?

I know most people do coating cos they lazy to wax car, just splash water and go. But are there any other reasons you'd opt to coat the car instead of religiously claybar, wash, waxing and buffing like once a month?

EJB

Think I'd read pretty much about everything about the great debate between Wax and Ceramic Coating.

But just want to get a feel here, what do you all put on your cars and why?

I know most people do coating cos they lazy to wax car, just splash water and go. But are there any other reasons you'd opt to coat the car instead of religiously claybar, wash, waxing and buffing like once a month?

I do the above every 6 months last time on my old car. It's the tedious effort needed as I do not use machine and everything is by hand. 7 hours at least to wash, clay, rinse, dry, polish, seal, wax, detail - excluding my interior detailing and rims detailing. Such effort does not last a month under heavy rain, wax don't last that long, once the sacrificial layer is gone, the shine is gone too.

It shines but coating makes it easier to wash, it's pretty effortless for me to wash every saturday and apply quik wax or top coat (meguiar). I need not apply detailer that often also anymore to bond the liquid wax I used to use weekly.

It cuts my workflow and the amount of labour I need to do on my car every week. I only send in like once a year to maintain by groomer (just did last Friday) and it costs a bit only, considering what I spend on wax bottles, detailing bottles. 5-7 hours downtime @ the shop and people using professional tools, kinda beats having to do it myself.

I wax weekly previously. Now, it's wash, and go.

BrOwnTeddy

Actually looking at a 3rd alternative - PPF.

Since I am looking at possibly changing car colour couple years down the road, PPF became a more attractive option as opposed to ceramic coating and waxing, primarily because it doesn't impact the layer of paint directly but its just a simple film.

Only catch? Possible bubbling if badly installed.
Plus points, get to stick whatever decal on the body and it wouldn't impact the paint work directly.

EJB

Actually looking at a 3rd alternative - PPF.

Since I am looking at possibly changing car colour couple years down the road, PPF became a more attractive option as opposed to ceramic coating and waxing, primarily because it doesn't impact the layer of paint directly but its just a simple film.

Only catch? Possible bubbling if badly installed.
Plus points, get to stick whatever decal on the body and it wouldn't impact the paint work directly.
PPF is almost the cost of respray 3-4x of the paint of a car. I weight cost vs effectiveness, I'll opt for PPS.

straweffigy

I'm someone who likes my cars to be clean & glossy all the time if I can. So after 10 years of car ownership (I currently have 2 cars), trying different brands of ceramic coating at different budget levels as well as grooming membership.. I think the most cost efficient way now is:

1. Car wash when car is soiled or after heavy rain
2. Do ceramic coating once every 3-4 months (mobile service, come to my washing bay, around 180-250 depending on number of players, include paint correction)

In between I just use a quick detailer to wipe, works very well, provides interim protection, lighten abit of fine scratches/swirl marks too.

I don't believe that ceramic coating can last 2-3 years.. esp. given our tropical weather and how often my car is washed. So I'd go for something basic but in higher frequency.

I also don't trust those shopping mall groomer.. lousy skills, heck care attitude, always give me free gifts (many scratches).

My Stinger came with PPF.. only for front bumper/lights. The workmanship not the best.. so I didn't like it.

xiaosen

I'm someone who likes my cars to be clean & glossy all the time if I can. So after 10 years of car ownership (I currently have 2 cars), trying different brands of ceramic coating at different budget levels as well as grooming membership.. I think the most cost efficient way now is:

1. Car wash when car is soiled or after heavy rain
2. Do ceramic coating once every 3-4 months (mobile service, come to my washing bay, around 180-250 depending on number of players, include paint correction)

In between I just use a quick detailer to wipe, works very well, provides interim protection, lighten abit of fine scratches/swirl marks too.

I don't believe that ceramic coating can last 2-3 years.. esp. given our tropical weather and how often my car is washed. So I'd go for something basic but in higher frequency.

I also don't trust those shopping mall groomer.. lousy skills, heck care attitude, always give me free gifts (many scratches).

My Stinger came with PPF.. only for front bumper/lights. The workmanship not the best.. so I didn't like it.
Which mobile groomer you engage? Can let me know?

Sent from OnePlus KB2000 using GAGT

wlalala

I don't think coating is worth it tbh

current ride comes with coating as perk from se
but dun think will do anymore after it wears off

just gonna apply sio2 sealant once every couple of months(in fact I'm alr doing it, using carpro reload)

straweffigy

Which mobile groomer you engage? Can let me know?

You go Carousell can find many many.. I alternate between 2 for my mobile grooming quarterly service. One starts with r, another is aw. Both of them provide waxing/sealant service too. I do this once half yearly or before CNY.

YMMV - I don't have a lot of complaints since it's affordable, so manage your own expectations.

So with petrol station car washes whenever it's soiled + basic ceramic coating (3 layers) every 3-4 months = Consistently smooth, glossy paintwork while spending lesser than having those 2 year grooming membership that comes with free scratches :(

xiaosen

You go Carousell can find many many.. I alternate between 2 for my mobile grooming quarterly service. One starts with r, another is aw. Both of them provide waxing/sealant service too. I do this once half yearly or before CNY.

YMMV - I don't have a lot of complaints since it's affordable, so manage your own expectations.

So with petrol station car washes whenever it's soiled + basic ceramic coating (3 layers) every 3-4 months = Consistently smooth, glossy paintwork while spending lesser than having those 2 year grooming membership that comes with free scratches :(
Icic thx bro. I engage 1 mobile groomer last time and not satisfied with the polishing what why I now caution choosing.

straweffigy

Icic thx bro. I engage 1 mobile groomer last time and not satisfied with the polishing what why I now caution choosing.

Given the lack of manpower and equipment and lower cost.. cannot expect same service and quality as a full fledged well equipped workshop.. surely got difference lah :o

I'm referring to ceramic coating btw.

BrOwnTeddy

Was looking at some of the old posts about waxing, coating, etc.

Some had seem to come a long way. :s13:

Anyway, there's just too many giving too much fantastic claims. For the price of like $300+, promise me the sun with crazy warranty when we all know the harshness of our climate will tear any coating apart.

I am looking at one promising one. Not because of its competitive price on the carbon shield or its royal warrant, but the promises are more down to earth and grounded in reality - just 1yr warranty.

Not that I am a sucker to punish my wallet, but I thought it should be good not to promise the sun and moon. That said, I have relatively good experience with that particular brand washing my car myself.

Now looking around for more quotes before I make appointment.

xiaosen

Was looking at some of the old posts about waxing, coating, etc.

Some had seem to come a long way. :s13:

Anyway, there's just too many giving too much fantastic claims. For the price of like $300+, promise me the sun with crazy warranty when we all know the harshness of our climate will tear any coating apart.

I am looking at one promising one. Not because of its competitive price on the carbon shield or its royal warrant, but the promises are more down to earth and grounded in reality - just 1yr warranty.

Not that I am a sucker to punish my wallet, but I thought it should be good not to promise the sun and moon. That said, I have relatively good experience with that particular brand washing my car myself.

Now looking around for more quotes before I make appointment.
Bro you shortlisted which vendor can let me know? I looking to do coating soon also.

Sent from Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra using GAGT

BrOwnTeddy

Bro you shortlisted which vendor can let me know? I looking to do coating soon also.

Carbon Shield... Got ROYAL WARRANT one.... Aut*****.

That was in my shortlist.

I was initially thinking of a particular detailer Ac*** that does Ceramic Pro 9H doing like up to a max of 11 layers but we all know the law of diminishing returns. There's actually so many layers or so many things you can do onto something before it becomes a complete waste of effort/time.

One more I am looking at is Jer** De****. Friend's recommendation since he done it for his Q3 and I can see the results.

straweffigy

I was initially thinking of a particular detailer Ac*** that does Ceramic Pro 9H doing like up to a max of 11 layers but we all know the law of diminishing returns. There's actually so many layers or so many things you can do onto something before it becomes a complete waste of effort/time.

One more I am looking at is Jer** De****. Friend's recommendation since he done it for his Q3 and I can see the results.

How much are these roughly?

I'm very skeptical when they say more than 3-4 layers.. or warranty 2-3 years :s13: Anything more than 3-4 layers no point.. any timeline more than 1 yr is just marketing gimmick and more excuse to charge you more $$$.

For those longer warranty ones, if your paintwork gloss meter drops, they will do "maintenance" for you. But some brands will charge you, some is free.

BrOwnTeddy

How much are these roughly?

I'm very skeptical when they say more than 3-4 layers.. or warranty 2-3 years :s13: Anything more than 3-4 layers no point.. any timeline more than 1 yr is just marketing gimmick and more excuse to charge you more $$$.

For those longer warranty ones, if your paintwork gloss meter drops, they will do "maintenance" for you. But some brands will charge you, some is free.

The one that Good Old England use one is $488 with 1yr warranty whilst the other Jer** De**** is like $440 (with that free unlimited touchup thing and of course, tells me its guaranteed for 10yrs).

Not too sure about the leather coating since my seats are half leather fabric butt. :s13: with just a $40 diff, might just opt for the good ol' brand.

straweffigy

The one that Good Old England use one is $488 with 1yr warranty whilst the other Jer** De**** is like $440 (with that free unlimited touchup thing and of course, tells me its guaranteed for 10yrs).

Not too sure about the leather coating since my seats are half leather fabric butt. :s13: with just a $40 diff, might just opt for the good ol' brand.

Leather or dash/plastic coating.. Not important to me. I also dislike having an oily / sticky or cloudy film on top of these surfaces. I rather have fumigation (for pests) and steam clean.

Let us know how the exterior coating goes! :o

xiaosen

Jer** De**** in my list too.

sinistral

I was doing some research on ceramic coatings as I wanted to apply them on my car's exteriors. I am lazy to wash the car on a regular basis.

For professional detailers, it seems that it costs between $500-$800 for coatings that is covered with at least three years' warranty. Not exactly sure what sort of warranty coverage does that entails. The pricier packages (>$1,000) have more layers of the coating applied. I am also skeptical about the layer counts; as a consumer, how can I even verify the number of layers applied? I think at the end of the day, as long as the car exterior is covered with the ceramic coating comprehensively, I am fine with that. After that it's how much the provided warranty covers, e.g. touch-up/re-coat?

Regarding mobile groomers, I think they apply ceramic coating spray/wax, which seem to typically last for nine to twelve months. This means scheduling appointments with them a half-yearly or yearly basis to re-coat the car. I don't think there is much price savings to get mobile groomers' services v.s. professional detailers. It may even be pricier but I suppose this is largely addressed with their at-your-doorstep services.

Will be doing mine next week with the detailer a few minutes drive from my place. Should be interesting to see how long the coating can last.

I believe I did see someone offering a 10H coating. Quite funny to be honest, pretty much scratch-proof since only diamond can scratch at 10H. Now this is marketing bullcrap. :s13:

This guy reviewed some of the ceramic coatings available in the NA market which I find it useful and interesting:

xiaosen

I was doing some research on ceramic coatings as I wanted to apply them on my car's exteriors. I am lazy to wash the car on a regular basis.

For professional detailers, it seems that it costs between $500-$800 for coatings that is covered with at least three years' warranty. Not exactly sure what sort of warranty coverage does that entails. The pricier packages (>$1,000) have more layers of the coating applied. I am also skeptical about the layer counts; as a consumer, how can I even verify the number of layers applied? I think at the end of the day, as long as the car exterior is covered with the ceramic coating comprehensively, I am fine with that. After that it's how much the provided warranty covers, e.g. touch-up/re-coat?

Regarding mobile groomers, I think they apply ceramic coating spray/wax, which seem to typically last for nine to twelve months. This means scheduling appointments with them a half-yearly or yearly basis to re-coat the car. I don't think there is much price savings to get mobile groomers' services v.s. professional detailers. It may even be pricier but I suppose this is largely addressed with their at-your-doorstep services.

Will be doing mine next week with the detailer a few minutes drive from my place. Should be interesting to see how long the coating can last.

I believe I did see someone offering a 10H coating. Quite funny to be honest, pretty much scratch-proof since only diamond can scratch at 10H. Now this is marketing bullcrap. :s13:

This guy reviewed some of the ceramic coatings available in the NA market which I find it useful and interesting:

Which shop u going?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.